Some things are worth the wait…

They say patience is a virtue. To be honest it was never one of my greatest strengths. I’ve learned to be more patient via gardening. For example, I got a late start planting seeds for my Blackeyed Susan vine and just noticed buds had formed a day or so ago. Last night I was happy to see the first bud had opened. What a happy little bloom! I have never grown this annual vine in my garden so it was nice to try something new to me. Several of my blogging buddies out there suggested this as a good option to grow on my “TV Antenna” turned trellis in the new garden this season. I was sure I may have waited too long to plant the seeds, but obviously not because it’s starting to bloom and has almost completely covered the entire structure. On another note, in yesterday’s post I mentioned that I moved my Butterfly Weed into a new location because it wasn’t doing well. Actually it didn’t help that Spaz stepped on it several times in her attempts to catch squirrels. πŸ™‚ Anyhow, I moved it and it is adjusting fine to its’ new home. In fact, on my inspection of the garden last evening not only did I notice the Blackeyed Susan bloom, but another surprise. Look at this little guy who was happily munching away on my Butterfly Weed. Is this a Monarch Butterfly Caterpillar? It looks like it to me, which means my Milkweed had eggs on it after all and they are hatching. After inspecting it again I saw a few caterpillars on it as well. There is so much activity on that plant, it is like a miniature universe. The Aphids seem to be in less abundance on the Milkweed and I noticed a few on the Butterfly weed too. Anyhow, it looks like I have a couple other plants that should be blooming soon so I have more new things to anticipate. This Canna was a pass-a-long plant from a neighbor. I traded her some of my burgundy Cannas in exchange for this green variety name unknown. This bud has been forming for several days now and there is a brief glimpse of the flower color showing right above the stem. Does that look like a hint of yellow peeking through to you? Maybe the flower on this one will be something worth keeping. The burgundy Cannas have these nothing special red blooms that I cut off. I prefer the foliage on them to the flowers. Some of the less hardy Cannas do have really pretty flowers though. Once it opens I promise to post a picture of it. Maybe it will be open for next Bloomin’ Tuesday. Another plant that should be blooming really soon is my new addition Lantana ‘Miss Huff ‘, she has several new flower buds. Sorry this picture wasn’t more clear. They have a orange outer color with a deep pink in the center. This should be a great addition to my new garden bed. I have planted a lot of butterfly & hummingbird attracting plants in this area of the garden. ‘Miss Huff ‘ is a favorite source of nectar for both of these species. Just when you think the end of summer is here there is all this new stuff to anticipate for the fall and next season in the garden.

21 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Anna on August 21, 2008 at 4:44 am

    I grew a Black Eyed Susan vine one year–oh my word!! It got huge in no time and was covered in blooms. It does seed a lot.

    It is so nice to see critters in the garden. I’m glad you’ve got a butterfly caterpillar. I think that’s an honor.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Cynthia on August 21, 2008 at 5:07 am

    Yea, your black-eyed susan vine bloomed! I just love those. When I gardened in California they were actually a perennial for me there.

    How exciting about your caterpillar. I would be lying if I said I wasn’t more than a little bit jealous. πŸ˜‰ I still have yet to see anything and it leaves me stumped. Maybe next year I should try growing your milkweed. Could you please tell me what it was called again as this time I am going to write it down!

    I can’t wait to read about what else you start to find in the next few weeks. I once brought my Swallowtails inside and raised them myself. Are you thinking about doing that?

    Reply

  3. Posted by tina on August 21, 2008 at 11:42 am

    Worth the wait indeed! Now you will have tons of susan flowers and much enjoyment. The cannas and lantana are nice too as is your swallowtail caterpillar.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Roses and Lilacs on August 21, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    Looks like a monarch. Congrats.

    The black eyed susan vine is adorable. I tried one some years ago It was already started in a pot when I bought it. I haven’t seen any since.
    Marnie

    Reply

  5. Posted by OhioMom on August 21, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    Love that caterpillar shot, and your blooming vine. A garden that also serves as a habitat for nature’s critters is wonderful.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Kathleen on August 21, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    It definitely looks like a monarch caterpillar to me. Lucky girl!! I’m glad your black eyed susan vine is blooming for you. That’s a great vine!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Sweetie on August 21, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    I especially like the black eyed Susan vine and the shot of the garden critter. Your descriptions are wonderful.
    Sweetie

    Reply

  8. Posted by Perennial Garden Lover on August 21, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    It's been my experience that most annual vines can be quite prolific in their growth & seeding Anna. I'm prepared for the good & bad, lol. I like trying new things though. Thank you, I do feel quite honored to be blessed with caterpillars this year. πŸ™‚

    Thanks Cynthia! I am quite pleased with the Blackeyed Susan vine blooms & vine. You should definitely try a milkweed. Mine is called 'Whorled Milkweed'. The foliage is pretty on it too. I feel quite blessed to have caterpillars & surprised that they found it so quickly. πŸ™‚ I think my hubby would kill me if I brought them in the house. He's a non-gardener & humors my passion. πŸ™‚ As well as footing the bill, lol.

    Thank you Tina. I am happy with my blooms thus far and the caterpillars made my day!

    Thanks R&L, that's unusual. Annual vines usually are heavy reseeders. I am still removing morning glory seedlings 2 years later from around the garden. πŸ™‚

    I'm glad you like my blooms Mom. I am quite happy with my little natural habitat and the wildlife it attracts.

    Thanks Kathleen! I am happy with the vine too. It has a pretty little bloom and the caterpillars made my day! πŸ™‚

    I'm glad you enjoyed my descriptions, the blooms & my caterpillar Sweetie. Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  9. Posted by lacey on August 21, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    I love finding new buds and flowers in my garden! It’s always such a thrill, especially when you don’t know whether something will make it or not!

    Reply

  10. Posted by Balisha on August 21, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    Love that vine. Your comment about preferring the leaves of the canna got me to thinking. I am not crazy about the blooms either. Never thought of cutting them off. DUH!

    Reply

  11. Posted by The Hunky Gardener on August 21, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    I am a fan of the Susan vine. I really like it in orange. It is also a great houseplant in a hanging basket or something it can climb on next to a west or south window.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Perennial Garden Lover on August 21, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    That's how I feel Lacey. Especially at this time of the year when things seem like their getting alittle tired & worn out.

    Thanks Balisha. I do the same thing with my Hostas (except for Royal Standard) and the Heuceras. Some plants foliage is more colorful or interesting than their blooms.

    Reply

  13. Posted by Perennial Garden Lover on August 21, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    Great tip HG! I didn't realize you could grow it as a houseplant. It germinated pretty quickly from seed & I still have tons left for next year.

    Reply

  14. Posted by Meadowview Thymes on August 21, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    I love Black-eyed Susan vines. The flowers are so cute! Yea for the caterpillars. All I see on my Butterfly Weed is aphids, although this rain may have washed them off.
    Love your Lantana. My yellow has not bloomed well this year at all. Usually it is hugh and in full bloom. I think I might dig it up and find something else to plant. That’s part of the fun of gardening isn’t it! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  15. Posted by Perennial Garden Lover on August 21, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    Their a new annual for me Linda. I've never grown them before, and I'm happy with them so far. Just keep watching Susan, one day they weren't there & the next they were. That is the great part about gardening, if something doesn't work try something else or move it somewhere else.

    Reply

  16. Posted by Susie on August 21, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    Yippee!! Caterpillars!! So great to see isn’t it P.G.? I hope you get to follow them along.

    I definitely think that is a yellow canna. Maybe it will have a splash of orange on it. You never can tell. Those are real pretty.

    Isn’t gardening great!? You never know what you are going to find out there.

    Reply

  17. Posted by Perennial Garden Lover on August 22, 2008 at 2:22 am

    Thanks Susie, I knew you would understand my excitement. πŸ™‚ I’ve been keeping an eye on them as they munch away at my Milkweed. Hungry little things, aren’t they? The canna opened today, it is pretty spectacular. I love the everyday little surprises in my garden, it has kept me obsessed for years.

    Reply

  18. Posted by MrBrownThumb on August 22, 2008 at 2:43 am

    Congrats on the BES. One of my favorite vines.

    Reply

  19. Posted by Perennial Garden Lover on August 22, 2008 at 3:41 am

    Thanks Mr Brown Thumb. I am enjoying it so far.

    Reply

  20. Posted by Dee/reddirtramblings on August 23, 2008 at 3:13 am

    Miniature universe indeed!~~Dee

    Reply

  21. Posted by Perennial Garden Lover on August 24, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    Thanks Dee! πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

