Raindrops…

We’ve been getting these freak afternoon showers everyday this week. Of course it’s not enough to really make a difference in the garden overall, but it does seem to cool things off a bit. I really liked the way these raindrops just beaded up on this canna leaf. My rain barrels are getting low so I’m hoping for a real downpour soon. But it’s August now, our hottest month in the summer and I’m not holding my breath. This summer has been unusual for us, because we usually are in a drought by July 1st and this year we actually got more than our average for the month overall. Here’s hoping that everyone’s summer is not too unbearable and that we get some occasional showers to cool us off as well as the plants. Hope everyone has a nice weekend.

16 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by OhioMom on August 2, 2008 at 9:53 am

    Cool pic! We had one of those fast moving thunderstorms moved through last night, haven’t had a good rain in a bit, so it was welcome.

    Reply

  2. Posted by tina on August 2, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    Great picture! Did you post about your rain barrels? I would love to see how you made them. I have three just waiting for some help! Our quandary is the bottom spigot. Aunt Debbi said she pushed a tap in and it has worked. We are trying to figure out how to get a nut on the back side of the bottom spigot since we can’t go in the barrel. It is a quandary for us. Many blogs are having problems due to sitemeter. Urrrr! No problem once it is deleted.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Perennial Gardener on August 2, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    Thanks Mom, I’m glad you liked the photo. These freak summer storms usually don’t give us ample amounts of rain.

    I have a post about how I assembled my water barrels in the label section (under water barrels, lol). I listed a couple of links that we were able to use to get a guideline. I figured out the sitemeter thing after going to the help section of blogger last night and someone had postec a comment saying to delete it. I deleted it and my blog worked again. Weird! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. Posted by tina on August 2, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    I found them-duh me! lol And I see the barrels you have allow you to unscrew the complete top. Ours has only a small hole on top so we really need the bottom spigot. We’ll figure it out. I am glad you at least still have some water in them. Mine are sitting useless right now and I could use the water.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Kathleen on August 2, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    Wish we would get some of those afternoon rains! We are having our hottest (and driest) summer on record in Colorado. Hopefully the showers will continue into August.

    Also, I’ve tried three times to comment on about your squash cakes post ~ and it never goes thru for some reason? They looked so delicious and brought back childhood memories for me too. My Mom also made something similar but she grated the squash rather than slicing it. I want some now!!!!!

    Reply

  6. Posted by rowena on August 2, 2008 at 5:02 pm

    I wish I could send you some of our freak thunderstorms that we’ve been having for the past few nights. As soon as the rumbling and winds start, I just cross my fingers and hope that the tomatoes will be alright even though they are staked. The worst thing of course would be if there were to be hail. Yikes!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Susie on August 2, 2008 at 6:37 pm

    I love that picture! I’m glad your getting some showers. We actually had rain yesterday, not enough, but beggars can’t be choosers.

    P.S. Come to my blog for a little surprise!

    Reply

  8. Posted by Perennial Gardener on August 2, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    That’s okay Tina, lol. Yeah that’s why I wasn’t too worried at this point about adding a spigot, because the mouth is wide enough for me to dip my watering can into. I’ll cross my fingers for you to get some rain too so that your rainbarrels get filled up, ok? πŸ˜‰

    I guess everyone is having a weird summer. I hope you get some rain soon Kathleen. I’m glad you enjoyed my squash recipe! It was mighty tasty. πŸ™‚

    That’s okay Rowena, please don’t share those kind of storms with me. lol Oh hail at this point would be a nightmare, right?

    Reply

  9. Posted by Perennial Gardener on August 2, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    Just missed you Susie. I’m glad you enjoyed the raindrops photo. Considering some people are really in a drought, I’m not complaining about the meager amount I’ve received either. See you shortly…

    Reply

  10. Posted by ChrisND on August 2, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    That’s a great picture…I love water on leaves. My computer wallpaper is water on our strawberries from this spring.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Perennial Gardener on August 2, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    Thanks Chris! I like water on leaves too. That sounds like a really pretty wallpaper on your computer.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Niels Plougmann on August 2, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    Beautiful texture to that leaf – and nice to see you (I enlarged the picture and was able to see you in one of the raindrops)!

    LOL Just Kidding!

    We are finally getting some rain and it is cooling down after the worst drought in 57 years. I hate hot weather.

    Reply

  13. Posted by Nancy J. Bond on August 2, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    Excellent photo! And I’m glad you got some rain. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  14. Posted by Perennial Gardener on August 2, 2008 at 11:03 pm

    Thank you Niels, you had me for a minute. lol I’m glad you are getting some rain. Wow, in 57 years? Unreal the weather this year. I don’t care for the heat either, it makes me cranky. πŸ˜‰

    Thank you Nancy, I’m glad you enjoyed my photo. Your photos are always so beautiful. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  15. Posted by marmee on August 3, 2008 at 4:08 am

    love love love this picture. we need some rain here. all of my sunflowers are dying.

    Reply

  16. Posted by Perennial Gardener on August 3, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    Thank you Marmee and thank you for visiting. It’s been a dry summer for you if the sunfloweres are dying. I hope you get some soon. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

