A trip down memory lane

A garden can change so much in 4 years time. I was going through old pictures on my hard drive yesterday and I found past garden memories. In 2005 we had an addition added to our house and replaced the country blue trim with a deep green as well as the white with a creamy yellow-tan color. My garden looked so different, I couldn’t get over it. It was nice to see how things have changed or evolved over the years.

For instance, this front bed is now more straight. I think that was a bad decision on my part. I miss the natural curve of this former front foundation bed. That can be easily remedied, I don’t know what I was thinking. I don’t miss the Boxwoods that are in this bed though. They’ve been replaced with a Euonymus fortunei ‘Emerald & Gold’ which has a more nature form.
This bed had a couple of Boxwoods as well and those have been replaced as well with Nandina. I do miss the casual look of this garden though. Look how wonderful my Purple Coneflowers did in this bed. I don’t know what it is about this bed, but everything I plant here grows bigger and more lush than anywhere else in the yard.

This is my previous woodland garden. My original Crepe Myrtle was much taller before Hurricane Isabel destroyed it. You can also faintly see the old TV Antennae that was cemented into the ground. My husband removed it this past May & it has been relocated to my new garden bed as a trellis. My Nandinas have grown about 2-3 ft since this picture was taken and now there is a sidewalk that runs the length of this bed from the driveway to the gate (on the right).
Here is my bed before the Knockout Roses were planted here. I also had trellises that were mounted to the old aluminum siding with Peace Roses climbing roses growing on them.

Even the border bed that runs between my house looks different now. See that Miscanthus in the center, that was a mistake. And the Shasta Daisies only lasted for a couple of seasons. Most of the plants in this picture are still happily growing in this bed like the Asiatic Lillies, Peonies, Liatris, Crocosmia and Alliums.
I think the biggest change is probably in the Arbor bed. This bed has been modified alot since it was created 10 years ago. Plants have matured or long since expired. If you want to compare the changes that have happened in my garden beds over the past four years you can look here or here. I hope you enjoyed my trip down memory lane in the garden.

19 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by cindee on September 4, 2008 at 4:17 am

    I love all your changes. I am cracking up when you said that was a mistake…lol I have those here and I am going to make some changes too. I think my yard needs condensing so I am going to try that this winter when things are hibernating(-;

    Reply

  2. Posted by Cynthia on September 4, 2008 at 4:20 am

    There must be something in the air as I was just looking through pictures of my old gardens the other night. It is always fun to look back and see how much has changed and to think about what worked and what we would do again (or not do for that matter!). Thank you for sharing this with us as it was fun to look at.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Aunt Debbi/kurts mom on September 4, 2008 at 5:35 am

    I enjoyed seeing the then and now pictures. The roses are beautiful. A couple of years ago we refinanced out home and at the closing they had a picture of the house when I bought it. The difference of then and now was stunning.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Cindy on September 4, 2008 at 11:35 am

    Isn’t it great looking at old photos. A while ago I looked at some from a previous house. But that made me depressed because my gardening there was so easy and I had such beautiful plants – always. Where I live now it’s such a challenge to keep things coming back year after year. I guess it’s good to challenge yourself, but sometimes it’s nice to just have it easy – LOL

    Reply

  5. Posted by Kanak Hagjer on September 4, 2008 at 11:47 am

    Loved the going through the photos of the changes, PGL. The pink ( of the crepe myrtle) is lovely!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Sweetie on September 4, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    The photos are great. I have some changes planned for next year. I received some great ideas from gardeners – like you. Please stop by and visit and pick up your award.
    Sweetie

    Reply

  7. Posted by Rose on September 4, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    I enjoyed taking this trip down memory lane with you and seeing how your gardens have changed. I wish I had some old photos, but I didn’t think to take pictures when I started gardening in earnest a few years ago.

    Thanks for the helpful comment on my blog on the verbena and for adding me to your blogroll. I found your blog through Beckie some time ago and enjoy reading all your posts. I agree, I’d rather be “outside digging in the dirt than inside cleaning up the dirt” πŸ™‚

    Reply

  8. Posted by Carol on September 4, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    I loved your trip down memory lane! I wish I had pictures of all my past gardens….past homes. sigh. I better start photographing, eh? I’ll be back. I totally enjoyed your blog!

    Reply

  9. Posted by tina on September 4, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    It is so amazing at how gardens can change so much. Probably a lot like us but we just don’t realize it.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Meadowview Thymes on September 4, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    I always love looking at all your pictures, but especially enjoyed these “before and after” pictures. Your house is sooo pretty, and I love all the updates you have done. I envy your nice backyard. You have so much room. I love the Arbor bed–it is my favorite! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  11. Posted by Roses and Lilacs on September 4, 2008 at 2:37 pm

    I wish I had taken the before pictures. My place has changed so much, I doubt the former owners would recognize it. Some things are better, some worse;)
    I was fun looking at the time line of your photos.
    Marnie

    Reply

  12. Posted by Kathleen on September 4, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    Change is good isn’t it? and I don’t believe there are “mistakes” in the garden only learning experiences!! Think of it that way.

    Reply

  13. Posted by Carla on September 4, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    Its cool isn’t it? Everything is so settled in and lush! Thank you for sharing!

    Reply

  14. Posted by OhioMom on September 4, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    Great post! Love before and after pics πŸ™‚

    Reply

  15. Posted by beckie on September 4, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    I always enjoy before and after pictures. They can say so much about what is going on in our lives. I totally agree with the curve-easier on the eye. And aren’t you glad the boxwoods are gone. I see so many house where the original plantings have grown to ‘ugly’ and hide the views. All of your areas show much hard work and lots of love for gardening.

    Reply

  16. Posted by Susie on September 5, 2008 at 1:00 am

    I went back and looked at the new versus the old. You have made so many beautiful changes. You have done some work girl!!!

    I enjoy looking at before and after pictures. It’s amazing what a person can accomplish if they are determined enough.

    Loved the tour. Thanks for letting us enjoy your “garden” world.

    Reply

  17. Posted by PGL on September 5, 2008 at 1:41 am

    I think all gardeners probably are never totally happy with their gardens Cindee. I know I am always looking at improving something. πŸ™‚

    It's that time of year Cynthia where we start thinking about the next spring & how we can make things better in the garden.

    Thanks Deb. I'm glad you enjoyed the before & after. It's always nice to be able to look back & see what worked & what didn't. πŸ™‚

    I know how that goes Cindy. Some of my beds are easier than others. I do like a challenge, but I agree it is nice when things come easier. πŸ™‚

    I'm glad you enjoyed my little before & after tour Kanak. I adore the Crepe Myrtle too. It's such a staple in my area. Their everywhere. πŸ™‚

    Thanks Sweetie. I'm glad you enjoyed the before & after tour. I find myself being inspired by other's gardens too. Isn't blogging great? πŸ™‚ Thanks for the award again!

    Thanks Rose. I didn't even know I had these pictures until the other night. I was very excited when I found them. I've always taken pictures of my gardens but I didn't always have a digital camera. πŸ™‚ I like your blog very much too & Beckie is a gem!

    Thanks for visiting Carol. I'm glad you enjoyed the trip down memory lane with me. Start taking pictures now, you'll be glad later. πŸ™‚ See ya soon!

    It is amazing Tina. I can't even remember all the different plants I've grown over the years. I saw the comment on my after post, glad you love the Pecan Bed. It is one of my faves too. πŸ™‚

    Thanks Linda. You are so sweet. I'm glad you like my pictures & the before/after tour of my gardens. I'm very pleased with the changes we made to our house. My backyard is my garden of eden. πŸ™‚

    I think we all experience the success & failures in gardening Marnie. I'm glad you enjoyed my before & after pictures. We all try to make our house our our personal statement, don't you think?

    That's a great way to put it Kathleen. I've learned alot over the years then. lol

    Thank you Carla. I'm glad you enjoyed my little trip down memory lane.

    Thanks Mom. I knew you would enjoy the pictures. There is so much history in my gardens.

    Thanks Beckie. The great thing about gardening is if something doesn't work you can always change it back. πŸ™‚ I've put alot sweat & tears into my gardens but I've loved every minute of it.

    You are so welcome Susie. I'm glad you enjoyed the little tour of my garden over the years. It has been my life's work put into those garden beds, but like I told Beckie, I've enjoyed every minute of it. πŸ™‚ I'm obsessed! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  18. Posted by Paula on September 5, 2008 at 5:20 am

    I love this post … I enjoy comparing past and present. I like the old look too … just look at all those areas that you’ve planted! That’s a lot of knee time! I love that back yard corner, I’d spend a lot of time there! You’d gasp if you’d see my plain, boring yard. *sigh*

    Reply

  19. Posted by PGL on September 5, 2008 at 4:30 pm

    Paula,Sound like your backyard is a blank slate just waiting for some creative energy to transform it into your own garden of eden.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

