August Blooms (GBBD)

Welcome to Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day! The garden is starting to fade during this time of the year, but there are still a few things that are starting to bloom or have been blooming. My pass-a-long roses from Grandma are doing well in spite of the heat and the lack of rain. I don’t know the names of these beauties, because their names aren’t as important to my Grandmother as the color of the bloom. This true red is my favorite of the bunch because it blooms most of the summer and is mostly disease resistant. I can’t resist a yellow rose in the garden. This one has interesting shaped petals that curl into points at the tips. This bush isn’t as robust or disease resistant as the red one, but it has a lovely fragrance. The Peace Rose is my grandmother’s favorite and I’m sure this one (to the left) is a Peace. I love how the petals gradually fade from a deep yellow to a dark pink on their edges. While some plants have gradually faded off into the sunset until next season there a few plants in my garden that have been going strong like the Hydrangea “Limelight” which I never get tired of talking about in my blog. It has been a real strong bloomer this year regardless of the heat, drought, or whatever else nature has thrown at it this summer. I love how the sunlight picks up the glints of green on the backsides of the numerous pedals. What southern garden would be complete without the brilliant blooms of the Crepe Myrtle. Mine has more than earned its’ place in the garden. In 2004 the original tree which was about 15 ft tall was destroyed by Hurricane Isabel. My husband had to remove it and I was heartbroken. I didn’t realize at the time he never removed the root ball and the tree re- sprouted the following season from those roots. I have been carefully training the shrub like appearance into a small tree. This tree has the benefit of exfoliating bark as it ages that leaves an interesting mottled look to the branches. No summer garden would be complete without the ever faithful Black eyed Susans. Their sunny flowers not only attract birds such as Yellow Finches to their blackish-brown seed heads but butterflies seem to delight in their bright blossoms as well. They are the backbone of the garden throughout the late summer through early fall. Another plant in my garden that is starting to bloom and will be a great asset through the remainder of the season is Solidago or goldenrod ‘Fireworks’. Once this bloom is in full glory it does look like a series of firecrackers exploding in your garden. I will need to divide a couple of my plants this fall because they have really gotten huge this year. A really reliable and long blooming plant is Phlox paniculata ‘Robert Poore’. These lovely purple blooms have been blooming on & off all summer long. I have deadheaded it twice and it just keeps going & going like the energizer bunny of perennials. ‘Robert Poore’ is a really hardy garden phlox and has no problems with mildew or spider mites. Some other plants that are blooming right now are Obedient Plant (to the left), Soapwort, Purple Coneflowers, Forever & Ever Hydrangea “Red”, Yarrow, Stella d’ ora daylillies, Coreopsis, Salvia, Sedum “Autumn Joy”, Angelonia, Periwinkle, Four o’ Clocks, Butterfly Bush, Knock out Roses, Verbena ‘Blue Vervain’, Hosta ‘Royal Standard’ and Verbena Bonariensis. What’s blooming in your garden today? For more Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day posts or to join in on the fun, please visit Carol at May Dreams Gardens. Thank you Carol for hosting GBBD. πŸ™‚

19 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cindy on August 15, 2008 at 5:33 am

    It seems you still have a lot blooming in your mid August garden! What a neat story to go with your crepe myrtle- a true survivor. Black eyed Susans are one of my favorite flowers. They are just so cheerful and go well with so many other flowers in the garden. Thanks for sharing all your blooms! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Posted by Anna on August 15, 2008 at 6:24 am

    Keep showing that Limelight cause I love it too!!! All your blooms look wonderful.

    Reply

  3. Posted by david mcmahon on August 15, 2008 at 10:07 am

    Our gardens are coming to life beause spring is only two weeks away in Australia!

    Reply

  4. Posted by OhioMom on August 15, 2008 at 11:39 am

    The Peace Rose would be my pick also .. and the limelight hydrangea too. Seems you still have a lot of color in your garden. Great pics!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Gail on August 15, 2008 at 11:43 am

    Lovely garden and I am not saying that because you have all the flowers I love and grow! Your blooms are lovely, it’s interesting that your just a bit ahead of us…the obedient plant and goldenrod are not blooming in TN yet! Thanks for the tour!
    Gail
    clay and limestone

    Reply

  6. Posted by tina on August 15, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    Lots of lovely blooms. I like the roses and I think Peace is my favorite too, like your grandmother.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Roses and Lilacs on August 15, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    You’re lucky to have those roses from your grandmother. I was moving around the country when my grandmother passed away. I couldn’t take any of her garden plants.

    I’m checking out Robert Poore. I want to add some phlox. That seems like a nice one.
    Marnie

    Reply

  8. Posted by Rose on August 15, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    I just saw a “Limelight” hydrangea at a garden center yesterday and thought “how lovely”! Glad to know it’s been such a good performer for you.
    I think we have some similar tastes in plants–I have some of the same ones blooming now, too.
    I don’t have a rose from my grandmother, though; how special!

    Reply

  9. Posted by beckie on August 15, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    I am amazed by your roses. Such pretty blooms on them and how special they were your grandma’s. The Crepe Myrtle is just glorious-who knew it would come back and be just as pretty! Aren’t we lucky that there are some good old standby flowers that bloom well late into the season. They sure bridge the gap til the fall flowers come on.. Great bloom day post.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Meadowview Thymes on August 15, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    Love all your plants. Wish my black-eyed Susans would last longer. They are my favorites!

    Reply

  11. Posted by Kathleen on August 15, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    I agree, you have lots blooming still in your garden! I always forget about GBBD ~ I guess I sort of did a version of it (but not consciously) on my blog today but it was totally accidental. Good for you remembering, it’s beautiful.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Megan on August 15, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    I love that hydrangea, I’ve been thinking about where I could fit one in, good to see that it earns its keep in the garden.

    Reply

  13. Posted by SusiesQs on August 16, 2008 at 12:10 am

    LOVE that phlox-the colors are so vivid. I had some in my back garden last year and at dusk the colors looked almost neon. Beautiful πŸ™‚
    Susie

    Reply

  14. Posted by Susie on August 16, 2008 at 1:30 am

    P.G.-It looks and sounds to me like you have plenty still blooming. You know I grew solidago last year but it didn’t make an appearance this year. Have a great weekend!

    Reply

  15. Posted by Perennial Gardener on August 16, 2008 at 2:55 am

    Thanks everyone for your nice comments. I’m glad you enjoyed my blooms for GBBD. I hope everyone has a nice weekend. Happy Blogging!

    Reply

  16. Posted by Meems on August 16, 2008 at 3:13 am

    Wonderful blooms in your garden. I especially like that limelight hydrangea… so bountiful! The coneflowers and the phlox are a vivid and bright spot too.
    Meems @Hoe&Shovel

    Reply

  17. Posted by Carol on August 16, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    That’s a great display of blooms in your garden. If that’s “fading”, then your garden must be quite the show place in early summer! Thanks for joining in for bloom day!

    Carol, May Dreams Gardens

    Reply

  18. Posted by JGH on August 16, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    I have some Peace roses that were used as love nests for Japanese beetles this year and totally destroyed, so I’m very content to enjoy yours. I also love that purple phlox!

    Reply

  19. Posted by shirl on August 20, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    Hi there Perennial Garden Lover πŸ™‚

    What lovely blooms – great roses. My favourite plant from your selection has to be ‘Robert Poore’. I am guessing that this could be a favourite for the butterflies and bees too πŸ˜€

    Reply

Leave a Reply

