Visiting our local Botanical Gardens…

Our local Botanical Garden is located in Norfolk. They have different types of gardens displayed as well as a variety of plants. What a treat to see plants in person that I don’t have growing in my own yard. There was so much to see that I took more pictures that I could possibly put in one post. So I will have various things to share with you over the next couple of days.

The first garden we visited was the Perennial Garden. Some of the plants they had growing there were in my own garden at home such as Purple Coneflowers, Blackeyed Susans etc. The beds were well groomed and maintained. Here is a small area of the Perennial Garden.
Another garden that I enjoyed was the Butterfly Garden. They had a chart at the entrance showing all the different types of butterflies that you would probably see in the garden as well as some of the plants that attracted butterflies. The bees seemed pretty happy buzzing around too.The Rose Garden was spectacular! It was so large I couldn’t even get a picture of the entire area in one shot. They must of had at least a thousand different roses. It smelled heavenly.
They did a green roof on this building made of sedums. This type of roof uses a waterproof membrane that covers a copper sheetl. They place planting boxes filled with lightweight soil on top of the membrane. This type of roof reduces energy use and improves air quality as well as being attractive. They are using these on some commercial buildings now. Isn’t this cool?

Of course they also had a dessert garden for display. There were a variety of cactus and other plants that would grow in an arid region. It felt like we had stepped into a dessert in Arizona.

The oriental garden was very formal and minimal in its design. This is where I took the picture of the Lotus that I posted for Garden Bloggers Bloom Day yesterday. That was the only flower in the entire garden. Everything was green and sculptured and simple.
They even had a Colonial Garden. The path is made of shells and the beds are filled with plants that would of grown in the early colonial days. I love the white picket fence that surrounds it.

For families with small children they added a children’s garden this year. Some of the features were this tree house with a thatch roof, water fountains the kids could play in, areas set up where you could dig in the dirt, a bug wall and a playhouse. We walked through it and I wish my boys were young again. They would of loved something like that.
Right next to the Children’s Garden was a native plants and vegetable garden. Isn’t the scarecrow fun? They had corn, tomatoes, and even grapevines growing in this area.
Last but not least was the meadow garden. It was filled with all kinds of wildflowers. I bet this garden is a sight to see in the spring when everything is coming into bloom. There are quite a few blooms like the Stokes Aster I posted about yesterday and you can see alot of the Queen Anne’s Lace spattered about in the meadow. I hope you enjoyed a brief tour of my local Botanical Garden. If you have one in your area you should visit. It is an educational experience.
18 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by tina on July 16, 2008 at 11:26 am

    I love that green roof and the prickly pear! It all looks great. What a good way to get ideas.

    Reply

  2. Posted by OhioMom on July 16, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    What a wonderful way to spend the day .. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Cindy on July 16, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    I love botanical gardens. They’re a great way to get new ideas. That green roof is great! And I bet the rose garden would’ve made me green with envy.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 16, 2008 at 6:05 pm

    Thanks Tina. I’m glad you were inspired by my visit. I like the green roof too.

    Thanks Mom. We had a wonderful time visiting the gardens.

    Cindy I think you would of been blown away by the rose garden, I know I was. It was so big and the fragrance was almost overwhelming.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Rosehaven Cottage on July 16, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    Simply wonderful! I’m so glad you featured the green roof and explained its construction because I was just wondering about that recently and you answered a lot of my questions.

    Cindy

    Reply

  6. Posted by ricki on July 16, 2008 at 11:52 pm

    I think that tree house could make kids of us all…at any age!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 17, 2008 at 1:00 am

    I’m glad you enjoyed the green roof Cindy. I thought it was pretty special, I had never seen anything like it before. Thank you for visiting.

    The tree house was pretty cool Ricki. My boys would of loved it when they were young. In fact they would of loved every part of the children’s garden. Thanks for visiting.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Meadowview Thymes on July 17, 2008 at 1:10 am

    Wow–this garden must be hugh! I would love to visit it. Our Arboretum is very pretty, but does not have a desert area or a meadow. And all those roses! Oh my–what a wonderful place. Thanks so much for sharing–I’m ready for more of those pictures!

    Reply

  9. Posted by Susie on July 17, 2008 at 1:42 am

    What a beautiful place! I love that sedum covered roof!

    Reply

  10. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 17, 2008 at 2:28 am

    I’m glad you enjoyed the tour Linda. Well it is 155 acres and there are 20 themed gardens. They have a tram and a boat that you can travel through the garden on. It is so beautiful.

    Thank you Susie. The green roof was a hit with just about everyone I think. I’m glad you enjoyed the tour.

    Reply

  11. Posted by ChrisND on July 17, 2008 at 2:44 am

    So many interesting spots…I always like butterfly gardens and we need to get a “green” roof. It is cool…literally, I’ve seen where they use roofs like these in cities because they help reduce the heat island effect from all the asphalt and concrete.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Anna on July 17, 2008 at 6:44 am

    That was a grand show and I can see how it was hard to limit yourself on photos. What a pretty and educational place. I look forward to seeing more.

    It’s good to see you again too.

    Reply

  13. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 17, 2008 at 1:57 pm

    Thank you Chris. The butterfly garden was amazing and I’m glad you liked the green roof. It was a big hit with everyone so far I think. I’ve seen green roofs on tv shows about urban gardening but never up close. It was really a site to behold. I would love one myself, but my husband thought it looked odd. lol He isn’t a gardener but he loves the after effect of all my work. 🙂

    Thank you Anna. I’m glad you enjoyed my brief tour of the Botanical Gardens. It was hard to choose, every picture I took I loved. lol

    Reply

  14. Posted by Balisha on July 17, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    Good morning,
    What a great tour I just took! I loved the sedum roof on the building. Sedums are really favorites of mine. Reminded me of a roof, on a restaurant, in Door County Wisc. I think it has a grass of some type growing on it. There are goats on the roof to keep it trimmed. Sounds like you had a wonderful day.

    Reply

  15. Posted by Niels Plougmann on July 17, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    What a nice botanical garden! The rosegarden however looks extremely boring – the roses look nice – but mass plantings like this is a monoculture like wheat or corn-fields. Causing the same problems and makes spraying necessary. It may be a good way to see roses and they do smell nice, but they are better in mixed plantings.
    The queen of flowers surely deserve better than this!

    Reply

  16. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 17, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    I’m glad you enjoyed the tour Balisha. I can’t imagine a grass roof with goats on it. lol That must of been a sight to see. I enjoy sedums too, they are really great for a drought tolerant garden setting.

    Great point Niels. I bet it does cause them some major disease problems. I wouldn’t necessarily set up roses this way in my garden, but I don’t have that many.
    I’m glad you enjoyed your tour. It is a nice garden overall.

    Reply

  17. Posted by Pomona Belvedere on July 17, 2008 at 10:58 pm

    Botanical gardens are a great place to get ideas–not to mention photos of things you, well, can’t quite grow yourself…

    I had seen a green roof before and photos of a few, but never one of sedums. What a great adaptation of an old custom! (In Europe, they used to grow sedums on roofs (well actually as far as I know they still do); it was supposed to prevent fires. There was symbolic magic involved in this, but also the plants are little water tanks. Hm…food for thought.

    Reply

  18. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 18, 2008 at 2:22 am

    I agree PB. They are wonderfully inspiring for the home gardener. That is an interesting idea they have in Europe, I never thought about that. They are water retaining plants with their fleshy leaves and stems.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

