Decorating on a budget

When we purchased our 41 year old house ten years ago it was almost completely original to when it was built. The original cabinets in the kitchen had been replaced at some time with cheap plywood homemade models that were painted a creamy color. They were okay for the first couple of years, but I really wanted an updated kitchen. So earlier this year we had our kitchen redone from the floor up. I was thrilled to have new everything! I decided to try to save some money in the decorating by being creative and reusing some items I already owned as well as purchasing new to me items from yard sales & thrift stores. Here are some ways I decorated my new kitchen on a budget.

This corner cabinet I’ve owned for 19 years. My grandmother gave it to us shortly after we married. It was sitting in her garage and it was being used to store tools. Can you believe it? Originally it was a horrible lemon yellow color which I immediately changed to white. Then at some point it was “country blue”. When we remodeled the kitchen we had the cabinet makers paint this to match the bases of our cabinets. I love the new color. We also replaced the antique brass hardware with brushed nickel to give it an updated look.
Can you believe I found this painting at a thrift store for a mere $2.00? I loved the muted tones of the flowers and the faux antiqued look of the frame. It looks great with my new cabinets and brings some other accent colors into the room.
This decorative plate rack and plates were purchased at thrift stores too. I found the rack first and it was a little chipped so I gave it a fresh coat of hammered metal black spray paint. ( I love spray paint by the way!) The plates were found after much searching. I wanted something that had some color to liven up the plain cream wall behind. The fruit motif looks great in the kitchen.

In this picture you can see a glimpse of my new cabinets. The cabinet maker thought I was crazy when I picked out these colors, but when he was painted them he changed his mind. In fact he said several employees commented on the nice contrast. I kept the doors the lighter color so the kitchen wouldn’t feel so dark. It’s at the back of house and gets very little natural light through one window over the sink. This little shelf was found at a yard sale for like 50 cents. I spray painted it with the hammered metal black spray paint and use it to hold my potholders. Notice the potholders have that fruit theme again. πŸ™‚ I hope you enjoyed my decorated on a budget kitchen.

24 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by cindee on August 22, 2008 at 4:30 am

    I enjoyed your kitchen update(-: Love the corner cabinet!! That is so nice to have it and to think it was holding tools! Yikes. When my grandmother passed away I got her china closet. Its old and has not been refinished. I like it as it is just old and rustic.(-: She collected blue glass but I have a set of old crock canisters in it(-:
    I like your color choice for your cabinets too!!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Cynthia on August 22, 2008 at 5:02 am

    Your cabinets are beautiful. You obviously have a good eye to pick out those colors! πŸ™‚

    Don’t you just love it when you can make a good find at a thrift store or garage sale? I always feel like I won something when I do. I like to scour the thrift stores for misc. objects I can decorate the home and garden with too. Thanks for the tour of your new kitchen!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Anna on August 22, 2008 at 5:05 am

    I see lots of character and love. I like that style and almost chose it cause I had so much vintage stuff to showcase around. But the craftsman style won out cause it was my dh’s favorite.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Kanak Hagjer on August 22, 2008 at 5:41 am

    It really does make sense to spend time looking around…I love the decotative plates and your cabinets are beautiful.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  5. Posted by OhioMom on August 22, 2008 at 10:54 am

    Love the painting! I could never display my potholders, they are too well used. The corner cabinet is gorgeous, tools ??

    Reply

  6. Posted by Meadowview Thymes on August 22, 2008 at 1:27 pm

    Loved seeing your kitchen! I like contrast too, so I really like what you did to the cabintets. Everything looks great–you did such a good job!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Balisha on August 22, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    Hi PG,
    This was a fun “tour.” I too love the cabinets. That corner cupboard is beautiful. Don’t you love finding a bargain?

    Reply

  8. Posted by tina on August 22, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    I note a common theme with gardeners-they bring the outdoors in:)

    Reply

  9. Posted by Kathleen on August 22, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    I love spray paint too. It’s amazing what you can do with one can!! Nice job on your kitchen remodel.

    Reply

  10. Posted by beckie on August 22, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    Your new kitchen look so homey and inviting. Of course I am partial to your choice of colors. It’s such fun to redo(after the mess is cleaned up!) and to look for all the little things to decorate with. I find a lot in thrift stores and at garage sales too. And spray paint in a can is a decorators best friend! Great job-now enjoy.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Andrea on August 22, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    I LOVEEEE going out to find old stuff that I can reuse. most of our furniture in the apartment is ciomplied of old things we found in garage sales.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Nancy J. Bond on August 22, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    You did a wonderful job or redecorating! I love yard sale finds, too. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  13. Posted by Jean on August 22, 2008 at 6:10 pm

    Your kitchen looks great. I love the corner cabinet! I’m glad you rescued it from the garage. The cabinets are interesting and I’ll bet they look super. I think it’s more fun to search for things than to go to a store. Great job! Jean

    Reply

  14. Posted by Roses and Lilacs on August 22, 2008 at 6:23 pm

    Great job. I love light colors in the kitchen too.

    When I move here, the cabinets and counter tops were the worst. Still, I was reluctant to scrap them because the sides and backs were that wonderful old beaded board. I had a carpenter make doors with big glass windows that showcased the old wood inside. Saved a bundle and love my new/old kithen.

    Reply

  15. Posted by lacey on August 22, 2008 at 7:04 pm

    What a cute kitchen! I just love using free or cheap stuff to decorate πŸ™‚

    Reply

  16. Posted by Love My Cottage Garden on August 22, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    I just love your kitchen update. The corner cabinet is a favorite. I have a special place in my heart for muted paintings as well. In fact my favorite in my house is one that I found at an estate sale for $1 and it was never completed. It is hanging in my living room, I just love the mystery behind it(why it was framed but never finished). Great job on your makeover. I just loved Virginia when we passed thru a few weeks ago. We stayed the night in Staunton and visited a cave close by. Beautiful country.

    Reply

  17. Posted by Hocking Gardener on August 22, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    The fruit motif turned out great. I love your newly painted corner cupboard.It is great to use pieces that were in the family.My Dad built me a corner cupboard and it will always be a family treasure. The redo of items can create some terrific pieces for a decor.

    Reply

  18. Posted by Cindy at Rosehaven Cottage on August 22, 2008 at 11:39 pm

    Your corner cabinet is the perfect color. And from the little peek I can see of your new cabinets, they are too! I love red!

    Cindy

    Reply

  19. Posted by Perennial Garden Lover on August 22, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    Thanks everyone for your kind comments. I'm glad you enjoyed my kitchen and my thrifty way I decorated it. I guess gardeners have more in common than just plants. We all love creativity & saving money. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  20. Posted by Eve on August 23, 2008 at 12:24 am

    I love your new kitchen. I can’t imagine what I would do without thrift store and yard sales. Some of my favorite things have come from there. I think the two tones look very good together.
    Billy nearly freaked out when I told him I was painting my walls in the kitchen, a peanut butter color. Sometimes they just can’t see the vision you have in your head.

    Reply

  21. Posted by Mother Nature on August 23, 2008 at 1:09 am

    Every little detail carefully selected and applied, make a house a home. Good job. Your love is showing.

    Reply

  22. Posted by Susie on August 23, 2008 at 1:32 am

    Your kitchen looks great P.G.! I enjoy finding inexpensive things and redoing them to make them look great! I like the corner cabinet too.

    Reply

  23. Posted by Dee/reddirtramblings on August 23, 2008 at 3:11 am

    I really like what you’ve done with your kitchen. We remodeled our house, and it took 4 1/2 years. I never want to remodel again.~~Dee

    Reply

  24. Posted by Perennial Garden Lover on August 23, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    I really appreciate the sweet comments that everyone left on my blog. It was nice to share my new kitchen with you and I'm glad you liked my choice of colors. Sometimes I just know what I like and it is hard to explain to hubby. πŸ™‚ Remodeling is a nightmare but the end results were so worth all the dust & debris.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

