Newcomers to the garden 2009

Since this is suppose to be my electronic garden journal, I am documenting what has been ordered and still needs to be ordered thus far for next season’s garden. Most online sources have been running great promotional sales so it is best to order ahead. Perennials & spring blooming bulbs will be planted this fall and the annual/vegetable seeds can be germinated in the early spring or direct sown into the garden after the last hard frost:

Vegetable (from seed): ordered
Lettuce Mild Mesclun
Baby Cucumber ‘Cucino’
Squash ‘Park’s Straight’
Organic French Bean Purple-Podded Climbing
Annuals (from seed): ordered
Cypress Vine ‘Mixed Colors’
Black-Eyed Susan Vine ‘White’

Zinnia ‘Profusion Fire’
Zinnia ‘Profusion White’
Zinnia ‘Profusion Orange’
Zinnia ‘Profusion Apricot’
Zinnia ‘Oklahoma Mix’
Perennials/Shrubs (plants): to be ordered
Echinacea ‘Harvest Moon’ & ‘Sundown’
Belamcanda ‘Hello Yellow’
Echinops ‘Ritro’
Euphorbia ‘Chameleon’
Lobelia ‘Vedraiensis’ (purple)
Hydrangea ‘Pinky Winky’
Polemonium Brise D’Anjou (Jacob’s Ladder)
Pink Friesland Salvia
Bulbs: ordered
Thalia Daffodil
Allium ‘Purple Sensation’
Daffodil ‘Minnow’
Foxtail Lily ‘Bungei’
Bi-color Blue Grape Hyacinth
27 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by beckie on August 29, 2008 at 4:37 am

    You are so organized! I am envious. Your list sound great and very colorful. Rose and I have ordered some daffodils, but so far that’s all. I am, however in the process of making a wish list out of all the names I have written on scraps of paper. Every time I would see something on a blog that I really liked I did write it down-never on the same paper though. πŸ™‚ I hope all your efforts are rewarded next year with wonderful plants and flowers.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Cindy on August 29, 2008 at 10:43 am

    I’ve been so focused on this year I haven’t thought of the next yet. I guess I’d better get with it, since I did want to add some more bulbs somewhere πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. Posted by tina on August 29, 2008 at 11:51 am

    Quite a mix. I ordered Pinky Winky two years ago and I was so disappointed. But not as much as the plant, because it died. Wish you better luck with yours.

    Reply

  4. Posted by marmee on August 29, 2008 at 1:04 pm

    this is so amazing that you already have your list. i loved reading it and seeing what you are planning on planting! thank you for sharing the list.mind sharing your online sources?

    Reply

  5. Posted by Dave on August 29, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    It’s a good time to get organized. I’d better do the same soon!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Meadowview Thymes on August 29, 2008 at 1:51 pm

    I have never ordered anything but seeds. What size are the plants you ordered..and how are they packaged , and when do they arrive? You have really sparked my interest!! I may need to try ordering other things.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Kathleen on August 29, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    You have two things I’m planning on adding more of ~ foxtail lilies and Alliums. I haven’t begun to order or look for them yet tho so you’re way ahead of me!!

    Reply

  8. Posted by DP Nguyen on August 29, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    That is a great list. I need to order more seeds too.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Mother Nature on August 29, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    I should be so organized.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Carla on August 29, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    New plants/bulbs/seeds just speak promise to me! Have fun ordering, receiving, planting! (and posting?)

    Reply

  11. Posted by Balisha on August 29, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    Hi PG,
    Aren’t we gardeners always looking to next year? Interesting list. I have pretty much always had good luck ordering online. My mums, that just arrived, were packaged so well…not a broken branch. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Anna on August 29, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    It’s going to be beautiful around your house. Of course , I like Pinky Winky.

    Reply

  13. Posted by PGL on August 29, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    Thanks Beckie. I made a list as time went by in my garden journal of plants that I would like to try. It's not to late to get started ordering.

    Cindy, I think it helps to add new things each year whether that be annuals, bulbs or perennials. It's nice to see something new & different in the garden.

    Thanks Tina. I hope that is not the case for me with Pinky Winky. I saw it on Anna's blog at Woody & Herbaceous. I just knew I had to have that.

    Thank you Marmee. I have several companies that I frequent each year. I like Burpee, Jung Seed Company, Park Seeds, Brent & Becky's Bulbs (which is actually local for me) and Bluestone Perennials. I've had great success with all of these online sources.

    Yes it is good to stay organized Dave. You seem like the organized type too. πŸ™‚

    They normally tell you in the catalogs or on the internet Linda. Normally they are 3" pots or bareroot plants. They normally have them in a box either surrounded by styrofoam peanuts or bubble wrap. They will ship when they need to be planted. Normally so many weeks before the first hard frost for your area.

    I love Alliums Kathleen. They are such an easy bulb. Foxtail Lillies will be a new addition for me, never grown them before. πŸ™‚

    Thanks DP. This is the time to order seeds. Some companies are running great deals.

    Thanks MN. πŸ™‚

    It is exciting Carla. Promise to post about the new stuff. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  14. Posted by PGL on August 29, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    It is exciting looking forward to the next season Balisha. Looking at other people’s gardens online has peaked my interest in trying new things. I have to say I’ve always had great luck with mailorder too. Most of my plants were ordered online.

    Thanks Anna. I look forward to Pinky Winky, you inspired me try it. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  15. Posted by Gail on August 29, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    st this morning coffee cup in hand I began my list of fall bulbs to order. But yours is much more comprehensive…many good ideas! Seeds and other goodies!

    Reply

  16. Posted by Cynthia on August 29, 2008 at 11:36 pm

    I keep trying to remind myself that I need to start thinking about ordering fall bulbs. Thanks for the reminder! πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  17. Posted by Susie on August 30, 2008 at 12:02 am

    Looks like you made some great choices. You can’t go wrong with those profusion zinnias. Knowing you, I guess you know where you are going to plant each and everyone of these, right?

    Reply

  18. Posted by PGL on August 30, 2008 at 12:39 am

    Thanks Gail. I like to add a variety of stuff to the garden each year. Some years more than others. It’s nice to have some new to me plants. πŸ™‚

    Your welcome Cynthia. Glad I could be your reminder today. πŸ™‚
    Don’t wait too long, all the good stuff will be sold out.

    LOL, Susie. I actually do have in mind where I want to put all of these plants. After seeing all the zinnias in other gardens this year I knew I left something out that was important. I have snubbed annuals too long. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  19. Posted by Cindy on August 30, 2008 at 1:45 am

    You just reminded me that I need to make my garden list for putting in my winter garden. It’s still too hot right now to put it in, but I need to get my list together.

    Cindy at Rosehaven Cottage

    Reply

  20. Posted by Karen on August 30, 2008 at 2:30 am

    Wow, it’s impressive that you have already ordered so much stuff! I am always late to the game with seeds. I usually do a mix of seeds and starts, since I don’t have a lot of space for sprouting stuff. Do you have a dedicated indoor seed growing area? I really like Seeds of Change and Territorial, but maybe they are less good for your area.

    Happy planning/planting,

    Karen
    http://greenwalks.wordpress.com

    Reply

  21. Posted by ChrisND on August 30, 2008 at 2:42 am

    Great list…Hmmm, I think I’m supposed to be thinking of spring bulbs now…

    Reply

  22. Posted by PGL on August 30, 2008 at 2:50 am

    I’m glad I reminded you about your fall garden Cindy. πŸ™‚

    I try to plan ahead Karen, lol. No I don’t have a dedicated indoor space. I usually do alot of direct sowing. I thought about an area in my garage that has an overhead light that would work though. If I put the seeds pots on a warming pad it would work. πŸ™‚

    Thanks Chris. Spring will be here before you know it. Need to get that stuff in the ground before the first frost.

    Reply

  23. Posted by Kanak Hagjer on August 30, 2008 at 3:35 am

    Wow, with all those plants and seeds you’ve ordered/will be ordering and planting later, it’s going to be one impressive garden! Already looking forward to your 2009 posts!!
    Thank you for stopping by my blog and leaving your kind comments!

    Reply

  24. Posted by PGL on August 30, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    Thanks Kanak, I can't wait to see the 2009 Garden too. lol You are welcome, I always enjoy stopping by your blog & seeing all your wonderful pictures & posts.

    Reply

  25. Posted by janie on September 1, 2008 at 3:22 am

    What a great list! I love making note of what I am planning for next year, and it is great fun to share plans with a friend. I like to look back on old posts and plans to see what I planned and compare with what actually happened.

    You might want to try some ranunculus, if you can still get them. I ordered mine as soon as I got a fall catalog, as they always run out of them. Also, I ordered some big alliums, and some anemones.

    LOL, I got a kick out of your “About Me” remarks. My MIL once said of me that ‘her gardens are immaculate, you’ll never find a weed there. But as for her house, you may not be able to get in her house!’

    I would much rather be outdoors! Alas, my gardens are are no longer immaculate, and are suffering from drought and heat. But autumn is almost here- The ‘other’ best time to garden!

    Reply

  26. Posted by Rowena on September 1, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    Yes!! Confirmation that I am not going overboard by already planning to purchase seed for next season. My initial reason was to avoid the long customs process (it can be slow moving for us expats in Italy), but then I’d like to be sure to get what I want and maybe at a discounted price too. You’ve made my day!

    Reply

  27. Posted by PGL on September 1, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    I always try to order early. It's not like the seed will go bad between now & next spring. Glad I could make your day Rowena! πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

