Bloomin’ Tuesday

I was invited by Jean at Ms Green “Thumb” Jean to join in Bloomin Tuesday this week. So here is my contribution to celebrate our blooms for the week. I’m starting out with some of my new plants because it’s exciting that the majority of them are blooming at the moment.

Verbena hastata “Blue Vervain”. The flowers are almost irridescent in the sunlight.

My Butterfly Weed has it’s first little orange blossom. So far the plant seems to be doing well. You can see here that the mulch is nice and moist from the rainfall we received. According to the tag this plant likes dry soil and this area is a dry area in my garden minus the rain.

The Balloon Flowers burst open this morning after the downpour last night. I guess the rain woke them up. They were covered in balloon shaped buds for a couple of days and they needed some inspiration to bloom.

The Crepe Myrtle that wouldn’t die is covered in blossoms right now. The branches were somewhat floppy this morning but the blooms were still intact. This is one of my favorite trees in this area. They are planted all over my city and they are stunning when they are massed together.

The Liatris & Butterfly Bush are coexisting in this space. They both attract butterflies and bees.

21 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Suzy on July 1, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    It’s so nice to meet you…I love the blue verbena in the top photo. Verbena is one of my favorites,and I don’t think I’ve ever seen this blue.
    Have a good week !

    Reply

  2. Posted by OhioMom on July 1, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    Beautiful blooms !

    Reply

  3. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 1, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    Thank you Suzy. Nice to meet you too. Thank Jean for inviting me to be part of your Bloomin’ Tuesday posts! I’m glad you enjoyed my blooms. Thanks for visiting! Have a good week.

    Thanks Mom. I’m glad you enjoyed my blooms.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Sugarplum Cottage on July 1, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    Welcome to BT, so glad your joining us. The Ballon flower is wonderful, mine died last year and I didn’t buy another this year. So glad you shared yours. Can’t wait to see what you list next week. Hugs, RoseMarie

    Reply

  5. Posted by Mr. McGregor's Daughter on July 1, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    Your Verbena hastata looks so good. Do you get powdery mildew on it? Mine is always disfigured by it & looks terrible most of the time. It does bloom a long time though. Love the Balloon flowers.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Aiyana on July 1, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    Very nice! Are you going to let the crepe myrtle become a tree, or it it a shrub variety?
    Aiyana

    Reply

  7. Posted by Suzanne on July 1, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    I think my favorite would have to be the Crepe Myrtle, but honestly, that’s tough call! I’m glad you joined us — your photos are a wonderful addition!

    Reply

  8. Posted by The Garden Faerie on July 1, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    Thanks for the tour! I love the verbena and crepe myrtle!!
    ~ Monica

    Reply

  9. Posted by Jean on July 1, 2008 at 5:36 pm

    Thanks for joining in this week. Everyone is welcome! Just remember to sign up each week. I too love the blue verbena. The color of the butterfly weed is really pretty, I have seen crepe myrtle on other blogs and it must be beautiful when it’s blooming all over! Jean

    Reply

  10. Posted by Rosie's Whimsy on July 1, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    Beautiful blooms. Such a pleasant way to spend of of Tuesday ….. walking through other lady’s gardens 🙂

    Reply

  11. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 1, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    Thank you RoseMarie. In the past my Balloon Flowers have came up from the year before as long as we didn’t get too wet of a winter. Thanks for letting me be a part of BT.

    Actually MMD this is my first experience with the Verbena hastata. I got it just this past week at a Native Plant Sale. So far so good. Thanks for visiting.

    Aiyana thank you for visiting. I intend to have the Crepe Myrtle as a tree. I lost the original tree in a hurricane in 2004 and this one came up from the roots.

    Thank you Suzanne for visiting and letting me be a part of your Bloomin Tues. I am partial to the Crepe Myrtle myself. 🙂

    Thanks Monica. I’m glad you enjoyed the tour as well as my plants.

    Jean thank you for inviting me to be a part of this, I’ve enjoyed looking at everyone’s blooms. I will remember to sign up each week. The Verbena & Crepe Myrtle are a hit! Thanks for visiting.

    I’m glad you enjoyed the stroll through my garden Rosie’s Whimsey.

    Reply

  12. Posted by beckie on July 1, 2008 at 7:04 pm

    Oh lucky you to have a bloom on your butterfly plant. I shouldn’t complain as 4 that I started from seed and then transplanted into my gardens are growing. I lost to purchased ones last year and almost gave up on them. Keeping my fingers crossed they survive the winter. I love the Crepe Myrtle and wish we could grow it here. What a good idea to plant the Liatris under the Butterfly Bush. They really look great together. I may have to move my Liatris under my bush.

    Reply

  13. Posted by Deborah on July 1, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    You have a beautiful garden!

    Reply

  14. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 1, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    Becky I was pretty excited to have that single bloom on my Butterfly Weed! I will cross my fingers & toes for yours. 🙂 Yeah unfortunately you can only grow a Crepe Myrtle in zone 6 and 7 I think. I might be wrong though. Thank you, I like the Liatris & Butterfly Bush combo. It worked out nicely.

    Deborah thank you visiting and the nice complement. I hope you enjoyed your visit to my garden.

    Reply

  15. Posted by Mother Nature on July 1, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    I really like the balloon flowers. They are perennial here and reseeded a little also this year. Good Bloomin’ Tuesday post.

    Reply

  16. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 1, 2008 at 8:54 pm

    Thank you Mother Nature. The balloon flowers are perennials here too.

    Reply

  17. Posted by Eve on July 1, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    Okay, first off, I love Reba….and Strawberry Wine…you have excellent taste in music…I wonder if this music will play long enough for me to hop on my exercise bike and do five mintues?

    I almost tagged you until I traced it back and saw that you were the party of the firt part? LOL

    Reply

  18. Posted by Laurie & Chris on July 1, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    Great pictures for blooming tuesday. I will be doing your tag soon.

    Reply

  19. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 2, 2008 at 1:28 am

    Eve, I’m glad you like my music selections. I think it will keep on playing as long as the blog page is open. On the tag part, lol

    Laurie & Chris – Thanks for letting me a part of your bloom day. Look forward to seeing your tag. Thanks for visiting.

    Reply

  20. Posted by Philip Bewley on July 3, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    The liatris and butterfly bush is a great combo. I never see crepe mrytle here. I wonder how it would do?
    best,
    Philip

    Reply

  21. Posted by Perennial Gardener on July 3, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    Thanks Phillip. What zone do you live in? I think it is only hardy in zones 6-9. I live in zone 7. They come in a variety of colors.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

