They grow up so fast

It’s been raining on and off since last Friday so I figured between showers I would get some pictures of my cucumber and cherry tomato plants. As some of you might recall I kind of got a late start this season with my veggies. I planted them on June 24th and boy have they grown since then. Of course this rain isn’t hurting their progress in that department. The two upper pictures in each set are the photos I took on June 24th when I planted them.


Is this some progress or what? In the second picture you can even see a few blossoms peaking through the folliage. They appear to be just male blossoms at the moment. Hopefully soon I will
be getting some female blossoms followed by cucumbers.

Now my cherry tomato has been producing new growth as well. I even have some tiny yellow blossoms forming in several areas of the plant which is exciting. I’m sure I will have to hold out a while longer but at least everything is doing well at the moment.
8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by tina on July 10, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    We finally got rain too! Yahoo! It is good for all plants.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 10, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    That’s good Tina. I am grateful for the rain even if it has been alot, because some places are in a drought right now. It is great for all the plants, they grow faster after it rains then any other time. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  3. Posted by OhioMom on July 10, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    The cucumber plant is pretty, even if I won’t eat the fruit of that vine ๐Ÿ™‚

    My cherry tomatoes are loving all the rain and heat here too, lots of little babies … yipee!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 10, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    It is a pretty plant isn’t it? I can’t wait for the cucumbers to start growing…yum-yum! The rain has been great for the veggies as well as my flowers. Congratulations Mom on the babies! lol ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  5. Posted by ChrisND on July 10, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    Your cucumber vine looks to be coming along quite well. Ours is a little small right now. I’m afraid it might get taken over by the nearby squash plants that are growing quite a bit lately.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 10, 2008 at 9:06 pm

    Thanks Chris. This is my first time growing cucumbers. It looks pretty healthy too, no problems so far. I hope your squash doesn’t win the battle.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Susie on July 10, 2008 at 11:39 pm

    P.G. those plants look so healthy! It’s obvious they love that rain water.

    Right now my cucumber looks sort of pitiful. I don’t think it has enjoyed the mid 90 temps we have had. My cherry tomato doesn’t look as good right now either. I have had lots of trouble with “stink” bugs. I literally have to pick my veggies early and let them ripen on my counter or the bugs will make dinner out of them.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 11, 2008 at 12:56 am

    Thanks Susie, I am pretty proud of my veggies. ๐Ÿ™‚ I thought veggies liked full sun, I guess they aren’t crazy about all the heat though. Yuck on the stink bugs! I haven’t noticed any bugs or fungus on either of my plants yet, but I’ve been keeping a close eye on them. At least tomatoes will ripen on the counter pretty quickly. I wouldn’t share them either with the bugs. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

