A happy childhood memory; fried squash

I just harvested two more summer squash from my container garden yesterday and there are two more coming right behind them. So I decided I would make some fried squash patties for lunch yesterday. (yum-yum) One of my earliest childhood memories is of my mother making fried squash and my brother & I would eat it as fast as she could pull it out of the pan. She would always say “You’re going to burn your fingers.” We didn’t care. 🙂 By the way, my mom has a cooking blog and is a fantastic cook so if you are interested in some great recipes you can check her out at Cooking in Cleveland. And you should see the pictures of her urban garden too. This is the recipe my grandmother gave me that her mother passed down to her. Sorry mom, I should of asked you for your recipe first, but was really hungry and in a hurry to fry these squash up! 🙂

Fried Summer Squash

Ingredients:
· 2 eggs, beaten
· 1/4 cup milk
· 1/2 teaspoon salt
· 2 med summer squash, sliced thinly
· 1 1/2 cups flour or cornmeal (I had flour)
· oil
Preparation:
Combine eggs, milk, and salt in a bowl. Place flour or cornmeal in a separate bowl. Dip squash in the egg mixture, then roll in flour or cornmeal coating it well. Then fry in skillet with about 1 inch of hot oil on med-high heat until golden brown.

Don’t these look yummy? I would of saved you a few but my family gobbled them up before they even had a chance to cool off! 🙂

32 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by beckie on July 31, 2008 at 6:01 am

    Well, that wasn’t very neighborly! i was all set to eat some. We love squash just about any way you can cook it. Steamed, fried sauted, pie. I’m making my self hungry…

    Reply

  2. Posted by beckie on July 31, 2008 at 6:07 am

    I just saw your bird bath post-I missed it I guess. Anyway-what wonderful bird baths! I odn’t know which one I like best. I have four, but only three hold water. The other one use as a plant stand.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Shibaguyz on July 31, 2008 at 8:32 am

    Okay… now you’ve made me hungry for fried squash. Nevermind that it’s 1:31am. Nevermind that we only have the first blooms on our squash this week. Dang it!! Now what am I gonna do??

    Reply

  4. Posted by Mother Nature on July 31, 2008 at 10:05 am

    Um! Looks so good. My hubby makes the best squash casserole. We’ll have to try this.

    Reply

  5. Posted by OhioMom on July 31, 2008 at 10:53 am

    I love you sweetie, and your grandma’s recipe is almost identical to mine, your fried squash look perfect! Next time add 1 tsp. of Old Bay Seasoning to the flour, I sure hope you saved me some 🙂

    Reply

  6. Posted by Lucy on July 31, 2008 at 11:26 am

    Wonderful memory ;-)… I would pick them off as soon as my Mom placed them on the plate too 😉

    Could you possibly guess what I just picked from my garden???

    Reply

  7. Posted by tina on July 31, 2008 at 12:15 pm

    It looks really good! And such a good association. Be careful! Don’t burn yourself!

    Reply

  8. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 31, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    I’m sorry Beckie, the family got greedy 😉 with the squash. What I did with mine that leaked after I glued it a zillion times was put a plastic plant saucer in it to hold the water. Makes cleaning easier too! Repurposing it as a plantstand is a great idea!

    LOL Shibaguyz!!! Well you know how fast them babies will grow once they start blossoming it won’t be long now!

    They were delicious MN, I’m not a cook per se, but nobody complained! 🙂 I think you’ll enjoy this recipe.

    Great tip Mom, that would really spice things up! Sorry their all gone. 😦 Maybe next time? 🙂

    LOL, Lucy looks like you will be having some fried squash today. It’s odd how we sometimes associate parts of our childhood with food or smells. 🙂

    Thanks Tina, I needed the reminder! 🙂 I can’t wait till my other babies are grown (won’t be long now)

    Reply

  9. Posted by Meadowview Thymes on July 31, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    YUM!!! Brings me back to wonderful summer dinners my Mother use to make. Just add fresh black-eyed peas and sliced tomatoes! And can we have berry cobbler for dessert?

    Reply

  10. Posted by ChrisND on July 31, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    I will have to try this with the neighbor’s squash…since we didn’t plant summer squash this year. We did plan on making a pasta dish with the squash tonight. Thanks for sharing your memory and recipe!

    Reply

  11. Posted by Lacey on July 31, 2008 at 3:24 pm

    Mmm … those look really good! And what a very sweet memory of your childhood. I wish my mom had served me fried vegetables when I was growing up – I probably would have been more enthusiastic about eating them then, lol!

    Reply

  12. Posted by Balisha on July 31, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    Hi,
    I love squash fixed this way. I am so hungry right now…no breakfast yet…we mowed first, to beat the heat. I eat things like this for breakfast, if I have leftovers.Sometimes I take leftover mixed veggies and mix them with Jasmine rice and a bit of soy sauce or T. sauce and have that while hubby has regular breakfast food.

    Reply

  13. Posted by Theresa on July 31, 2008 at 5:55 pm

    Mmmmm. Got the Yum-O factor going! Now I have to make some.

    Reply

  14. Posted by Lets Plant on July 31, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    MMmmmmm….. That looks delicious. Thanks for the recipe.

    Reply

  15. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 31, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    Isn’t funny how foods can invoke sweet memories for us from our childhood? Wow berry cobbler does sound good Linda, put a scoop of vanilla ice cream on mine okay? 🙂

    You are very welcome Chris. If you’ve never had fried squash, you’re in for a real treat! Enjoy!

    Thank you Lacey! It does make them more appealing when you fry them, lol

    That sounds like my favorite kind of breakfast Balisha! yum-yum 🙂

    Reply

  16. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 31, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    Theresa, I’m glad I could give you a craving for fried squash! lol 🙂 Thanks for visiting!

    You’re welcome LP! I hope you make them and enjoy them! Thanks for visiting!

    Reply

  17. Posted by artistsgarden on July 31, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    That recipe sounds great and looks great.
    Now – I just have to wait for the squash to grow :0
    Warm regards
    Karen
    An Artist’s Garden

    Reply

  18. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 31, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    Thanks Karen, I hope you enjoy the recipe and I’ll cross my fingers for your squash to grow quickly! 🙂

    Reply

  19. Posted by Rhonda on July 31, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    It wasn’t until we moved to TN that I ever saw anyone actually eat squash..I know it sound weird, but I’ve never even bought it because I couldn’t figure out what to do with it. However, between a squash casserole recipe given to me recently and your wonderful fried squash recipe…I might even grow it next year. Thanks so much for sharing.

    Reply

  20. Posted by Rhonda on July 31, 2008 at 7:36 pm

    Beckie,
    on an entirel different note…could you possibly tell me how you got your favorites list to give out the new post info? It’s wonderful.

    Reply

  21. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 31, 2008 at 11:17 pm

    You are very welcome Rhonda. That’s not strange, in different parts of the country people eat different things. I never heard of okra or blackeye peas until I moved to Texas from Ohio. And in Ohio we have something call “City Chicken” that I’ve never seen anywhere else. I’m glad I could add to your recipes! 🙂

    On the other note: go to layout, open your blog list, I sort mine (dropdown list at top) by recently updated, click in box next to title of most recent item and the box date of last update, then save. Let me know if you have any more questions. Okay.

    Reply

  22. Posted by Daphne on July 31, 2008 at 11:53 pm

    I wonder if I make that recipe will my son eat it? He looks like I’m crazy when I eat squash. I got him to eat zucchini bread the other day, but he looked at it funny when he saw little green pieces. He tried a bit and said it tasted like my pumpkin cake (which he loves). I’m thinking fried food he might eat. I’ll have to try.

    Reply

  23. Posted by Susie on August 1, 2008 at 12:13 am

    P.G.-I can taste that squash all the way down here. It looks fantastic!! I really enjoy squash just about any way you fix it but love it fried. Yummy!!!

    Reply

  24. Posted by Perennial Gardener on August 1, 2008 at 12:50 am

    Daphne – I know that’s how my mom got us to eat some the veggies we didn’t even want to try. Kids like fried things. Plus he won’t be able to tell it’s a veggie. 🙂

    I love squash too Susie, but I have to say fried is my favorite! I know it’s probably not healthy, but it is a veggie. So that counts right? lol

    Reply

  25. Posted by Dave on August 1, 2008 at 2:32 am

    Yum! We love fried squash, but we do it a little different. We chop it up with onions and garlic then coat it in flour, cornmeal, and a few dashes of salt and pepper. Then we fry it in an iron skillet. There’s no real recipe for it but it tastes good!

    Reply

  26. Posted by Perennial Gardener on August 1, 2008 at 3:14 am

    Your version sounds pretty yummy too Dave.

    Reply

  27. Posted by Arija on August 1, 2008 at 5:53 am

    Thanks for the squash recipe. It’s mid-winter where I am but I still have one marrow sized zucchini left from summer and since the grandchildren’s bunnies as well as our chooks turn up their noses at the bounty of my backbreaking labours I’ll try it on ourselves!

    Reply

  28. Posted by Perennial Gardener on August 1, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    Your welcome Arija. I hope you enjoy the recipe.

    Reply

  29. Posted by Paula on August 1, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    I found your blog via a like from your mom’s! I loved reading about how you and your brother would sneak zucc’s as soon as they came out of the pan! This recipe sounds wonderful; I think I’ll give the cornmeal version a try! YUM!

    Reply

  30. Posted by Perennial Gardener on August 1, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    Thanks Paula for visiting. I’m glad you enjoyed the post and I hope you enjoy the cornmeal version of fried squash. My mom says if you want alittle zip just add a tsp of Old Bay seasoning as well.

    Reply

  31. Posted by Rowena on August 2, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    All I can say is…YUM! Squash didn’t make it on the list of things to grow this year but will certainly make it on the next (she says). I love fried vegs but especially when they’re coated in cornmeal!

    Reply

  32. Posted by Perennial Gardener on August 2, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    Rowena- Yes it will definitely be on my list next year too. Actually it was suppose to be a cucumber plant, but the mislabeled plant ended up being a delicious mistake. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

