Bloomin’ Tuesday

It’s Bloomin’ Tuesday and to start out I’m going to show a couple of new things that are blooming in my garden today. Then I will show you some stuff that is still blooming and just to make it interesting a couple of things that have interesting buds and will be blooming really soon.

This is my much anticipated “Snow Queen” clematis or so I thought. But this is not a white bloom is it? I also planted “Dr Ruppel” on the same trellis, but this isn’t it either. Another case of mislabeling for me this year. Three strikes I’m out for the season. I did a little research yesterday, but I still don’t know the name of this cultivar. However, it is pretty with that lavendar blue background and faint purple striping on the petals. I also am fond of the deep purple center. Does anyone know what the name of this Clematis might be?

I wish I could of gotten a better picture of my new Yarrow Achillea Hybrid “Summer Pastels”. I bought three small plants a couple of weeks ago at a bargain price. I specifically tried to pick ones that at least one bloom so I would know the color. One is a deep golden yellow, one is a pastel yellow and the last one is a peachy salmon color. Yarrow has a long bloom cycle from May-June and if you deadhead it will rebloom again later in the summer. I know it can be slightly invasive in the garden but I haven’t had too much trouble with in in mine. In addition, the fern like folliage is attractive even when it’s not blooming.

I love the pale pinkish yellow tone of this hybrid rose. Unfortunately I don’t know the name of it because it was a pass-a-long plant from my grandmother’s garden before she moved in with us. The blooms are full and it has a pleasant fragrance. As it ages it fades to a creamy white color.

The Lirope muscari is blooming prolifically in my woodland garden at the moment. This plant can be very aggressive at putting out runners and will take over if you let it. I prefer the “Variegata” variety because it is better behaved in the garden. But I have to admit Lirope is a great plant for areas of your garden that have harsh conditions like along the driveway and it’s low maintenance other than a haircut every spring to make room for the new foliage.

My garden Phlox paniculata “Robert Poore” is on it’s second bloom cycle for the season. It has a lovely spicy fragrance that really is noticeable in the morning. The bright lavendar blooms are a nice contrast to the light green foliage. This plant gets about 3-4′ tall and has a nice clumping habit. It will flop slightly after a heavy rain but straightens itself up once the blooms are dry.

The Forever & Ever Hydrangea “Red” has a single bloom so far for the season. This bloom has been open for over a week now. I purchased three of these shrubs thinking they would be a nice mass planting along the fence in my new garden. The second one has 3 or 4 buds on it waiting to open and the third bush which gets more shade is smaller and has no buds at all. The color on this bloom has gotten darker as it has aged. So far I am not too impressed with this variety. But we’ll see what it does next year. I have to water these daily or they will wilt in the afternoon.

This is one of my favorite Hostas in my garden. I think this might be “Royal Standard”. It has large leaves and is my largest at about 30” in diameter. I also like the blooms on this variety because they are substancial. Look at the size of this bud. The stems are sturdy and the blooms are lavender and slightly fragrant. This is the only Hosta that I allow to flower in my garden, because the blooms are worthy of the plant. I prefer the folliage of Hosta to the bloom. This variety can take more sun than my others will tolerate. It gets morning sun in this bed, but it use to get some afternoon sun and it tolerated that as well.

My final almost bloom is the Physostegia virginiana or Obedient Plant. This variety is a pale pink color and gets about 24″ tall. Don’t you think the unopened flower buds have an interesting shape? I grow this plant in a large washbasin so that it doesn’t overtake my garden. It is very invasive, so you will have to contain it. The flowers are tubular in shape and are available in pale pink, magenta or white. Next year I would like to try the white variety, it isn’t as invasive.

For more Bloomin’ Tuesday Posts or to join in please visit Ms Green Thumb. What’s blooming in your garden today?

32 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Anne Fannie on July 29, 2008 at 4:27 am

    I love your garden pictures. That Clematis is just gorgeous! I read once that the Snow Queen clematis sometimes have a mauve hint to them, could this still be a Snow Queen? It is such a beautiful flower what ever the name is! Your Hostas is going to be beautiful when it blooms! Looking forward to seeing that next Blooming Tuesday!
    Love, Ann

    Reply

  2. Posted by beckie on July 29, 2008 at 7:28 am

    Wonderful blooms. The rose is just perfect. Too bad you don’t know the name- you could call it ‘ rose de la Grandma’. πŸ™‚ I have just started with Yarrow and so far am liking it. As you said the foilage is so pretty. I saw white obedient plant at the Idea Gardens and loved it. It’s on my wish list. Glad to know white is well behaved. Your Phlox is looking so good for this late in the year. Mine is looking a little stressed. I like the hydrangea, of course it’s pink-my color. Great bloom day post.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Aiyana on July 29, 2008 at 8:01 am

    My daughter-in-law in Colorado has a clematis just like this she calls ‘Hagley Hybrid’. I’m not sure if that’s just the hybridizer or the actual hybrid name. I always thought is was quite pretty, but white would have also been nice!
    Aiyana

    Reply

  4. Posted by tina on July 29, 2008 at 11:19 am

    I sure wish I could help you out with the clematis. I don’t know the name but it sure is lovely regardless of the name. You just can’t go wrong with them. Your rose from your grandmother looks like ‘Peace’. Does it smell real good and have a slight pink edge? Peace is one of my favorites. I may try the obedient plant if you can contain it so well. It doesn’t self seed? Only runners? How big of a basin did you use? Thanks for faving me!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Rowena on July 29, 2008 at 11:28 am

    The only plant that I can relate with here is the hydrangea. They grow profusely in northern Italy, quite like weeds! All of your blooms are beautiful though (as I have nothing to really compare), so it just might be the little push I need to remember to plant flowers for next year.

    I enjoyed the previous post on pets. Boy could I write a lot on that one, my two little rascals are always up to no good, but indeed, they certainly bring joy to the home!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Rose on July 29, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    Your clematis is lovely; I have a similar one, only it has a white center. The strange thing about mine, though, is when it bloomed in May, it was white with pink ribbing!
    As much as I love hydrangeas, I’ve found the new hybrids are rather temperamental. Mine need constant watering, too.
    Beautiful rose!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Suzanne on July 29, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    I have found the following site helpful in regard to cematis:

    http://clematis.com/html-docs/varieties.html

    When you look at those pictures it looks like your clematis could be a John Paul II. Whatever the name of it is, it is beautiful! The rose is beautiful — so full and the color is so soft and pretty.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Dee on July 29, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    Such gorgeous blooms! I am so jealous of the Hydrangea- they are one of my favorite flowers!

    Reply

  9. Posted by OhioMom on July 29, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    Oh I love the clematis and, of course, the rose (you could always call it an “Iris Rose” πŸ™‚

    Reply

  10. Posted by garden girl on July 29, 2008 at 1:37 pm

    Beautiful blooms! I’m waiting for the 2-for-1 sale at work to add hydrangeas to my garden. I’ve been debating about whether to start with one of the newer, or older varieties. I’m leaning towards Annabelle since my garden is so dry. This post pushed me even further in that direction since where I’d plant it/them would be inconvenient for daily watering on a long-term basis.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Meadowview Thymes on July 29, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    Do you have to cut your Phlox back to get a second bloom?
    Everything looks so good. I don’t see any brown any your garden! : )

    Reply

  12. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 29, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    Thanks Anne Fannie! That would be interesting if it was the Snow Queen just with a “mauve hint”. Hmmmm, I guess we’ll see when I get more blooms which are coming. I’m glad you enjoyed my Bloomin Tuesday post, thanks for visiting!

    Thank you Beckie! I like your name for the rose ‘rose de la Grandma’, lol. It is a wonderful addition to my garden regardless of the name. Yeah the Phlox has been going strong, we’ve had some rain which has helped. It will get stressed during drought.

    Thank you Aiyanna, I will try researching that name. It is pretty but I was hoping for a white bloom. Win some lose some. πŸ™‚

    I don’t think it is Peace Tina because it is more of a shell pink (very pale). But Peace is her favorite rose! I love Clematis, they are a reliable bloomer in my garden. The Obedient Plant spreads only through runners as far as I know, never had a problem with self-seeding. The container is large enough to bathe a 80 lb dog in, that was it’s original purpose. πŸ™‚

    Hydrangeas are my favorite plant of the moment Rowena. I’m glad you liked my posts about my pets. πŸ™‚ Thank you for visiting!

    I bet that is lovely Rose. Strange that it bloomed differently in May though. Interesting! I agree about the new hybrid Hydrangeas, they are needy. I love my “Limelight” though because it isn’t that way. It was a proven winner plant and it is! Thanks for visiting.

    Thank you Suzanne for the great link, I will check it out. I looked at several sites, but some of their photos were really blurry or far away. I’m glad you enjoyed the rose.

    They are my favorite flowers too Dee. I am obsessed with Hydrangeas at the moment. πŸ™‚ Thank you for visiting.

    It is pretty isn’t it Mom. I may not know the name but it still looks great in the garden. HaHa on the “Iris” rose name.

    I think “Annabelle” would be a great choice and addition Gardengirl. Also look at “Limelight” if that is an option. Not needy at all. The hybrids need alot of babying.

    Thank you Linda! πŸ™‚ We’ve been lucky with rain this year so far. It’s kept everything from getting crunchy and brown. Yeah when the Phlox finish their first flush I cut them back to the section where new buds are forming and it starts again. I love them for reblooming!

    Reply

  13. Posted by Northern Shade on July 29, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    I like the P. paniculata ‘Robert Poore. It’s great that you get a second round of blooms. When does it first start blooming? The foliage looks healthy too. Is it mildew resistant?
    The Hydrangea looks good too.It will be interesting to see how it performs as it settles in next summer. I like Hydrangeas, and some types do well here, but I think there has been mixed results with the Forever and Ever ones in my zone. It’s too bad, since there are so many interesting new ones.

    Reply

  14. Posted by tina on July 29, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    I may just give the obedient plant a try then! Did you put holes in the container?

    Reply

  15. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 29, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    Thank you Northern Shade! "Robert Poore" starts blooming in late May here. I've never had any problems with Mildew on it and it's planted in part sun. It gets morning shade and afternoon sun. I have it planted with the Knockout Roses in my garden. I am keeping an eye on that Forever & Ever. So far it hasn't impressed me.

    Reply

  16. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 29, 2008 at 2:22 pm

    You should Tina, the blooms are worth the trouble of containing it. I’ve heard the white one is better behaved. Yeah I have 3 small holes drilled on the sides of the basin near the bottom. I don’t have to water this container as much because it is so large and stays moist longer.

    Reply

  17. Posted by Nancy J. Bond on July 29, 2008 at 3:55 pm

    Everything is simply wonderful. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  18. Posted by Deborah on July 29, 2008 at 4:08 pm

    Lovely pictures! Here in Manitoba, our season starts later, so my phlox is just about to bloom. If you like yarrow, check some of my previous posts…I have an entire hedge of yarrow in various shades. I love it! It is very invasive here…my mom has more yarrow than lawn! I purposely planted it along our driveway, as I knew it would survive where other plants wouldn’t.

    Reply

  19. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 29, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    Thank you Nancy. I’m glad you enjoyed my blooms! πŸ™‚

    Deborah I think it is so amazing how the different zones can make such a difference. I will have to look at your posts about the Yarrow hedge. That sounds really neat. It would be a great driveway plant, because it is very hardy and tough.

    Reply

  20. Posted by Jean on July 29, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    The clematis is beautiful what ever it’s called! Love the color of the rose too.Great blooming post! Jean

    Reply

  21. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 29, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    Thank you Jean and thanks again for hosting our Bloomin’ Tuesday!

    Reply

  22. Posted by Aunt Debbi/kurts mom on July 29, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    Everything looks so pretty. Love the clematis, but don’t have a clue what variety they are.

    Reply

  23. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 29, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    Thanks Deb. I like the Clematis too, it might be ‘Hagley Hybrid’ according to Aiyanna. I looked it up and it does pretty similar.

    Reply

  24. Posted by Mary Beth on July 29, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    Love your liriope blooms! Mine put on such short stems that the blooms are tucked in with the foliage – wish they looked more like yours. . .

    Reply

  25. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 29, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    Mine start out that way but seem to extend and grow towards the light as they mature. Thanks for visiting Mary Beth.

    Reply

  26. Posted by Meems on July 30, 2008 at 1:24 am

    All your blooms and almost blooms are very nice to see. I was given a yarrow (white) at a plant lecture this spring. I didn't know it could be invasive… I'll have to watch it but I am with you… I like the fern like foliage. The liriope we grow down here is giant- stands 2.5 feet in places. Same kind of purple bloom but doesn't show up as well as the green spikey foliage is much taller.

    I envy your hydrangea. I'm attempting to grow oak leaf with my fingers crossed… we aren't the ideal zone for any variety.
    meems @Hoe&Shovel

    Reply

  27. Posted by Brenda Kula on July 30, 2008 at 2:16 am

    Well, you’re doing better than me. I so want a Clematis. My liriope and one hosta is doing good. But the hydrangea, roses, and most everything else is looking scorched in the weather, though I water daily. I so love the feathery, lacy look of yarrow’s leaves. I had one once and lost it. Have to get another.
    Brenda

    Reply

  28. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 30, 2008 at 2:39 am

    I would keep an eye on it Meems, it might like your warm weather. Sounds like your Lirope is monstrous compared to mine. I prefer the variagated form myself. I wish you luck with your Oakleaf Hydrangea. That is on my wishlist for next year. I love Hydrangeas. Thanks for visiting.

    Your heat must be just cooking everything Brenda. We’ve been lucky and had more rain than usual this summer. Normally by now we’re in a drought. You should try again with Yarrow, it likes the heat. Thanks for visiting.

    Reply

  29. Posted by Niels Plougmann on July 30, 2008 at 3:28 am

    We really seem to like the same plants – except mislabeled Clematis. I did not know the common name Obedient plant – cool name! I am going to get the magenta variety.

    Reply

  30. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 30, 2008 at 3:53 am

    That is interesting Niels that we have similar tastes. But I don’t know how you couldn’t like my mislabled Clematis. She isn’t “Snow Queen” but she has her own sweet charm. πŸ™‚ The name “Obedient Plant” is kind of ironic, but the research I did stated the name was given because you bend the stems gently to shape them and they will stay. I think the magenta variety is striking.

    Reply

  31. Posted by Cindy at Rosehaven Cottage on July 30, 2008 at 7:15 am

    Well, whether or not the clematis is the right color it is absolutely stunning! I don’t think I’ve ever seen one like it. I guess that doesn’t help you with the identification though does it? πŸ™‚

    It looks like you’ve got room in your garden for a beautiful pink “Our Lady of Guadalupe”… πŸ˜‰

    Cindy at Rosehaven Cottage

    Reply

  32. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 30, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    Thanks Cindy! You are absolutely right, it is beautiful regardless of the name. πŸ™‚ I know I could make room for that “Our Lady of Guadalupe” Rose, what a beauty! πŸ˜‰

    Reply

Leave a Reply

