Fireworks in August

These yellow blooms are always a sure sign of the end of summer in the garden for me. Goldenrod is to the fall garden what Daffodils are to the spring time. It’s a sure sign of the changing of the seasons. Solidago rugosa ‘Fireworks’ (otherwise known as Goldenrod) grows 3-4 feet and has more flowers than some of the other species. It is a native North American wildflower. It blooms from late August – September. The long fingers of golden flowers look like fireworks exploding in air. These plants provide nectar/pollen for bees and the butterflies in early fall.
Benefits of growing Solidago:
Finches, juncos, sparrows and ruffed grouse enjoy feeding on the seed.
Solidago ‘Fireworks’ is a clump forming plant that rarely needs staking.
The nectar helps the migrating butterflies in the fall.
The pollen and nectar is used by bees to build up their winter stores.
It is deer resistant and a non-allergenic cut flower.
Growing and maintenance tips:
It will grow best in a sunny, moist and well-drained site.
It will tolerate moister soils than many of the other Goldenrods.
Removing spent flowers will encourage additional blooms.
You should divide every 2-3 years to keep plants healthy.
It is hardy in USDA zones 3-9.

23 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by cindee on August 30, 2008 at 4:28 am

    That is really pretty. I am looking forward to fall! It was 109here today. I am sick of the heat.

    Reply

  2. Posted by The Hunky Gardener on August 30, 2008 at 4:32 am

    I grew Zinnia ‘Profusion Apricot’ this year from seed. I plan to do a post on it soon. The flowers on the plant in the front looked apricot but the ones in the back looked like they had been painted sort of pink/apricot. I am a bit color blind though so maybe I am just seeing things!

    Now Solidago is one plant we can get away with growing in zone 3!

    Reply

  3. Posted by The Hunky Gardener on August 30, 2008 at 4:33 am

    Oh good news! I am starting the master gardener program next week at a botanical gardens near my city. I am so excited!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Cynthia on August 30, 2008 at 5:34 am

    The wild goldenrod is in bloom out by me now. I always think it is pretty. I can not believe that the end of summer is drawing near. It has flown by for me this year.

    Reply

  5. Posted by tina on August 30, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    Great fireworks! I tried this and it still comes, but it is in shade so not doing as well as yours. That must be the problem. Now I just let the wild version grow. Goldenrod is the new daffodil for fall now. Great comparison.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Laurie from My Garden To Yours on August 30, 2008 at 1:27 pm

    I like that! I have never grew goldenrod.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Carla on August 30, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    I love golden rod-it just looks fallish!

    Reply

  8. Posted by marmee on August 30, 2008 at 3:32 pm

    i love the look of goldenrod but i am very allergic. i love fall but it is a challenge to feel good when sniffleing and sneezing. we have some planted and i enjoy from afar.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Kathleen on August 30, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    I haven’t grown goldenrod before either. I think it’s beautiful but I suffer from fall allergies too and maybe it’s taken a bum rap but I always think it’s one of the culprits….

    Reply

  10. Posted by Gail on August 30, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    Love this plant and I even let the more aggressive ones have at it! They are spectacular! Have you run across zigzag golden rod? It has a cool zigzag stem!

    Gail

    Reply

  11. Posted by Balisha on August 30, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    I have some goldenrod back at the woods edge. If I deadhead it…will it rebloom? I suppose then I will destroy the seeds and the birdies won’t get to enjoy them.

    Reply

  12. Posted by PGL on August 30, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    Me too Cindee, me too. πŸ™‚ 109! That is too much heat for me. We've been cooling down a bit & staying in the 70's & 80's. That's my kind of weather.

    HG – Look forward to your post on The Zinnia Profusion 'Apricot'. I've grown the other colors in this series. They are great for being mildew resistant unlike most zinnias. The color-blindness must make gardening fun for you. Congratulations on the MG program. I would like to get involved in that too.

    I love the deep yellow blooms on golderod, such a fall color Cynthia. It is hard to believe that summer is just about over. It flew on by this year. πŸ™‚

    Thanks Tina, glad you liked my comparison. πŸ™‚ It does prefer full sun I know that much.

    It's a very easy to grow perennial Laurie and grows quickly.

    That is exactly how I feel about it Carla. It's like Mums & Asters. πŸ™‚

    Goldenrod doesn't cause allergic reactions Marmee & Kathleen. That would be the Sneezeweed which has a similar flower.

    I've never seen Zigzag Goldenrod Gail. I will have to check that one out. Sounds like an interesting flower. Thanks!

    I'm not sure if Deadheading produces more blooms or not Balisha. Great question! I did prune some back earlier this summer that had gotten out of control & they are producing more flowering stems right now. So maybe…I would leave some on it for the birds.

    Reply

  13. Posted by Karen on August 30, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    Oooh, I want one! So pretty and nice that it attracts all those sweet birdies, butterflies and bees. Another thing to add to the ever-growing Plant Wish List.
    – Karen
    http://greenwalks.wordpress.com

    Reply

  14. Posted by Susie on August 30, 2008 at 7:23 pm

    Looks great and what a lot of good benefits. Maybe I should try it again. I think mine died because the soil didn’t drain good.

    Reply

  15. Posted by PGL on August 30, 2008 at 7:51 pm

    Glad I could inspire you Karen to add another great plant to your garden. πŸ™‚

    You should definitely give it a second chance Susie. I does seem to thrive in well drained soil & full sun. I've never had any trouble with it. It grows rampantly everywhere I have planted it including the areas that get morning shade & afternoon sun.

    Reply

  16. Posted by Meadowview Thymes on August 30, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    I agree with what you say about Goldenrod. It is a reminder that fall is on the way. I think we are all ready.

    Reply

  17. Posted by Cindy on August 30, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    What a wonderful addition to the garden for so many reasons! I wasn’t aware of this variety until your post. Thank you!

    Cindy at Rosehaven Cottage

    Reply

  18. Posted by Mr. McGregor's Daughter on August 30, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    I've grown this Goldenrod for years & I agree it's a wonderful plant. Another good thing about it is that it stays standing through most of the winter & looks lovely with snow on it. Poor Goldenrod, it has taken the rap for causing allergy problems when the true culprit is that lousy rotten ragweed, which nobody notices.

    Reply

  19. Posted by DP Nguyen on August 30, 2008 at 10:23 pm

    That is a really pretty plant. I’m excited about fall, the end of the extremely hot spell here. But I’m a little sad that some of my veggies will soon die, but at least fall plants will replace them. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  20. Posted by OhioMom on August 30, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    Count me as another who is looking forward to Fall, but I guarantee you by the time we experience our last winter snowfall (sometimes in the Spring) I will be ready to re-welcome the heat πŸ™‚

    Love this plant!

    Reply

  21. Posted by PGL on August 31, 2008 at 12:22 am

    Linda -Yes we are all ready for the end of the hot & dry summer. I know I'm looking forward to some cooler weather and some preparing for the upcoming spring.

    Your welcome Cindy, I'm glad I could introduce you a fall blooming plant.

    It does look lovely with snow on it MMD. Plus the seedheads are great for the birds that hang out during the winter months. Ragweed or Sneezweed give poor Goldenrod a bad name.

    There you go DP, the glass is half full. πŸ™‚ Soon another season will be upon us & before long we will be anticipating another spring in the garden.

    I'm glad you love Goldenrod Mom. It's a great plant for the fall garden. You will be looking forward to heat, lol. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  22. Posted by Les, Zone 8a on September 1, 2008 at 1:01 am

    Thanks for stopping by my site. It is great to find another local blogger, and judging by the number of comments you get, you are well read. I look forward to your future posts.

    Les

    Reply

  23. Posted by PGL on September 1, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    Thanks Les! I was happy to find all of you VA bloggers too. Joining Blotanical got me more visitors. πŸ™‚ I hope you enjoy my posts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

