It’s raining, it’s pouring…

And my garden is rejoicing! I’m not crazy about the lightening & thunder because it scares the dogs, but I’m getting rain, glorious rain! It’s a good thing too, because everything was starting to look a little worn out from all this heat with no relief in sight. My rain barrels are beyond full again, yay! The rain is coming down so hard, the rain is literally running over the tops of the barrels and the yard has puddles. Once it has a chance to soak in I think my garden will look a zillion times better. What a great way to start the weekend! I hope everyone who hasn’t gotten any rain lately is equally blessed before the weekend is over. Have a nice weekend everyone! ๐Ÿ™‚

16 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by kd on August 16, 2008 at 5:54 am

    I’m delighted on your behalf! May your rain barrels remain full but not quite overflowing. Unfortunately, around here (Montreal, Canada), rain has been an almost daily occurrence over the last several weeks and it has totally warped some of our starved-for-sunshine abilities to appreciate it and all the good it can bring. Thanks for the reminder ๐Ÿ™‚

    /krys

    Reply

  2. Posted by Cindy on August 16, 2008 at 6:20 am

    I’m glad you are getting some relief. Wish I could have some of that rain right now as we are in the middle of a blazing hot heat wave….with no a/c! Don’t normally need it out here but right now I would kill for one! Have a great weekend! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  3. Posted by tina on August 16, 2008 at 11:22 am

    It sounds super nice. Great! You have rain. None here though we surely need it.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Meems on August 16, 2008 at 11:24 am

    So happy for you… I can totally relate to feeling that relief. Last summer was so dry we thought we would lose everything. This summer has been mostly normal with our intermittent rain storms and most of the garden is thankful. Fungus is a problem with too much rain but I'll take that temporary problem any day over drought. Happy, happy rain showers and overflowing rain barrels to you!
    Meems @Hoe&Shovel

    Reply

  5. Posted by Laurie and Chris on August 16, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    Oh boy you sure are getting some rain.They keep calling for rain here but we haven’t seen any. Have a good weekend.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Susie on August 16, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    P.G.-Love the video. There is nothing like the sound of rain falling. Loved the thunder too. Glad you got much needed rain. We got rain last night too! My grass looks much better.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Nancy J. Bond on August 16, 2008 at 5:55 pm

    It’s been raining here today as well, with chance of thundershowers. ๐Ÿ™‚ But that’s been our entire summer — either hot and humid, or warm and raining. It has made for a very lush countryside though. I’m glad you’re getting some much-needed rain!

    Reply

  8. Posted by OhioMom on August 16, 2008 at 9:38 pm

    That is just too cool, love the video … and I LOVE storms, gimme some lightning and thunder ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  9. Posted by Perennial Garden Lover on August 17, 2008 at 2:35 am

    Thanks everyone, I’m glad you enjoyed my rain video. I hope everyone’s weekend is going well. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  10. Posted by Kanak Hagjer on August 17, 2008 at 4:10 am

    Rain and thunder…loved the video!

    Reply

  11. Posted by Love My Cottage Garden on August 17, 2008 at 3:32 pm

    We got rain also, and more expected all week long. I am trying not to get too excited about the cooler temps but I just cannot help myself. I want to go out and weed the garden while it is nice and moist.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Kathleen on August 17, 2008 at 5:32 pm

    It was raining here yesterday morning too ~ my yard looks quite a bit like yours! Isn’t it great? We were in the same predictament ~ very dry ~ so it’s a welcome sight. Enjoy!

    Reply

  13. Posted by Perennial Garden Lover on August 17, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    I’m glad others are getting some rain and I’m glad you enjoyed my video. Hope everyone had a nice weekend.

    Reply

  14. Posted by cindee on August 18, 2008 at 12:54 am

    Yay for you!! Rain is always welcome!!!!!(-: How exciting and fun!!!!

    Reply

  15. Posted by Anonymous on August 18, 2008 at 1:14 am

    I’m sorry to hear that your rain barrels are overflowing in place. That can be a real problem to the foundation of your home over time. Check out the huge overflow port offered on the products on this website: http://www.aquabarrel.com

    Reply

  16. Posted by Cindy at Rosehaven Cottage on August 19, 2008 at 3:25 am

    Lucky you! I sure wish it was raining around here. It would be such a welcome relief. But we have to wait until November for our rain… as usual.

    Cindy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

