Whimsical Garden Art

I was asked by Deb over at Aunt Debbis Garden to post and display some pictures of some silly or whimsical garden art in my garden. I donโ€™t have anything as cute as her Senor Werm. For more whimsy in other gardens please go visit Deb’s plot.

Meet Mr. Turtle. He used to live in my grandmother-in-law’s water garden in Ohio. I inherited Mr. Turtle when she sold her house a several years ago and moved into an apartment. He has been lurking around my garden ever since. I know his shell looks a little ragged but it gives him his own unique charm. He actually can be used as a water sprayer, see the opening in his mouth.

What about this for whimsy? A bird drinking from a miniature flower-shaped birdbath on my birdbath. Is this whimsical? I think so. This has been a part of my garden for a few years too. It was given as a Mother’s Day gift to me from my boys and my hubby.

And just so Mr. Turtle didn’t get too lonely in my garden, my hubby’s grandmother gave me his friend. Her shell is in better condition and she’s smaller, but she has the same open mouth expression just waiting to spray water on you. Hope you enjoyed my whimsical garden art. Have a nice weekend!

19 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Rose on July 26, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    Mr. Turtle(s) looks as though he’s ready to warn anyone who gets too close to him:) I don’t have much whimsy in my garden, either. Maybe I need to lighten up a little:)
    Enjoyed your lovely yellows from yesterday!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mary Ann Archibald on July 26, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    Very nice!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Aunt Debbi/kurts mom on July 26, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    Thanks for playing. The turtles are darling.

    Reply

  4. Posted by OhioMom on July 26, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    The turtles are cute, love the birdbath too.

    Reply

  5. Posted by tina on July 26, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    Lots of character on that turtle’s shell! Love them both and the birdbath. All the more special since you got them from family members.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Meadowview Thymes on July 26, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    Ohhhh, I LOVE whimsy in the garden! The turtles are perfect, as is the birdbath. For a good look at whimsy, visit Cindee’s garden. She has great “stuff!”
    (http://cindeesgarden.blogspot.com)
    Have a great weekend!

    Linda

    Reply

  7. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 26, 2008 at 6:23 pm

    Thank you Rose. They do look alittle watchful, don’t they? lol I’m glad you enjoyed my sunshine on a cloudy day post yesterday. I guess every garden needs a bit of whimsy, otherwise we are taking ourselves too seriously. lol

    Thank you Mary Ann. I’m glad you enjoyed my whimsical garden art.

    Your welcome Deb. Glad I could play along this time. I’m happy you enjoyed my turtles.

    Thanks Mom. They are my only whimsy in my garden. Maybe I need to add more?

    That’s how I feel Tina. They are special to me for sentimental reasons. He does have some character, doesn’t he? lol

    Thanks Linda. I’m glad you enjoyed the turtles and the birdbath. I will go check her blog out too. Hope you have a nice weekend too! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  8. Posted by cindee on July 26, 2008 at 6:52 pm

    Hi, Thanks for stopping by and leaving comments for me on my blog(-: I appreciate your kind words. I had to come visit you! I love your whimscal garden art!! The turtles are great!!!! I also love the bird bath.
    I added you to my blog roll. I will be back again soon!!!

    Reply

  9. Posted by Jean on July 26, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    Great garden art. You know I love it! Jean

    Reply

  10. Posted by Cinj on July 26, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    Very cute. I think garden creatures need some character! I could point out all of the character on my pieces too, but if Cheesehead knew everything wrong with my garden art pieces he’d make me throw more away. I had to trash 5 of them when we moved. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Reply

  11. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 26, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    Thanks Cindee. I really enjoyed your blog, it’s fantastic. Thanks for adding me to your blogroll. You are on mine already! I also faved you in Blotanical. Look forward to reading future posts.

    Thank you Jean, I’m glad you enjoyed the turtles and the “bird” bath. ๐Ÿ™‚

    That’s a shame Cinj. One woman’s trash is another’s treasure. I like character too, it adds history to a piece. I won’t tell Cheesehead, ok? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  12. Posted by Susie on July 26, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    P.G. I love the turtle with the ragged shell best. Adds lots of character to the garden. I went thru a phase of frogs but now like fairies and cherubs.

    Reply

  13. Posted by Brenda Kula on July 26, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    That turtle would look great spitting water into a garden pond!
    Brenda

    Reply

  14. Posted by Titania on July 26, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    I like whimsical garden objects, I think it makes a garden personel and it is espescially nice if they are small presents from friends and family.

    Reply

  15. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 27, 2008 at 12:30 am

    Thanks Susie. He’s my favorite too, he has history with his discolored shell. I guess everyone has alittle whimsy in their garden. Fairies are very whimsical…they seem to be very popular at the moment.

    That’s what my hubby keeps saying Brenda. I need a pond first. lol Do you think he has gotten the hint yet? ๐Ÿ™‚

    I agree Titania, these have sentimental value to my family. That’s probably why I’ve allowed them to hang out in my garden so long.

    Reply

  16. Posted by beckie on July 27, 2008 at 3:05 am

    Whimsy in a garden is wonderful. That little bit of ‘unexpected’ that can make you smile. Your turtles are great and to have them passed down to you makes them more delightful. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  17. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 27, 2008 at 9:46 am

    Thank you Becky. I’m glad you enjoyed my turtles. Whimsy is great in the garden, sometimes we take ourselves too seriously. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  18. Posted by Cindy at Rosehaven Cottage on July 28, 2008 at 2:33 am

    Oh your garden art is darling. And it most definitely classifies as whimsical. I really like the birdbath with its lovely patina.

    Cindy at Rosehaven Cottage

    Reply

  19. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 28, 2008 at 5:55 pm

    Thank you Cindy. I like the patina on the birdbath as well. I’m glad you enjoyed my whimsy in the garden. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

