Bloomin’ Tuesday 8/12/08

To see more Bloomin’ Tuesday Posts or to join in please visit Ms Green Thumb.

The Hydrangea ‘Limelight’ is still going strong and putting out new blooms. You can see the green tint to the undersides of the blossoms in the sunlight. Somehow I ended up with an abundance of Lirope Muscari in my garden this year. But the purple blooms are nice at this time of the year when some things are starting to fade or look worn out from the heat.

Verbena “Blue Vervain” a native plant to my area has been blooming on and off for the past couple of month. The Butterfly Bush is attracting butterflies and bees with it’s honey scent and gorgeous white blossoms. I have to deadhead it weekly to keep the blooms coming.

My Crepe Myrtle is still in full glory at this time of the year and the Clematis “Sweet Autumn” is setting buds and here is the first little flower of the season. I have to really keep this one in check or it will ramble all over the garden but since it blooms on new wood it isn’t an issue.

Here’s another shot of my Four o’ Clocks. I liked how this flower was half pink & yellow. Some are solid pink, solid yellow and my favorite is the yellow splashed with splotches of pink. The Hosta “Royal Standard” is in full bloom now. The buds are lavendar and when they open the inner flower is a snow white and so fragrant. I love how the sunlight is making these blossoms glow in this picture. This is the one Hosta that isn’t stressed out from the heat right now.
29 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Eve on August 12, 2008 at 4:18 am

    I love the half pink, half yellow four o’clocks. They are so pretty. My crape myrtle is still going great. I just do not have any luck with Hostas.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Paula on August 12, 2008 at 5:42 am

    Those flowers are so beautiful. I bet your yard is just full of color. The Four o’Clocks are impressive with their multi colored petals!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Anne Fannie on August 12, 2008 at 6:40 am

    I always enjoy looking at your garden on Blooming Tuesday!
    Love, Ann

    Reply

  4. Posted by Frances, on August 12, 2008 at 10:33 am

    Hi PG, lovely, just lovely. Your combinations are perfect to attract those lovely butterflies. Are you on the monarch path of migration? I know it comes down through VA near you. I am so envious of that, we are far from the routes but get a few strays here. I have Royal Standard and it is the most wonderful fragrance of all the hostas. It can go in full sun, even be run over by cars and still look great. Very drought tolerant too. Your garden looks beautiful.

    Frances at Faire Garden

    Reply

  5. Posted by Aiyana on August 12, 2008 at 10:59 am

    The Four o’Clocks are interesting–especially the half and half. I planted some Four o’Clocks from seed one year, but not a single plant sprouted. They are not suited to our climate, but I’d won the seeds in a drawing and decided to try. After seeing yours, I wish I could have had just a couple come up.
    Aiyana

    Reply

  6. Posted by Where fibers meet mud on August 12, 2008 at 11:12 am

    Your garden is showing your passion that you have delivered to it. The Four O’Clocks in SW Ohio were stumped by the heat and then smashed by an errant lawn mower! Next year!

    Thanks for all the photos – love the pictures and stories on your blog.

    Reply

  7. Posted by tina on August 12, 2008 at 11:48 am

    That 4 O’Clock is SO neat! Everything is very pretty and I love that verbena.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Kathleen on August 12, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    I want that verbena too! I think I’ll see if I can find it at a nursery sale this fall. You have many beautiful blooms still going strong in your garden.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Suzy on August 12, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    What a neat Four O’clock!…that’s one I’ve never tried.
    Great flower shots, and I love your quote in the header.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Roses and Lilacs on August 12, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    You have a lot of blooms for mid August. My garden is beginning to look blah. Not much color left.
    Marnie

    Reply

  11. Posted by Andrea on August 12, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    SUCH a cool looking plant. Too bad that couldn’t be propegated somehow into an actual steady split pink and yellow four’oclock.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Sara G on August 12, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    We are going to start on our Perennial garden tonight after work!! I was wondering if there is any method to the madness of planting the flowers that we have?? Or just lay it out whatever looks pretty??
    I am going to see if I can find a little bench or something to put in it for an accent.
    take care and thanks in advance for any advise you can give me!!
    PS—LOVE all your pictures.

    Reply

  13. Posted by Laurie and Chris on August 12, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    Your gardens look great. Love the butterfly picture.

    Happy Bloomin’ Tuesday

    Reply

  14. Posted by Jean on August 12, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    Great pictures! I think I’ve figured out where to put a limelight now I just have to get one. The four o’clocks are interesting and I like the color mix. Your garden must be beautiful with all the colors going on. Love the butterfly pic! Jean

    Reply

  15. Posted by Cindy at Rosehaven Cottage on August 12, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    Ooooo! I like the half-and-half four o’clocks too! Never seen one like this before. It reminds me of an ice cream dessert. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Cindy

    Reply

  16. Posted by Sara G on August 12, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    Thank you for the advise. What if there is no real back to your garden?? The way we are laying it out it will be like an island of sorts. Eventually I would like to put a small paver patio behind it, between the house and the bed.
    And we were planning on a curved bed. I am not much for square straight lines!!
    Funny how one project turns into a whole slew of other things to do!!

    Reply

  17. Posted by Greg on August 12, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    I was late planting my four o’clocks, so was thrilled to enjoy yours while I await my own to get started.

    Fantastic butterfly shot!!

    Reply

  18. Posted by Sweetie on August 12, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    Your Hydrangeas are absolutely beautiful. The O’Clock and verbena are so pretty. I scrolled down and looked at the milkweed. My visit to your garden was wonderful.

    Sweetie

    Reply

  19. Posted by Nancy J. Bond on August 12, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    Beautiful Tuesday blooms!

    Reply

  20. Posted by Susie on August 12, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    P.G.- All the blooms look good. I love the Monarch on the butterfly bush.

    Reply

  21. Posted by Linda aka yellowroseli on August 12, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    Lovely post today. I just planted a Butterfuly bush this summer, And I love it. Happy gardening

    Reply

  22. Posted by Cindy on August 12, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    What pretty flowers you have blooming right now- a nice variety. I like the sounds of your clematis. I think I might have to look more into that one……

    Reply

  23. Posted by Meadowview Thymes on August 12, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    Can’t believe the four o’clock with 2 different colors! Did you buy it like that..and does it smell wonderful?

    Reply

  24. Posted by Lucy on August 13, 2008 at 12:09 am

    I just love all of it, but mostly your red flower box w/a wonderful combinations in there ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I have something for you at me my site, come on by ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply

  25. Posted by Perennial Gardener on August 13, 2008 at 12:39 am

    Thank you everyone for your lovely comments about my blooms today for Bloomin Tuesday! I’m glad everyone enjoyed what my garden had to display for today.

    Reply

  26. Posted by beckie on August 13, 2008 at 1:10 am

    PG, i have fallen for the lirope muscari. Not only do the blooms look great but what wonderful foliage. I can see that as a border plant. The Verbena, blue vervain looks a lot like one of the prairie plants I showed a while back. You said it is native to your area so am wondering if it is a native here too. Will try to find it on the internet. As always, I enjoyed your Blooming Tuesday post.

    Reply

  27. Posted by garden girl on August 13, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    Beautiful blooms PG! You have many of my favorites in your garden – Hosta ‘Royal Standard’ was my first-ever hosta, a pass along from an elderly gardening neighbor almost 30 years ago. I still have divisions from that plant in my garden today, four houses later.

    Growing up on the north side of Chicago, four o’clocks were a must in every tiny postage stamp garden on the block. They’re very nostalgic for me. Love your pink and yellow surprise!

    Lirope and hydrangeas are wonderful for brightening things up in the garden this time of year. Your crape myrtle is gorgeous – wish they were hardy around here!

    Reply

  28. Posted by The Hunky Gardener on August 13, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    Hi perennial gardener. About the aphid issue, I think the best advice is probably just to leave it alone. You don’t want to risk damaging the monarch eggs. It is rare that aphids will actually kill a plant and if you have a variety of plants in your garden, (which it looks like you do!!) then you will be attracting beneficial predators to feed on the aphids. Also cooler weather will slow down the aphid reproductive cycle so the environment can help keep them in check. If you are desperate you could spray the soap on the worst of the aphid population but you would need to be precise in your spray. The eggs are small and white and I think they are usually on the underside of the leaf. They hatch pretty quickly in about 2-4 days.
    Good luck! Oh, and I am jealous you have them in your yard!!!

    Garden till ya drop!

    Reply

  29. Posted by Perennial Gardener on August 13, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    Thanks everyone for your kind comments. I’m glad I could share my blooms with you and that you all enjoyed them. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

