Bits of sunshine on a cloudy day…



Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but
to add color to my sunset sky. ~Rabindranath Tagore

17 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Zoรซ on July 25, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    Glorious yellows, I particularly like the Hemerocallis, which one is it?

    Reply

  2. Posted by tina on July 25, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    Lots of sunshine. Much appreciated on a rainy day in Tennessee.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Aunt Debbi/kurts mom on July 25, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    How pretty. I am trying to grow my yellow zinnias.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Rosehaven Cottage on July 25, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    The “sea” of rudbeckia is just stunning! I love the photo. It’s true… your yellow blooms are little spots of sunshine.

    Cindy at Rosehaven Cottage

    Reply

  5. Posted by Jean on July 25, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    Lovin’ the yellow!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Anna on July 25, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    Looks happy and uplifting. Everyone needs lots of yellow in the garden.

    Reply

  7. Posted by OhioMom on July 25, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    Beautiful blooms ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  8. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 25, 2008 at 9:30 pm

    Thank you Zoe. I think that daylilly is called “Happy Returns”. Suits it, doesn’t it?

    Your welcome Tina, we were have a cloudy morning and I thought how cheerful these blooms made it.

    I love yellow Deb. Zinnias, dahlias etc…It’s a happy color.

    Thank you Cindy. It does look like a sea of Rubeckia. I’m glad you enjoyed the sunshine.

    I’m glad you are lovin the yellow Jean. I aim to please. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    That’s how I feel Anna. It lifts the spirit to see such happy flowers.

    Thanks Mom. I hope you enjoyed my bit of sunshine on a cloudy day.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Meadowview Thymes on July 25, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    Love all the yellows! Of course, yellow is my favovorite color in the garden, with some red mixed in. Your rudbeckia’s are really pretty (and THEY are my favorite flower!) and I love your marigolds! We have such problems with spider mites here on our marigolds.
    Have a great gardening weekend!

    Reply

  10. Posted by Susie on July 25, 2008 at 11:45 pm

    What beautiful yellows! They all look so happy.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Cindy on July 26, 2008 at 12:55 am

    It seems I always get to your blog after you already have 10+ comments! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I love the black-eyed susans. They are one of my all time favorites. I really enjoyed the theme this post followed today. Very nice. It would make a nice slide show for a screen saver!

    Reply

  12. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 26, 2008 at 1:14 am

    I know you love Rudbeckias Linda, they are the header for your blog. ๐Ÿ™‚ They are a great summer flower. Yellow and Red is a great combo in the garden. I haven’t seen any spider mites on the marigolds but they can be a problem. I’m glad you enjoyed my little bit of sunshine. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks Susie. They are cheerful on a cloudy day.

    LOL Cindy, better late than never. I’m glad you enjoyed my post today. It would be a nice screensaver, great idea!

    Reply

  13. Posted by Jan on July 27, 2008 at 7:40 am

    I just love yellow in the garden. It is so cheery and bright esp. in the winter which is why I always plant yellow pansies and snapdragons in the fall.

    Jan
    Always Growing

    Reply

  14. Posted by Karen Hall on July 27, 2008 at 9:45 am

    Fabulous
    They really are lovely – I often hesitate about using yellow – but the rudbeckias look particularly stunning en mass like that
    Regards
    Karen
    An Artists Garden

    Reply

  15. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 27, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    Thanks for visiting Jan. Yellow is a happy color in the garden. It really contrasts well with purples too.

    I’m glad you enjoyed the bits of sunshine Karen. I think yellow is a wonderful complement to many colors in the garden, but I guess it could be overused.

    Reply

  16. Posted by Mr. McGregor's Daughter on July 28, 2008 at 12:25 am

    ‘Happy Returns’ is my favorite yellow Daylily. Your photos are a jolt of energy!

    Reply

  17. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 28, 2008 at 1:47 am

    Thanks MMD. I like it because it reblooms again later in the summer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

