Farewell to some…

I’m saying goodbye to some of my garden plants such as the Hemerocallis “Colorful Summer” until next year when she reawakens for another blooming season. She is aptly named with her vibrant orange petals that actually fade in direct sunlight. But it’s been a good two months of nonstop blooms so she’s earned her winter nap. When I went to the Botanical Gardens in Norfolk I saw this daylily blooming there. I was really excited, because this plant was given to me 10 years ago as a pass-a-long and I had forgotten the name. This time I made sure to document the name in my journal. They described it as a pink flower, but it depends on the light you plant it in. It looks pinkish or peachy in direct full sun. Others in my garden are just starting to come into their own such as the Thunbergia alata (Blackeyed Susan Vine) that has managed to wind it’s way up my recycled TV antennae to trellis. I haven’t spotted any buds yet, but the season is far from over. The orange flowers with their black throats will be a welcome surprise when most things have long since faded from the summer garden. They are an annual in my zone 7b area, being that they are only hardy in zones 9-12. Next year I will get the seeds in the ground earlier, I didn’t plant these until June so they are doing well considering. Another late bloomer this year is the Hosta plantain lily “Royal Standard”. I have a mass of these in the water fountain bed and they will be in full bloom soon. This is a bloom worth waiting for, because they are supported on sturdy stems and the buds are huge. The flower is a lavender shade that is fragrant. These are large plants at about 18-24″ wide and the leaves are corrugated and a bright green color. Even if I didn’t enjoy the flower on this hosta I would plant it for the texture of the leaves. In addition they are planted in part sun and the foliage doesn’t burn. So while I am saying farewell until next year to the daylillies, I am still anticipating the start of the season for others in the garden.

23 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Layanee on August 6, 2008 at 4:41 am

    CS is a beauty! I hate to see them bloom out don’t you?

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kathleen on August 6, 2008 at 4:43 am

    It’s always nice to have some late bloomers, isn’t it? I’m still looking forward to seeing a few favorites too but they can take their time because I don’t want another gardening season to be over.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Cindy on August 6, 2008 at 5:38 am

    It is so hard for me to believe that we are already into August and it is now time to say goodbye to some flowers for another year. This growing season has been too short for me.

    I love the black-eyed susan vine. The flowers on it are so cheerful and bright. I have grown it more than once and it has never let me down. I look forward to seeing some pictures of it in bloom!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Ro on August 6, 2008 at 6:14 am

    Recycled tv antennae…now that’s an idea! I appreciate your description of the blooms, as I am nowhere near to that stage of gardening yet. I can only imagine how lovely it must be to admire them throughout their peak season.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Paula on August 6, 2008 at 7:31 am

    The color on that bloom is gorgeous. It looks like something that belongs in a wedding bouquet … or maybe in a bouquet on my table. Lovely!

    Reply

  6. Posted by tina on August 6, 2008 at 11:41 am

    That daylily sure does deserve a nap. What a hard worker! I love the brown eyed Susan vine. I thought it had reseeded for me, turns out it is morning glories; which HAD to go. Phooey.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Perennial Gardener on August 6, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    I do hate to see the end of another season Layanee, but I know they’ll be back next year. Such a beautiful bloom and it only lasts a single day. 😦 Thanks for visiting!

    Gardening does teach us patience and the anticipation is exciting Kathleen. I can wait too, because another season will be over with before we know it. Thanks for visiting!

    We can’t wait for the season to start Cindy and then it flies on by once it’s here. Time flies when we’re having fun. πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to see the Blackeyed Susan vine bloom either, I will post pics as soon as it does. Promise!

    I love repurposing items for the garden Ro. It’s a great way to recycle something unique and save the landfill. Your welcome for the description. I am eager to see the blooms myself. πŸ™‚ Thanks for visiting!

    Thanks Paula. It is a lovely bloom. I love the shades of color throughout it, looks like a sunset.
    It would be a nice bouquet, but the bloom only lasts for a day. Hence the name daylilly. 😦 Thanks for visiting!

    It has earned it’s winter siesta Tina. Hard worker and great bloomer year after year. That’s a shame about the Blackeyed Susan vine, but I’m not surprised the morning glories came back. They are vigorous! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  8. Posted by beckie on August 6, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    It is sad to see the last of the daylilies. Mine are just about dones as well. The big dark one I have should be on it’s last bloom today-I’ve been counting the buds and watching them disappear.:) I knew once that vine got started it wouldn’t take long to grow up it’s ‘trellis’. Like my Moon Flower-I’ve never seen anything grow that quickly and you are right about things being later. I’ll just try to be more patient.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Balisha on August 6, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    Lilies have brought me joy this summer. I hate to see them go too.

    Reply

  10. Posted by OhioMom on August 6, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    Lilies are some of my favorite bloomers .. can’t wait to see the vine climb and bloom.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Meadowview Thymes on August 6, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    I had a black-eyed Susan vine last year. It didn’t bloom until the weather cooled off. The blooms are so pretty.
    I didn’t know there was a hosta that would survive the sun–I am writing the name of this one on my list! Thanks for that information.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Perennial Gardener on August 6, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    Yes it is a sad to see the Daylillies fade for the summer Beckie. But they’ll be back again before you know it. The seeds didn’t take long to germinate on the Blackeyed Susan vine but it took alittle while before they developed the tendrils that would wind themselves up the trellis. That is the nice thing about annual vines, they grow quickly. πŸ™‚

    They are a joyful flower Balisha, the lillies. But they’ll be back next season which will be here before we know it. πŸ™‚

    Lillies are beautiful flowers Mom and I can’t wait to see that vine bloom either. But I’ll have to, won’t I? πŸ™‚

    Thanks for that info on the Blackeyed Susan vine Linda. It will be nice to have some fall blooms. πŸ™‚ Your welcome about the Royal Standard Hosta. It’s a great plant overall in my garden. I’ve had it for over 5 years now, maybe even longer than I recall. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  13. Posted by Roses and Lilacs on August 6, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    I feel a little like a daylily. I’d like a long nap:) Oh well, no rest for gardeners until late September.
    Marnie

    Reply

  14. Posted by debbi/kurtsmom on August 6, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    Mine are asleep for the summer as well. They are so pretty when they bloom.

    Reply

  15. Posted by Meems on August 6, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    It is the time of year when so many of the plants are under stress from the heat and then there’s the rains or lack of them. So we say goodbye to some that made us so happy only a month ago. Ahhh, but then there’s autumn and sweet relief.

    Your day lily IS indeed a lovely shade of pink and peach and sounds like it has done its duty. LOVE the hosta. I’m with you on planting for foliage even when there might not be a bloom. It’s a common practice here.
    Have a great day!
    Meems

    Reply

  16. Posted by Perennial Gardener on August 6, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    Isn’t that the truth Marnie. I could use a long nap myself. This heat is exhausting but no rest for the wicked as they say. πŸ™‚ We’ll get our break soon enough and then we can spend those months dreaming of next years garden.

    They are pretty Debbi. What’s a summer garden without daylillies?

    Reply

  17. Posted by Perennial Gardener on August 6, 2008 at 7:13 pm

    Just missed you Meems. πŸ™‚ Thank you, it is a lovely color. So bright and cheerful with it’s sunset colors. I’m tired of the heat I’ll tell you that and we haven’t gotten a drop of rain in awhile which would cool things off or make it worse depending. Foliage is so much of what see the majority of a plant’s existence in the garden, we might as well plan for the texture and if it blooms, bonus! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  18. Posted by Susie on August 7, 2008 at 12:13 am

    The color of that daylily is just beautiful! It deserves its rest. Hopefully, next year it will bring along some friends when it comes back for it’s visit.

    Reply

  19. Posted by Perennial Gardener on August 7, 2008 at 12:26 am

    It does seem to produce more & more buds each year which extends the season of bloom. Thanks Susie, I like the color too. Looks like a sunrise or sunset to me.

    Reply

  20. Posted by Lucy on August 7, 2008 at 1:37 am

    Your daylily looks spectacular!!

    Our Blackeyed Susan Vine some how must have come from the same batch… I have vines galore!! I started w/seeds… a few blooms so far, not much though… everything looks good.

    Reply

  21. Posted by Perennial Gardener on August 7, 2008 at 6:15 am

    Thanks Lucy. I’m looking forward to seeing it bloom, I planted it from seed. It’s new to me. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  22. Posted by Rose on August 7, 2008 at 9:36 pm

    “Colorful Summer” is indeed a beauty! But I’m partial to pinks and peaches anyway. It’s always sad to see the end of such beautiful blooms, but the good part about a garden is that something new usually appears later.

    Reply

  23. Posted by Perennial Gardener on August 7, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    Thanks Rose. I like pinks & peaches too. πŸ™‚ But the end of a bloom is like you said the beginning for another's time in the garden. There is always next season too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

