No wonder the birds are hungry…

Spaz keeps chasing them away from the feeder. Maybe she thinks she’s helping me by conserving the birdseed? Nope, she has her own agenda as usual. Don’t worry no birds were harmed in the making of this video and she does give up after about 15 minutes so the birds do get their dinner afterall. She’s just having some fun, afterall she is a terrier. 🙂

29 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dustin on July 27, 2008 at 11:35 am

    That is a hilarious video! That’s a cute dog!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 27, 2008 at 11:54 am

    Thank you Dustin. You should of seen her when I played the video, she was sitting on my lap at the computer and when she heard the barking she tilted her head and stared at the screen. lol

    Reply

  3. Posted by Ulinne on July 27, 2008 at 12:17 pm

    Schöner, kleiner Film zu dem Thema, das auch mich hier bewegt. 😉
    Tja, die Vögel bleiben eben immer Sieger … *seufz*
    Liebe Sonntagsgrüße – Ulrike

    Reply

  4. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 27, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    Thank you Ulinne. I’m glad you enjoyed my video.

    Reply

  5. Posted by tina on July 27, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    That is funny! The video says it all. Bad ol’doggie! Terrier or not! She can sure jump too!

    Reply

  6. Posted by OhioMom on July 27, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    LMAO!! She is doing her job, keeping the “intruders” out of your yard !

    Love it …. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Posted by garden girl on July 27, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    Aw, isn’t she cute! Good thing you have that tall fence. She sure can jump!

    Reply

  8. Posted by Barbee' on July 27, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    Does she dig? I’ve read that terriers are real diggers. That kept me from getting one. I love all types of terriers.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 27, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    She can jump and touch the top of the fence Tina. We had to move our woodpile away from the fence because she was using it as a stepstool to get over the fence.

    I’m glad you enjoyed it Mom. She is definitely our little watch dog. lol

    Thanks you Gardengirl. I think a 4 ft fence wouldn’t contain her, lol.

    She’s a digger Barbie. If you look at some of my old posts under pets in the garden, you will see some of her digging antics.

    Reply

  10. Posted by cindee on July 27, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    What kind of terrier is Spaz? Jack is a rat terrier. They are so funny. Spaz looks like she is having a lot of fun. Jack lovessss to torment the birds/squirrels and whatever else he can(-:

    Reply

  11. Posted by Dee/reddirtramblings on July 27, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    Ah, terriers . . aren’t they grand? My parents bred Scotties for awhile. I love the little guys.~~Dee

    Reply

  12. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 27, 2008 at 4:39 pm

    Cindee- Spaz is a mix between Rat Terrier & Jack Russell. She is a trip! I was dividing some iris and moving them the other day and when she saw me digging she starting digging a hole next to me. lol She loves chasing the birds, the squirrels and the mouse that visits my compost bin. They are funny little dogs. 🙂

    Dee- They are a lovable and full of mischief! 🙂 We love her dearly. We lost our terrier/poodle mix last fall so we rescued her from the SPCA. She is a joy to our lives.

    Reply

  13. Posted by beckie on July 27, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    Pets or in most cases members of the family, are such fun and give us endless hours of entertaiment. All they ask in return is our love. he is doing his ‘job’ protecting the family and territory. Or so he thinks.

    Reply

  14. Posted by Barbee' on July 27, 2008 at 6:53 pm

    I took your suggestion and clicked on your label ‘Pets In the Garden’ and enjoyed all those posts! We don’t have pets any more, so I get vicarious enjoyment through others and their pets. We do have four granddoggies and one grandcat that we get to visit and play with.

    Reply

  15. Posted by Susie on July 27, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    That’s so funny! Spaz is a cute doggie!

    Reply

  16. Posted by Cinj on July 27, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    Well, at least she got her exercise in for the day??? LOL. What a cute dog. Maybe Speedy should teach Spaz how to play Twister! I think they’re both equally energetic.

    Reply

  17. Posted by Aunt Debbi/kurts mom on July 27, 2008 at 9:07 pm

    Very funny. Hopefully she won’t actually catch a bird.

    Reply

  18. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 27, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    Thank you Beckie, that’s exactly how we feel about Spaz and our other pets. She is just the most entertaining at the moment. lol

    I’m glad you enjoyed my other posts about Spaz Barbee. She makes gardening interesting to say the least. lol My pets have grandparents and great-grandparents. They are dearly loved by all.

    Thanks Susie, I’m glad you got a good laugh. I will let Spaz know she’s a “star”. lol

    She’s not crazy about cats Cinj, my poor kitty Mooch has to hide in the bedroom, she thinks it’s fun to chase him too. The cat doesn’t. 🙂 She is a ball of energy until she goes to bed at night. She sleeps for 8 hours straight and then we start again…

    Reply

  19. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 27, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    Deb- She never has caught anything, I think she just enjoys chasing them. I’m glad you enjoyed my Spaz video.

    Reply

  20. Posted by cindee on July 27, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    (-: What a crack up(-: Sounds just like Jack. He loves to dig. He thinks he is helping of course. And he can hear its amazing! He hears my husband coming home from work. Its so funny. He is a major routine dog too and if his routine/schedule is messed up somehow he gets very worried. If my husband is not home at the right time he knows something is wrong. He will go to the window and look out and wait for him. He is so happy when he hears him coming. I usually tell him though that Dad is going to be late. Do you have a close up picture of spaz?

    Reply

  21. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 27, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    She does have personality! Must be the rat terrier, of course Jack Russells are high energy too. I think Spaz thinks she is helping too. She’ll be real good about not digging for a long time when I tell her no, but if she sees me digging she starts up again. lol Spaz loves people, she has to greet everyone that comes in the house. That is so sweet that your Jack waits for his Dad at the window. I do have a closeup picture. I can post it on my blog in the sidebar.

    Reply

  22. Posted by Cinj on July 28, 2008 at 12:17 am

    Well, Speedy thinks she’s a dog anyway. Angel and her were best buds taking numerous naps together in the sunshine. I know it sounds kind of weird, doesn’t it?

    Reply

  23. Posted by ChrisND on July 28, 2008 at 1:40 am

    That’s a great video…our pets can be funny to us. Our husky thinks it is her job to make the birds behave. Ofter she leaves them alone, but if they get load or into a bird scuffle…she runs over to break it up. Now the squirrels at the feeder are a different story.

    Reply

  24. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 28, 2008 at 1:44 am

    Cinj, I think that is kinda sweet actually. I had a little terrier mix that we lost last fall that used to sleep in the same bed with us and our cat. Spaz just hasn’t warmed up to the cat yet. We’ve only had her about 6 mos. now.

    That’s too funny Chris. I think that is exactly what Spaz is doing too. She likes to make them scatter. 🙂

    Reply

  25. Posted by Anna on July 28, 2008 at 6:00 am

    Glad you shared that video, I got a good laugh out of it.

    Reply

  26. Posted by Aiyana on July 28, 2008 at 7:57 am

    Spaz can really jump! What a humerous video.
    Aiyana

    Reply

  27. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 28, 2008 at 11:17 am

    Your welcome Anna. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

    You would think she had springs on her feet Aiyana. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

    Reply

  28. Posted by Kathleen on July 28, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    I thought it was fun to watch my dog chase birds around too until he killed three out of the four baby robins that plopped out of their nest this year. The Mother robin was dive bombing him trying to save her babies when I came around the corner too late to save all but one. I felt like dive bombing him too. 😦 He is now not allowed to run in and out of his doggie door at will during baby bird season.

    Reply

  29. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 28, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    That is horrifying Kathleen. Spaz has never actually caught anything. I don’t blame you for locking the doggie door though. That is heartbreaking, I’m sorry.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

