It’s about time…

After waiting 18 months, Clematis ‘Dr. Ruppel’ has its’ very first bloom ever! And for a change the plant was labeled right at the nursery. πŸ™‚ I’ve had a few mix ups this summer with thinking I was buying one plant & getting something entirely different and unknown. It happens to us all I guess. Anyhow, I went out last night & saw the bud that has been lingering there for about a week now finally starting to unfurl. I purchased this Clematis about 18 months ago at my local garden center. Initially I had it planted in another area of the garden, but it never really did much growing let alone any blooming. This past May when I created my new garden bed, I moved this Clematis over to a new trellis mounted on the shed wall. Almost instantly he started producing new growth and shimmying up the trellis, and now I have my first bloom. Talk about an extended anticipation. I had just about given up on this particular plant, after all if something is moved a couple of times and still doesn’t work why bother. But in this case ‘Dr Ruppel’ is quite happy in his new home in the new garden. The proof is in the bloom! Which by the way looks great against my white shed wall! Now here are some basic facts:

  • Large Flowering (6-8 “)
  • Sun-Partial Shade
  • Zones 4-11
  • Grows 6 to 8 feet
  • Named for Dr. Ruppel, Argentina, 1973. AGM.
  • compact growth and heavy flowering
  • perfect for containers
  • good cut flower and ornamental seed heads
  • Blooms in late spring and then repeats in late summer.
  • Type 2 pruning
26 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by tina on September 3, 2008 at 4:29 am

    I guess I am the first to comment tonight since I am up so late. School brings me home late on Tuesdays so here I am. Your blog looks new? The yellow is nice. Dr. Ruppel looks very happy. Hard to believe he is blooming so late. But yeah!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Cynthia on September 3, 2008 at 4:57 am

    Well, this one has obviously been worth the wait. What a beauty! It does well in containers….hmmm I might have to add yet another plant to my wish list! I do love clematis.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Carla on September 3, 2008 at 5:11 am

    OOO Dr. Ruppel! I bought all Lowe’s and planted them all together-THEN found out they had different pruning requirements! Oh well, I guess when, and if, they bloom I’ll separate them and figure out when to prune whom. Beautiful bloom!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Kathleen on September 3, 2008 at 6:03 am

    I didn’t know clematis could be transplanted? Not sure why I thought it was best to plant them where you want them?? Good to know as I have two that aren’t happy.

    Reply

  5. Posted by GardenJoy4Me on September 3, 2008 at 11:34 am

    PGL ! Dr. Rupple was one of my first clematis .. I still have it and it still has lovely flowers : )
    I have transplanted clematis .. one this summer into a raised bed with ZD climbing rose .. hoping the two will like each other ..
    They are amazing vines with gorgeous flowers !

    Reply

  6. Tina, you are the third person to notice the change, lol. I get tired of the same old, same old looking design. I'm glad you like the yellow. I do too! I'm glad he's blooming finally, he blooms early summer (which he didn't) and then again late summer (which is now I guess).

    Considering he took his sweet time Cynthia, he's lucky he's a beauty. lol I love Clematis too, and because he is so small (6-8 ft is nothing for a vine) he would be gorgeous in a container.

    Carla, I have all type 2 Clematis so it makes it easy for me. πŸ™‚ I really just clean up the old dead stuff & pretty much that's it. I'm glad you like Dr Ruppel, he's very charming. πŸ™‚

    Oh yeah Kathleen, I move all kinds of stuff. Sometimes you have to, or else they just wither up & die.

    Hi GJ4M! I love Clematis & Roses intermingling. Great combination, the Clematis can disguise the bare Rose canes. I'm pleased w/Dr Ruppel. He's a beauty! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  7. Posted by My Mother's Garden on September 3, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    What a great gift to wake up to! That bloom is beautiful, Clematis has such stunning flowers. I have loved this flower from afar because it will not grow in my S. Fl. zone 10. ,at least that is what I thought until I saw your info that say’s zones 4-11. I may have to experiment πŸ™‚ A beauty indeed!
    Great day to all~
    Karrita

    Reply

  8. Posted by Susie on September 3, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    Okay, I had to laugh when it said it is heavy flowering as I imagine you did too. But that is a pretty bloom, hopefully it will perform better in the future.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Karen on September 3, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    Wow, what a beaut’! Worth the wait, as you said. Congrats on your patience and good care of it!

    – Karen

    Reply

  10. Posted by Meadowview Thymes on September 3, 2008 at 3:32 pm

    What a joy when a transplant does so well, and you get that first bloom! Exciting to see. And I bet it’s beautiful against that white wall. (Love the new blog color!)

    Reply

  11. Posted by Barbarapc on September 3, 2008 at 3:50 pm

    Always great to see a photo so you know what you’ve got in your own garden – I’m a great end-of- season, no tag bargain purchaser. Thanks for this!

    Reply

  12. Posted by PGL on September 3, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    Glad I could give you something pretty to look at when you got up today Karrita. You should give Clematis a try in your garden, maybe give them some partial shade since you are in a warmer zone than me.

    It is ironic Susie, but maybe now that it is in a better location it will push out more blooms. I have several more buds right behind this first one. πŸ™‚

    Thanks Karen, I’m glad you enjoyed my bloom today. πŸ™‚

    Thanks Linda! It does look pretty spectacular against the white shed wall. I’m glad you like my new blog color. I prefer the frames it puts around my photos too. πŸ™‚

    I do that too Barbara. I’ve identified alot of my own plants from other’s gardens. It’s nice to find a great deal!

    Reply

  13. Posted by DP Nguyen on September 3, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    Dr. Ruppel sure is a gorgeous flower. I love the little white ball in the middle of the purple. I am sure he is thrilled inside of his new home, and that’s why he open up to let you see his face. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  14. Posted by PGL on September 3, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    Thanks DP, I'm glad you liked my Dr. Ruppel. He is pretty. I'm just glad he finally decided to bloom & there are several smaller buds coming behind him.

    Reply

  15. Posted by The Organic Gardener on September 3, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    AHHH, I love a happy ending, and I am glad that you got to see a bloom this year! I have a clematis that I planted last year, it hasn’t been doing too well (even though last winter was tough in z5b,) So I will still wait in anticipation. Maybe I will have a happily ever after too!

    Reply

  16. Posted by OhioMom on September 3, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    I love clematis, and this bloom is just gorgous!

    Reply

  17. Posted by Cindy on September 3, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    It DOES look great against the white shed wall. What a lovely bloom with so many nuances in its pattern. I’ve got clematis on my wishlist for next year, so I may have to keep this one in mind.

    Hugs,
    Cindy

    Reply

  18. Hi OG! Thanks for visiting today. I was pretty happy to finally see some signs of life after a year of nothing. I bet you really have to mulch well in your zone 5b garden. I'm zone 7b so I have much better luck with alot of things that are borderline tender. I hope your Clematis blooms too!

    Thanks Mom, they are one my favorite plants too. Their blooms are so unusual & colorful.

    Thanks Cindy! I love the vibrant burgundy & purple against the white wall. I still might paint that shed a yellowish tan color (like my blog) to blend in with the garden better. Clematis is a great wishlist plant.

    Reply

  19. Posted by Lucy on September 4, 2008 at 12:31 am

    Absolutely lovely!

    I had 4 clematis & for some reason I've lost 2 just this year…. and Dr. Ruppel looks like he'll be a perfect replacement!

    Reply

  20. Posted by Defining Your Home on September 4, 2008 at 12:40 am

    That’s a beauty! I have only 3 clematis and they bloom in the spring. I know what you mean about mislabeled plants. I’ve had my share of those, too!
    Cameron

    Reply

  21. Posted by PGL on September 4, 2008 at 1:16 am

    I’m glad I could add something to your wishlist for next year Lucy! πŸ™‚ Dr Ruppel is a beautiful clematis.

    Some are late bloomers too Cameron. I have a variety that bloom at different times of the year. My earliest is Nelly Moser.

    Reply

  22. Posted by Gail on September 4, 2008 at 3:38 am

    Well he is a beauty! It’s always nice to know that we can move plants and they will survive, especially clematis! I found 8 on sale for $2:50 each last month! Now to find them happy homes.

    Reply

  23. Posted by Aunt Debbi/kurts mom on September 4, 2008 at 3:39 am

    how pretty. Absolutely worth the wait.

    Reply

  24. Thank you Gail! In fact I moved him in May & he acclimated well to his new home with some pampering from me of course for a couple of weeks. Great deal you found. Can't wait to see where you put them & their first blooms!

    That's how I feel Deb. He was worth the wait. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  25. Posted by marmee on September 4, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    i planted dr. ruppel at beginning of the spring on a pergola and it has done nothing but i am used to that usually the next blooming season is better. it was exciting seeing yours i have hope for mine maybe in the fall.

    Reply

  26. It seems to take it’s time about blooming, but it was worth the wait Marmee. It has several siblings coming behind it so I should have quite a few blooms this fall.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

