In the limelight…

Hydrangea “Limelight” is a hardy shrub from Holland. It has bright green flower heads which bloom right up until the autumn when they fade to a pinkish color. This hydrangea looks great with other color plants in the garden. I have it next to my burgundy Cannas and it is a great combination. The flower heads can be brought into the house as either fresh or dried bouquets. Now the best part is the pH of the soil makes no difference for this hydrangea, it stays true to form. In addition, Limelight will take more sunlight than my mop heads and lace caps without getting the afternoon droops. Here are the specifications on a wonderful addition to my garden:
Hardiness: USDA Zone 3 -8
Bloom Time: July – early August (blooms remain thru fall)
Bloom color: lime green, not affected by pH
Foliage color: Dark Green
Fall color: Green with a tinge of yellow. (sometimes purplish)
Size: 6 to 8 feet high and wide. Is easy to keep as a small shrub or train into a tree.
Exposure: Full sun to light shade
Soil: Prefers good, loamy soil. Adaptable to different soil types. Urban tolerant and very difficult to kill.
Pruning: late fall or early spring. Blooms on new wood. Prune off spent flowers. Cutting the plant back from 1/2 to 1/3 will result in larger flowers.
Watering: Medium moisture. Will tolerant drought once established.
Type: Deciduous
Fertilizing: Early spring by applying a slow release fertilizer specialized for trees & shrubs.
Uses: perennial or shrub borders, specimen, screens or hedges.

19 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by tina on July 7, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    One of my favorites. Mine are just now coming into bloom.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 7, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    Thank you for visiting Tina. I enjoyed your post about the kitten and the compost bin. That was a remarkable discovery! ๐Ÿ™‚ Limelight is one of my favorites too!!!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jean on July 7, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    Love the color of this hydrangea. I’m really getting hooked!

    Reply

  4. Posted by tina on July 7, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    I have visited before. I like the name ‘perennial gardener’ as this is one of my specialties too. That is when I am not fishing kittens out of my compost. It WAS quite a find! Scared half out of my wits! I thought it was a rabbit at first and was stunned it was a kitten! I hadn’t seen one of these since my neighbor with her unspayed cats moved. That has been years ago. I love Limelight but the PG and oakleafs have to be my favorites. Do you grow them? PG blooms later than limelight and is a bit tougher. Always good in a drought.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 7, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    It is a stunner Jean. One of my favorite plants at the moment. Isn’t that how it works? You don’t appreciate a plant until it blooms and then you go “Oh yeah”. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  6. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 7, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    I’m sorry Tina that I forgot you had visited before. Yeah, perennials are my first love. That must of been a real shock finding a kitten in the compost, poor little thing. What a cutie pie too. Unfortunately I don’t have any oakleafs or PG. I have Nikko Blue which is a mophead and a lacecap that is blue that might be Tokyo Delight. I also have 3 forever & always hydrangeas which are suppose to be red. They haven’t bloomed yet. I would love to get more types of hydrangeas. They are one of my favorite shrubs.

    Reply

  7. Posted by beckie on July 7, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    PG, don’t thnk I have seen one of these before-or if I did I probably thought it was not fully in bloom. This color with the burgandy cannas sounds to be quite eye catching. Good combo. I don’t have any hydrangeas yet, but am getting enough light shade to think about some next year. Thanks for the show!

    Reply

  8. Posted by Mother Nature on July 7, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    very difficult to kill Sign me up. I love them and I’ve killed a lot of them. One of these days, I’m going to get it right. Limelight is fabulous and paired with burgundy cannas. I’m in love.
    Donna

    Reply

  9. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 7, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    They were a new selection a few years ago. I haven’t seen anyone else with one around here. I mail ordered it. Burgundy and lime green are an excellent combo! You are welcome Beckie. I would get some definitely. They are one of my favorite ornamental shrubs. They are fantastic in the border. They come in all shapes & sizes.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 7, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    LOL Mother Nature! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve lost a couple myself. But when they are happy they are spectacular plants. This is my easiest one. Limelight is a great selection, you can cut it short or let it grown taller, it grows off new wood.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Susie on July 7, 2008 at 11:58 pm

    I wish I could grow hydrangeas. I have absolutely no shade. I don’t think it would like being in hot temps everyday with no break from the heat.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 8, 2008 at 12:04 am

    Hey Susie. You don’t have an area that gets morning sun with afternoon shade? It doesn’t need full shade. Limelight can take more sun than some of the others.

    Reply

  13. Posted by OhioMom on July 8, 2008 at 1:42 am

    Well apparently your Mama is the only one who can’t see the picture ๐Ÿ™‚

    You can email it to me, okay ?

    Reply

  14. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 8, 2008 at 2:01 am

    Sorry Mom, I will email it to you. It is a stunner. Thanks for trying. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  15. Posted by Sunita on July 8, 2008 at 2:36 am

    I love hydrangeas but have had no luck at all with growing them. I’ve tried thinking up all the possible reasons … too much sun, too much shade, too hot, etc. But it doesnt grow well for me either in sun or shade and as for the heat, it grew beautifully for my mom who’s closer to the Equator than I am. Now I’m thinking it could be the soil aspect … too much clay. Lets see.

    Reply

  16. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 8, 2008 at 3:10 am

    I don’t know what to tell you Sunita. My soil is heavy clay. You could try Limelight if you haven’t tried this one before. It’s much easier than the rest. Thank you for visiting. I love the tropical plants that you have pictured on your blog. I don’t think I could grow some of those. Maybe in pots as annuals.

    Reply

  17. Posted by Steve on July 8, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    The Limelight, I have to admit, is a revelation to me. I have never seen it before. How gorgeous. Isn’t it odd how we so admire color, yet you find all sorts of green variations in bloomage that blow one away and attract new fans.

    I used to plant only Cotinus Purpurea’s……Smoke Trees that were copper-colored or deeper purple. But after seeing what the greens did, I have gone pretty wild over them. Green Roses are yet another bizarre choice and I confess, they can grow on one.

    Reply

  18. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 8, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    I agree Steve. I admire foliage so much more than blooms. Sometimes the blooms are just there for such a short time. But the blooms on this Hydrangea last a long time and they are so fantastic. I love the burgundy and purple foliages too. They look great next to this Limelight. Thanks for visiting.

    Reply

  19. Posted by Sarah on August 14, 2008 at 3:28 am

    This is a lovely hydrangea. I planted the same a year ago here in coastal Maine. It’s slowly taking shape and blooming quite nicely now. Mine has not opened with such a green hue as I expected, .. perhaps next year. Regardless this is a nice hydrangea that will provide consistent blooming.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

