As the season progresses…

and things reach their peak and come into their own, so does my new garden bed continue to become more interesting. I created this bed over two months ago. Normally, you would create a new garden bed in the spring or fall, but I have to say this bed is coming along nicely. It’s been over a month since I posted pictures of it so here is an update of the new additions thus far:

The Angelonia, Salvia and Coreopsis are still blooming non-stop. The Blackeyed Susans that I planted last month have just started to bloom in the past week. Near the fence you can see the Purple Fountain Grass has gotten fuller and is making beautiful purple plumes. I bought some perennial Candytuff and planted them in front of the Angelonia as a permanent groundcover. This variety is called “Snowflake” which is an appropriate description of the little white flowers. I also have placed a few native plants here that I purchased at the Native Plant Sale last month. On the shed wall you can see the Clematis are climbing the trellis pretty quickly. There are two varieties planted, “Snow Queen” which is a white and “Dr Ruppel” which is a deep pink w/magenta stripes on the petals. “Dr Ruppel” was planted in another garden and I dug it up and moved it over here because it was over a year old and not growing. Since I moved it, it has new growth and seems healthier. “Snow Queen” has several buds as you will see in the next photo.

Here is the largest of the buds on “Snow Queen”. This one should open soon. It will be nice to have some Clematis that bloom later in the season in the garden. My “Nelly Moser” and “Niobe” bloom in May. I think I will paint the shed walls a different color so that the blooms stand out more. White on white won’t be much of a contrast. At least this vertical interest will disguise the plant paneling of the shed which acts as a backdrop to the new garden.

Another angle of the new bed is where my found object turned trellis is placed. I sowed Blackeyed Susan vine seeds near each leg. You can see on the left of the trellis the small vines starting to twine up the structure. (Spaz, my little terrier mix, decided she needed to be in the shot too, lol) To the right you can see the Hydrangea Forever & Ever “Red” with a single bloom.

A closeup of “Blackeyed Susan” vine on my new trellis (old tv antennae). They have made progress in their growth, but I was hoping they would of been covering the structure by now and possibly blooming. The season isn’t over yet, so we’ll see. We had rain all yesterday afternoon and night so maybe that will help. I might give them a dose of fertilizer today too.

Technically this isn’t a new addition to the garden, but when the phone company decided to add dsl lines to the neighborhood last fall they dug through my flower bed to do it. (I wasn’t happy about that) In the process, they killed 3 large hostas and a couple of lirope (which I don’t miss), so I had to replant this bed this past spring. I planted three Hostas (name unknown) and two Heucera “Purple Palace” near the front edge. The”Nikko Blue” Hydrangea to the far right was planted last fall. Oh, the hummingbird feeder is a new addition this year too. I’ve seen one or two buzzing around it so far, but unfortunately I haven’t gotten any pictures yet.

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Meadowview Thymes on July 24, 2008 at 7:06 pm

    Love your new bed. I looked at pictures on the original post–it’s come a long way! I have candytuff too, but it hasn’t bloomed since May. Is yours still blooming?

    Reply

  2. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 24, 2008 at 10:14 pm

    Thanks Linda. It has really grown, hasn’t it? Most of it is perennials except for the Blackeyed Susan Vine and the Angelonia. I like a couple of annuals for some continuous color. The one I just planted isn’t blooming. I have some elsewhere that blooms from April-May. Now this “Snowflake is suppose to bloom throughout the season on and off. We’ll see, I’ll let you know.

    Reply

  3. Posted by OhioMom on July 24, 2008 at 10:23 pm

    WOW … big progress on the new bed, I like 🙂 What about a deep moss green for the garden shed ?

    Reply

  4. Posted by Aunt Debbi/kurts mom on July 24, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    Very nice. You have used some of my favorite plants.

    Reply

  5. Posted by tina on July 24, 2008 at 11:23 pm

    Looks great! I don’t think I’d fertilize that susan vine. They have a way of taking over pretty quickly, maybe it just needs a bit more time.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 25, 2008 at 12:13 am

    Mom -That’s what I suggested to my hubby, but he wants to go with the color of the siding (which is a yellowish-tan color) I think green which is my house trim color would look fantastic as a backdrop.

    Thanks Deb. I’m happy with what I picked out too. Everything is coming together, in a couple of years this bed will be established and unrecognizable from today.

    Thanks for the warning Tina. I don’t want it to take over, not after the morning glory fiasco a few years back. I’ll be patient with it since I didn’t sow the seed until pretty late in the season.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Susie on July 25, 2008 at 12:51 am

    Your new bed is filling in nicely and looking great! I’m glad you have had some rain. There’s been some rain in the area but not at my house. Plus it’s suppose to be 100 degrees tomorrow. Some of my plants are looking pretty ragged.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 25, 2008 at 2:55 am

    Thanks Susie, I’m pleased with the progress so far. Yeah we desperately needed the rain too, my plants were starting to look pretty worn out. We had a cooler day today because of the rain yesterday. It was only about 85 which is cool for this time of the year. It’s only 71 right now. I love cooler evenings.

    Reply

  9. Posted by beckie on July 25, 2008 at 6:06 am

    I’d been wodering how the new ‘trellis’ was working out. The blackeyed susan vine is doing well and will soom be to the top. Next year it you want a really fast climber try the moon plant. Mine has grown to the top of the lightning rod and is still vine like crazy! Next year all your perennials will be much fuller and the garden will look like it’s been there for years. Did you plant both clematis on the same trellis? I would think those colors would look wonderful together. Job very well done!

    Reply

  10. Posted by ChrisND on July 25, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    Your new gardens are looking good…it won’t be long before everything really fills in. It’s great that you have those trellises to add some climbing interest…we don’t have any trellises other than for the peas. Now I’m getting an idea to plant something by our chain fence.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 25, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    Thanks Beckie. I might try that Moonflower vine next year. I’ve grown it in the past, the flowers are pretty and fragrant which is a bonus. Yeah, I planted both “Snow Queen” and “Dr Ruppel” together on the one trellis. They should intertwine together and make an interesting pair. Maybe I’ll get an extended bloom time if they bloom at different intervels.

    Thanks Chris. I think next year everything is going to look fuller and the year after that it will fantastic. I love vertical interest in a garden. You should grow a vine on the chainlink, it will disguise it and make it a living fence. Something perennial would be nice like a clematis or annual vines if you don’t want something permanent and fast growing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

