Fantastic Foliage

While I was visiting the Botanical Garden last week I saw some fantastic greenery. I’m a big fan of foliage in the garden. As some of you may know, Linda over at Meadowview Thymes did a great post yesterday titled “It’s not easy being green”. So here is my tribute to the wonderful world of texture, pattern and the color green in all its various shades. I could make an entire garden with plants like this and never miss the blooms at all.

Elephant’s Ears Alocasia “Hilo Beauty”

Fox Tongue Melastoma

Eulalia Grass Miscanthus sinensis “Gold Bar”

Knotweed “Painters Palette” (native plant to Virginia)

Yellow Root (native plant to Virginia)

18 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by tina on July 20, 2008 at 12:55 pm

    Love it all, but that miscanthus is so cool!

    Reply

  2. Posted by OhioMom on July 20, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    I am with Tina on that miscanthus, really enjoyed the botanical garden tour, thanks so much for sharing 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by garden girl on July 20, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    Beautiful, beautiful textures and colors. Gardening in the shade I’ve come to appreciate the beauty of foliage for its own sake.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Anna on July 20, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    I love the combinations of greens in a garden. It’s even more interesting when they have different textures and veining. Thanks for sharing cause I really enjoyed it.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Aunt Debbi/kurts mom on July 20, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    I’m lovin the grass as well.

    Reply

  6. Posted by beckie on July 20, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    You are so right about being able to have a garden with just green. The different hues and textures are so appealing and look so lush. It would be wonderful place to sit and enjoy.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 20, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    I have to agree with you about the grass Tina. It is pretty cool looking with it’s striped effect.

    Your welcome Mom. I think I’ve shown you everything I can of the Botanical Gardens. The grass is pretty special.

    Gardening in the shade isn’t always easy Gardengirl. But with all the fantastic foliage combinations you can achieve, it can be pretty special.

    You are very welcome Anna. I’m glad you have enjoyed my Botanical Garden tour.

    I think the grass was a hit Deb. lol

    That is exactly what I like about foliage and combining textures Beckie. It is so soothing and calming.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Meadowview Thymes on July 20, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    I’m going with the others–I LOVE the miscanthus grass!! Isn’t it funny–I never took the time to notice all the texture and contrast that all of the greens add to our gardens. Yea green!!
    Linda

    Reply

  9. Posted by Susie on July 20, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    I love all that variegated foliage, especially that Knotweed; how pretty.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 20, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    Yea Green, Linda!! The miscanthus grass is definitely the winner! lol Once you get past the gorgeous blooms you start to see the other great attributes that alot of plants have, all that gorgeous green!

    I like the knotweed too Susie. Variagated foliage is so interesting to look at.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Steve on July 21, 2008 at 1:43 am

    I am often accused of being overboard in my love for planting Miscanthus. I probably am, lol, but seeing that Chinensis there, reminds me of why!

    Keep up the good work! Love it here.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 21, 2008 at 2:23 am

    Thank you Steve. Miscanthus does have a bad rep, but this one sure looks like it would worth a second chance. Thanks for visiting again.

    Reply

  13. Posted by titania on July 21, 2008 at 3:02 am

    I love leaves and grasses and I agree they are just as attractive as flowers. Your “greenery” is very beautiful! One could make a whole garden with them and not even miss the flowers. (perhaps a little!)

    Reply

  14. Posted by Love My Cottage Garden on July 21, 2008 at 9:41 am

    I love the Eulalia Grass Miscanthus sinensis “Gold Bar” the best. It has such interesting depth and grace.

    Reply

  15. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 21, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    Thank you Titania. Don’t get me wrong, I love blooms just as much as the next gardener. But it is nice to have something pretty to look at after the blooms are spent or before they bloom.

    I think everyone loved the Eulalia Grass, LMCG. lol It is a dramatic color and would look great next to a burgundy or purple foliage or flower.

    Reply

  16. Posted by I likE plants! on July 21, 2008 at 11:28 pm

    I love this post! What beautiful shades of green!!!

    ~=)

    Reply

  17. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 22, 2008 at 12:31 am

    Thanks ILP. I’m glad you enjoyed the various shades of green. 🙂

    Reply

  18. Posted by MrBrownThumb on July 24, 2008 at 12:52 am

    That’s one cool looking EE plant. Thanks for sharing the pics.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

