Tropical Surprise

My neighbor gave this Canna to me last fall in exchange for some of my burgundy Cannas. I liked the green foliage but wasn’t sure what color the bloom would be until yesterday morning. It was a nice surprise seeing this yellow bloom with a splash of orange on the face. Pass-a-long plants are a great way to share the wealth of our garden with others. I have several plants in my yard that came from neighbors or friends. Sometimes they know the name of the plant or some information about it and sometimes they don’t. When I first started gardening here ten years ago, we were living on a very restricted budget. Most of my original plants were already here, grown from seed or cuttings, given to me by neighbors, or purchased at clearance sales at the local home improvement centers. I even have a couple that I bought at a garage sale, believe it or not, for a bargain price of 50 cents. As the years went by I created more beds and acquired more plants. It’s always a nice surprise to me though when something new to me blooms for the first time in the garden. What are your favorite pass-a-long plants?

26 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Anna on August 23, 2008 at 4:57 am

    You know, I’ve moved so much in my life that I don’t have any pass along plants. I’m not allowed to pass along the Proven Winners—they’ll fine you big time. And I only know of one other gardener around my house. I’ll see if they will give me some of their Rose of Sharons.

    If I did get a pass along plant, I think I’d like rudabekias. So nice to see a Canna blooming for you.

    Reply

  2. Posted by beckie on August 23, 2008 at 5:12 am

    The Canna does look so tropical. Wheb you showed the bud, I thought -yellow? But with the orange center ii is lovely!. I have a few pass-a-longs. Most from dear frinds or family. When you see them they remind you of that person. I like to think the ones I have shared with others do the same. Some I wish I had were from my grandmother’s gardens. I can remember her yellow shrub rose so clearly and the same with her cleomes or as she called the ‘spider plants’. So I will have to be content with finding look a likes and remembering her that way.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Cynthia on August 23, 2008 at 5:15 am

    What a bright and happy shade of orange and yellow that canna is. Like the sun.

    I have always read that gardeners as some of the most generous people and I believe that to be true. What gardener does not like to share his/her plants with others. I enjoy propagating too much so I always have some type of plant to give away. I recently took some dianthus cuttings and all 12 rooted so now I need to find homes for them.

    Reply

  4. Posted by marmee on August 23, 2008 at 5:15 am

    we have just moved this last year and i have left all plants behind.
    just wanted to tell you how nice this is beautiful bloom looks and what a nice surprise for you!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Lucy on August 23, 2008 at 10:06 am

    When we purchased this home, landscaping left by previous owner, who were seniors (80+), the yard was in dire need of starting over, so everything was removed.

    On my day off, I'd be out there either cleaning up and/or creating, when I noticed this elderly women pulling up in her car & just watching for a few minutes at time, week after week; it did become annoying, sorry to say.

    After a few more weeks of her watching me, she got out her car and introduced herself as Anna and said "I've been noticing that your into gardening"…. Well she invited me to her yard just up the street to view her gardens, and then proceeded to offer me almost anything I wanted in plantings!

    She had everything under sun, and she loved starting new plants… I felt like I was visiting a nursery.

    Since then, she stops by to visit my gardens & I give Anna anything she wants, or she'll stop and say "Oh I have something for your, come on up"

    Gardeners are the best!!

    Reply

  6. Posted by tina on August 23, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    Very pretty color! I love passalong plants as they remind me of the person. Hard to pick a favorite but I think verbena bonarienis since I never see it in the store and it is such an old fashioned perennial that fits in well everywhere (though it can jump).

    Lucy, Your neighbor is a real gem to let you take anything you wanted! I wish I had some around here but that is amazing. She just wanted to make sure you were not a one day gardener. How sweet of her.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Kylee on August 23, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    That canna is beautiful! It would fit right in with the two varieties I have. (‘Lippo’ and ‘Gaiety’)

    Probably the most dramatic passalong I’ve received is brugmansia. They have given me a world of joy with their large blooms and heavenly scent.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Meadowview Thymes on August 23, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    I love all my pass-alongs plants. They are just so special! You will not believe this, but one of my favorites was not a plant, but seeds. My step-father knew I wanted to grow cotton so my children could see what it looked like. So, he found some seed for me. A man at our church heard about my cotton adventure and gave me seed for purple cotton (purple foliage). I planted all the seed in a sunny flower bed along side my house. I bet I had the prettiest cotton a flower bed ever had! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  9. Posted by tina on August 23, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    Meadowview Thymes, That is so neat on the cotton. I just saw some in bloom in a friends flower bed and it was very lovely, the foliage too. I can’t remember where she got the seeds but cotton is beautiful!

    Reply

  10. Posted by OhioMom on August 23, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    Oh I love that orange, usually cannas blooms are so so, but this is spectacular! Great pass along.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Kathleen on August 23, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    Gorgeous canna! It looks a bit like one I’ve seen called “Wyoming??” One of my neighbors gave me some of her bearded yellow iris divisions last fall and I was thrilled when they bloomed for me this spring. I love pass along plants too ~ they always make me think of the giver and that’s a bonus to me.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Paula on August 23, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    Oh, Look at the gorgeous color! I could use a little tropical sunrise right now! I don’t have lovely flower beds, so I don’t have a favorite. Petunias are lovely for splashes of color, and that what I’ve got most of!

    Reply

  13. Posted by Meadowview Thymes on August 23, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    I had to add one more comment to Lucy. Your neighbor sounds delightful. Don’t you all wish we had an Anna in our neighborhood!
    Great story Lucy–thanks for sharing it!

    Reply

  14. Posted by Perennial Garden Lover on August 23, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    We moved alot early on too Anna. This is the longest place we have lived in. I didn't realize that about the Proven Winner plants. It's hard when you don't have other gardeners in the area you live. Most of my neighbors like to garden too, so I'm lucky. Rubeckias are great pass-a-long plants and so durable & long lasting in the garden.

    Thanks Beckie. I'm quite pleased with the Canna bloom on this one. πŸ™‚ It's nice to have plants that remind you of the person who gave them to you. That is how my roses are for me. Grandma gave them to me, and even though she is still with us it will be a long lasting gift for years to come.

    Thank you Cynthia. You are so right about gardeners being generous by nature. I haven't propogated or grown things from seeds in a few years. That's something I need to start doing again. Especially with plants that are annuals or tender perennials for my area.

    That was probably hard leaving your plants behind Marmee. Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed the bloom. πŸ™‚ Thanks for visiting!

    What a generous neighbor you have Lucy. My neighbor's sister is like that. The neighbor isn't a gardener per se, but her sister is passionate about plants & gardening. She gave me my Soapwort which I love.

    Thanks Tina! Verbena bonarienis is a wonderful pass-a-long plant Tina. I couldn't imagine gardening without that wonderful wildlife attracter in my garden.

    Thank you Kylee, I'm glad you enjoyed my Canna bloom today. Your pass-a-long brugmansia sounds like a great addition to your garden. Thanks for visiting!

    Linda -How wonderful that your father & the man at church gave you an opportunity to grow something unusual for your children to enjoy! It sounds like a wonderful bloom, do you have pictures?

    Thanks Mom! I love the splash of orange too. It is a pretty flower. I'm not crazy about Canna blooms normally. This one is a keeper though.

    Thanks Kathleen for the possibility of a name for this Canna. I will do some research. My neighbor never told me the name and she moved awhile back. She gave me some Iris too, they were actually divisions of one I gave her years ago. The orginal died out in my garden so it was nice to get some of it back. πŸ™‚ Your irises sound pretty, can't wait to see pics next spring.

    Thanks Paula. I'm glad you like my Canna tropical flavored bloom. It is a nice one, isn't it? Petunis are a great summer annual for the garden.

    I'm glad this post provided an opportunity for everyone to share not only with me but each other their pass-a-long plant stories! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  15. Posted by Susie on August 23, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    P.G. That is the canna I had in Georgia. I didn’t know it’s official name, sorry. It was a pass along plant from my mother-in-law. I do enjoy sharing plants so much. I have passed along those cannas and iris bulbs. Of course, I have passed along seeds of all types of plants and received them as well.

    Reply

  16. Posted by DP Nguyen on August 23, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    That is such a pretty flower. Pass along plants are so great. I just got some daylilies, and now I will try my hand at trying to grow flowers. I am amazed at people who can grow them so well.

    Reply

  17. Posted by garden girl on August 24, 2008 at 1:09 am

    Beautiful canna PG! What a gorgeous color. Sharing plants is such wonderful way of gardening. My oldest daughter is on the garden committee of her condo board, and I was delighted to share a bunch of stuff with her for their big renovation project of big ideas and no budget. I was really quite amazed that my young garden could yield so many pass alongs.

    My favorite, and oldest pass along is Royal Standard hosta, given to me by an elderly gardening neighbor nearly 30 years ago. She shared her love of gardening and many of her plants, divisions of which were brought with me from house to house over the years. I was a young stay-at-home-mom on a tight budget, and she single-handedly populated my first perennial garden with plants that are still favorites of mine to this day. The last time I moved it was to my husband’s home, and I sold mine in the winter. (A gardener should never, ever move in winter.) Thankfully I’d already brought some hostas here, including a division of a division of a division etc., of that original Royal Standard. That one’s been divided a few times here too, and the mother and largest of them is front and center at the edge of the patio in honor of that special, kind, generous lady whom I’ll never forget.

    Reply

  18. Posted by Perennial Garden Lover on August 24, 2008 at 1:43 am

    Susie, it’s a beauty regardless of the name. πŸ™‚ Sharing plants with others is rewarding. I enjoy it when people want to see my garden and tell me they like my plants. It makes you feel good.

    Thank you DP Nguyen! I think you will enjoy your daylillies and hopefully they will inspire you to grow more flowers. Your square foot garden intriques me, I would like to try that approach in veggie gardening. Thanks for visiting! πŸ™‚

    Thanks GG! I’m glad you enjoyed the bloom. Thanks for sharing your wonderful gardening experience with that generous neighbor. How sweet that you were able to keep a portion of that Royal Standard Hosta (which is my personal favorite) as a memorial to that gardening mentor so many years earlier.

    Reply

  19. Posted by Cindy at Rosehaven Cottage on August 24, 2008 at 1:55 am

    How pretty! I love cannas. Yours reminds me of a popsicle or sherbet ice cream (my favorite ice cream is orange sherbet).

    Cindy

    Reply

  20. Posted by Perennial Garden Lover on August 24, 2008 at 2:09 am

    Thank you Cindy! I normally am just fond of the foliage on Cannas, but this flower is a beauty. πŸ™‚ I love orange herbert too, especially dreamsicles! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  21. Posted by Wicked Gardener on August 24, 2008 at 2:48 am

    My mother-in-law gave some cannas identical to those! They haven’t bloomed yet, but I’ve seen them at her house. We got matching pass-a-longs!

    Reply

  22. Posted by ChrisND on August 24, 2008 at 12:30 pm

    Glad to see your new canna bloom! One of my favorite pass-a-longs is the “tiger” lilies we have as a south foundation planting. They fill the space nicely, and being on a budget, only weeds would have grown for a while.

    Reply

  23. Posted by Perennial Garden Lover on August 24, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    It looks like everyone has seen this bloom before WG, but no name yet. πŸ™‚ It's been a great pass-a-long plant none-the-less. Thanks for visiting.

    Hi Chris! I'm glad you liked my tropical bloom. Tiger lillies are great pass-a-longs. Have you ever noticed that most pass-a-longs are easy to grow & prolific? Which is great for the pocketbook when creating a new garden. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  24. Posted by Meems on August 25, 2008 at 1:38 am

    Pass along plants are SO much fun. When I was younger and always in a hurry (well the younger part has changed) I must admit I didn't appreciate them as much. Now I walk around my garden and see so many of them and they all make me very happy.

    Let's see… a favorite… it's probably (this week anyway because it's blooming) the blue ginger my neighbor across the street gave me. Plants are the gifts that keep on giving.

    And look at you with your tropical surprise looking like you live in Florida! Cannas just scream tropical and you have a beauty with that yellow one!
    Have a great night.
    Meems @Hoe&Shovel

    Reply

  25. Posted by Perennial Garden Lover on August 25, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    Thanks Meems! It does give me a taste of Florida living having that lush, tropical Canna growing in my garden. πŸ™‚ I bet your Blue Ginger is a great pass-a-long plant that you will have for years to come.

    Reply

  26. Posted by The Hunky Gardener on August 26, 2008 at 3:25 am

    I like it best when people pass along cookies, especially peanut butter cookies.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

