Grandma’s Garden Revisited

Earlier this month I blogged about my grandma’s garden. Just to refresh your memory or for the new visitors to my blog, my grandparents have lived with us for three years now. After they moved in we created a large flower bed for my grandmother who is an avid gardener just like me. The bed is 30 feet long and 41/2 feet deep. She has plenty of room to tinker the day away. My grandparents raised me so I grew up watching grandma plant her flower borders and her vegetable garden. In fact, she inspired my own passion for digging in the dirt at a early age. This is my tribute to my gardening mentor…

The Echinacea “Purple Coneflower” are blooming their hearts out. You can also see some marigolds, petunias and gerber daisies in the foreground. Her birdhouse looks at home hiding amongst the blooms. There is also some Rubeckia “Blackeyed Susans” to the left in bud.
These daisies were much taller last year, but their stunted growth hasn’t deterred the flowers. When they first open the petals are a pale yellow. I don’t know the name of this particular plant. My grandma loves to plant the annuals Pelargonium “Hybrid Geraniums” each year. Sometimes she pots them up to put on her deck, but this year she planted them in her garden. They look sweet in this curved area of the border. She also has some annual Verbena creeping between the stepping stones (to the right of the picture).
These Rubeckia “Blackeyed Susans” are just starting to open. She has the first blooms of the year. I can’t imagine a summer garden without Blackeyed Susans. They are a cheerful flower.
Her mass of Shasta Daisies is enormous this year. In fact, she has another mass like this in the garden. I think we will be dividing the daisies this fall. This is her favorite flower next to roses.

15 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by ChrisND on June 29, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    It’s a lovely garden. I think it’s interesting how many of us are influenced by memories with our grandparents. Some my happiest childhood memories are gardening with grandma! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mother Nature on June 29, 2008 at 5:05 pm

    This is the sweetest grandmother and granddaugter love story.

    Reply

  3. Posted by OhioMom on June 29, 2008 at 5:05 pm

    Your grandma’s flowers are lovely, what a wonderful tribute to an amazing and generous woman.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Becky on June 29, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    What a beautiful garden! I wasn’t overally impressed with my shasta daisies last year, but your grandmother’s have convinced me to give them another chance!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 29, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    Thank you Chris. I’m glad you were able to relive those happy childhood memories with your own gardening grandma.

    I’m glad you enjoyed my tribute Mother Nature.

    Thank you Ohiomom. I’m glad you liked my tribute and enjoyed the pretty blooms too.

    Thanks Becky. I have to admit, my grandma’s shasta daisies are pretty amazing. Mine have look so gorgeous.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 29, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    Becky I meant never looked so gorgeous. lol

    Reply

  7. Posted by Meadowview Thymes on June 30, 2008 at 12:04 am

    All my favorite flowers! What a special garden for a special person. This entire post was so heartwarming. Thanks for sharing!

    Linda

    Reply

  8. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 30, 2008 at 1:08 am

    Thank you Linda. I’m glad you enjoyed the post.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Susie on June 30, 2008 at 2:25 am

    I love your grandma’s garden. You are so fortunate to have your grandparents living with you. I’m sure you cherish every moment. My grandparents have been gone many years and I still miss them terribly. They were avid gardeners themselves. They always had a vegetable garden, a very large strawberry patch and flower beds galore.

    I’m sure like you, this is where my love of gardening comes from.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 30, 2008 at 2:37 am

    Thank you Susie. I do feel fortunate even though it isn’t always easy with 6 people living under one roof. I know this is where my passion for gardening came from. My grandparents always had a vegetable garden when I was growing up too.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Jean on June 30, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    What a wonderful garden and what a great way to pay tribute to your Grandma. She has given you a great gift by teaching you gardening.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 30, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    Thank you Jean. I’m glad you enjoyed my grandma’s garden. I am grateful that she passed her love for gardening down to me. I’ve tried to get my boys interested, but so far no go. 🙂

    Reply

  13. Posted by Mosaic*Queen on June 30, 2008 at 3:24 pm

    Love Grandma’s Garden!!!!
    No one in my family planted gardens, so I’m not sure where I get it from, but I’m just glad I have it!! 🙂
    Michelle

    Reply

  14. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 30, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    Thank you Michelle! Sometimes we just gravitate towards a natural interest.

    Reply

  15. Your Grandma’s garden is absolutely beautiful. How lucky your are to have your Grandparents and especially to share the garden interest. I have enjoyed this so much. Now to look at other places you have – had to go straight to Grandma’s Garden first. Probably because we all think so much of our Grandparents!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

