Bloomin’ Tuesday

I know I’ve been going on and on about my Hydrangea “Limelight”. But doesn’t it look fantastic in full bloom surrounded by those burgundy Cannas? The flowers are all fully open now and it is really a showstopper in the garden at the moment. This is the view from my kitchen window.
I bought a few new plants the other day and a couple of them are blooming at the moment. This is Elfin Thyme. It is a low growing groundcover that prefers sun-part shade. I have this planted in my Woodland Garden. (Which gets morning sun) I love the dainty blue flowers.
I know this looks pitiful, but since my Clematis “Niobe” usually blooms in May I was kind of excited to see this one lonely little bloom yesterday. This is a prolific bloomer for me from about late April-May. I wish I could of gotten this in focus, because this picture doesn’t do it justice. The petals are a deep garnet red with a magenta stripe down the center. The flowers are large. This Daylilly has been blooming for over a month now, and there are still a few buds left to open. When I went to the Botanical Gardens last week they had this blooming so now I know the name again. It’s name is “Colorful Summer”. The name is fitting, don’t you think?


I have lots more blooming that has been blooming on and off for the past couple of weeks. What’s blooming in your garden at the moment? For more Bloomin’ Tuesday posts be sure to visit Ms Green Thumb.

19 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Aiyana on July 22, 2008 at 7:47 am

    It does look great next to the Canna lillies. I didn’t realize daylillies lasted that long. I thought they bloomed once and that was it, but I guess the name refers to the individual flowers.
    Aiyana

    Reply

  2. Posted by tina on July 22, 2008 at 11:14 am

    Love those cannas mixed in with your beautiful limelight!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jean on July 22, 2008 at 11:58 am

    Love the limelight hydrangea! You can go on about it all you want. LOL I have never seen Elfin Thyme but I must find some! I would love one in my woodland area too. The clematis must be so striking when in full bloom. Love it! Great Bloomin’ Tuesday post. Jean

    Reply

  4. Posted by Ro on July 22, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    Now that I am here….trying to get the hang of Blotanical…baby steps! baby steps!

    Right now about the only thing that’s blooming are my zucchinis. The male flowers don’t stand a chance — they see me coming with the scissors and think, “Oh no! She’s going to make more ricotta stuffed flowers again!”

    Reply

  5. Posted by Deborah on July 22, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    I love hydrangea, but have yet to try growing them. I know they do well here, because I see them in many yards…and they are huge, so maybe next year.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Suzanne on July 22, 2008 at 12:57 pm

    I don’t think I could ever see enough of your Limelight Hydrangea. They are so beautiful. Love the dainty little flowers on the Elfin Thyme and the vibrant color of your clematis!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Dee on July 22, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    I love the Hydrangea- they are one of my favorite plants! They look like fluffy snow balls!

    Reply

  8. Posted by garden girl on July 22, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    Beautiful Tuesday blooms! I love your combination of hydrangea and canna. They look beautiful together.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Deb on July 22, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    Beautiful bloomin’ tuesday post.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Anne Fannie on July 22, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    I love your garden blooms! Especially the Hydrangea and canna lilies!

    Reply

  11. Posted by OhioMom on July 22, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    I have always loved blue hydrangeas, but I must say your “limelight” has me rethinking that πŸ™‚

    Reply

  12. Posted by Northern Shade on July 22, 2008 at 5:14 pm

    I like the Hydrangea ‘Limelight’. The blooms are held up nicely. I recently planted a Hydrangea ‘Little Lamb’, which is supposed to hold its blooms more upright than the pg hydrangea.

    Reply

  13. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 22, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    Thanks Aiyana. These “Colorful Summer” Daylillies bloom for a long time and every year they produce more and more buds.

    Thanks Tina, I like the contrast too! πŸ™‚

    Thank you Jean. I’m glad you enjoyed the post and the Limelight and Elfin Thyme.

    Thanks for visiting Ro. Your ricotta stuffed blossoms sounds delicious!

    I think you would fall in love with them Deborah. They are addicting! πŸ™‚

    Thanks Suzanne. I think the Limelight has been a real favorite with everyone.

    I love them too Dee. The blooms are so huge and gorgeous.

    Thanks Gardengirl. I’m glad you enjoyed the post and the blooms.

    Thank you for visiting Deb. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

    Anne Fannie I think the Hydrangea and Canna combination was a great hit with everyone. Thanks for visiting!

    I love the blue hydrangea blooms too Mom, but Limelight is a real diva in the garden. I love it!

    Thanks NS. I hope to see pics of your Hydrangea “Little Lamb” soon.

    Reply

  14. Posted by Balisha on July 22, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    Do you dry any of your hydrangeas? They make such nice fall bouquets.I thought that I might just plant a couple and wondered which ones dry the best…or are they pretty much the same?

    Reply

  15. Posted by Meadowview Thymes on July 22, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    Love the Elfin Thyme. Let me know how it does in part shade. I have a little ground cover called Little Star Creeper (smaller flowers than blue star). It has been blooming since spring–they are the cutest little flowers!

    Reply

  16. Posted by Susie on July 23, 2008 at 12:08 am

    That hydrangea is so pretty! What a great view to have from your kitchen window. Love that lily too. Gorgeous color.

    Reply

  17. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 23, 2008 at 1:18 am

    Balisha, I think the mopheads are best for drying. I’ve let the Limelight blooms dry on the shrub during the fall and they look pretty interesting.

    Linda, I will keep you in the loop how the Elfin Thyme does in part shade. It gets morning sun so I think it should do okay. I love tiny blooms especially when there is a mass of them.

    Susie, I love my view from my kitchen window. I could stand there for hours. That daylilly is vibrant in the morning sunlight but almost fades in bright light.

    Reply

  18. Posted by Anna on July 23, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    I love Limelight too–as well as, Little Lamb and Pinky Winky. I’m testing a new Lacecap called Let’s Dance. I’ve seen a row of Limelights with about 30 of them together. It was stunning. They look beautiful as the colors change to pinkish burgandy.

    Reply

  19. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 23, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    Limelight is a keeper in my books Anna. I’ve never seen Little Lamb or Pinky Winky, but I’m always keeping an eye out for more hydrangeas to add to my collection. They are addictive once you get one. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

