Our flying friends…




Butterflies are not insects. . . . They are self-propelled flowers.

Robert A. Heinlein

14 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Karen on July 11, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    “Butterflies are not insects. . . . They are self-propelled flowers.”

    I totally agree!!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by OhioMom on July 11, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    Cool Pics !!

    Reply

  3. Posted by ChrisND on July 11, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    I wish we had some of those flowers-in-flight… glad to see that you have captured some in your garden!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Jean on July 11, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    What wonderful pictures! Love all the butterflies!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 11, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    Thanks Karen. They are just as pretty as the flowers they visit.

    Thanks Mom. I’m glad you liked my butterfly pictures.

    You don’t get butterflies in ND Chris? That’s a shame. They are a beautiful part of nature. I’m glad you enjoyed the pics.

    Thanks Jean, I’m glad you enjoyed my butterfly pics. They are pretty aren’t they? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  6. Posted by Susie on July 11, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    Love those little butterflies as well. Thanks for the pics.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Balisha on July 11, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    Love the butterfly pictures. One of my little kids called them flutterbys. We saw lots of them at the forest preserve the other day especially monarchs.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 11, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    You are welcome Susie. I’m glad you enjoyed them.

    Thanks Balisha. That is so cute “flutterbys”. lol I bet that was a great place to witness these creatures. I love monarchs.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Laurie & Chris on July 12, 2008 at 2:41 am

    great pictures! I love the quote.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 12, 2008 at 3:29 am

    Thanks Laurie. I’m glad you like the pics and the quote. I thought it was a good fit! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  11. Posted by The Garden Faerie on July 12, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    I love butterflies! They are so graceful and gentle, and I love how they flit from flower to flower. Beautiful photos!
    ~ Monica

    Reply

  12. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 13, 2008 at 12:02 am

    Thank you Monica. I love butterflies too, it’s always a good sign when they visit our gardens.

    Reply

  13. Posted by tina on July 13, 2008 at 4:32 am

    Self propelled flowers? Love it! I am out of the net this week but will check as I am able. Don’t want to get too far behind:)

    Reply

  14. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 13, 2008 at 9:26 am

    Thanks Tina. Glad you were able to visit. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

