I couldn’t resist

I went to our local home improvement store yesterday and I couldn’t resist looking at the perennials in the garden center. They had some healthy looking specimens and the prices were great! So then I couldn’t resist buying a few. Well, I do need some more plants for my new garden bed. I know June isn’t the best time of the year to get new perennials established in the garden. But these are old standbys that will do great I think. Here’s what I bought: “Sentimental Blue” Balloon Flower Platycodon grandiflorus, Butterfly Weed Asclepias tuberosa, and “Goldsturm” Black Eyed Susan Rubeckia fulgida. These plants handle our hot summers well and once they are established will deal with the lack of rain as well.

Here is a picture after I planted them last evening. See I waited until the sun was somewhat low in the sky and gave them all a healthy drink of water from the rain barrels (of course). I think they will be happy in my new yellow & purple garden. Notice there are still some bare spots in this garden. Some of this will be taken up by the plants once they have time to really fill out. Some of this space will be reserved for other plants that I need to divide this fall such as Liatris, Phlox, daylillies etc… The grasses near the fence are annuals so they will be replaced in the fall with perennials. You can also see where I placed my cucumber and tomato plants that are in pots. All in all, I am pleased with how this garden is looking so far.

In this picture you can see the top of my converted TV Antenna to trellis. You can also see the other plantings. The first two green plants are the Forever & Always Hydrangeas. The next two green plants are the Butterfly Weed. I think the Butterfly Weed should be happy here. It gets sun from morning till about 1 or 2 pm. Also it states on the tag that it likes a dry border area. This area is very dry. I have to give my Hydrangeas extra drinks during the day to keep them from drying out too much. Once my Blackeye Susan Vine covers the trellis it should be really pretty. There is a swing that sits in front of this bed so it is a nice place to sit in the evening with a cool drink.

Oh I couldn’t resist sneaking in a picture of my Roses & Phlox in the rose bed. There is some Liatris blooming to the far right corner too.

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Meadowview Thymes on June 27, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    Love your new plants! You’re like me–I can’t go to a garden store without finding something to take home! Your gardens are beautiful!

    Linda

    Reply

  2. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 27, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    Thank you Linda. I don’t know any gardeners that can resist bringing home a plant…lol Tomorrow I plan on going to a Native Plant Sale at our local Living Museum. I’m sure I won’t come home empty handed. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  3. Posted by OhioMom on June 27, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    Love how the new garden is progressing … ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  4. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 27, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    Thanks Mom. I’m pretty happy with it myself.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Susie on June 27, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    Your beds are looking great! I am growing butterfly weed this year and so far it is looking good. I also have a white balloon flower that’s pretty.

    It’s hard to not buy something everytime you go to the nursery. We have been having a 50% off sale on all flowers, trees and shrubs and it’s been busy.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 28, 2008 at 12:35 am

    Thanks Susie. I’m trying to keep everything alive in this heat and no rain. Not easy. I’ve never seen a white balloon flower. I bet that’s pretty. They had a pale pink one at the garden center. It is hard not to buy something. I keep telling myself I’m just going to look, but I end up bringing something home. And the prices were 50% off. They were large plants for a great price! I couldn’t resist…:)

    Reply

  7. Posted by Becky on June 28, 2008 at 12:38 am

    It looks lovely! What are the purple blooming flowers in the front?

    Reply

  8. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 28, 2008 at 1:50 am

    Thank you Becky. Those would be Angelonia. They are annual and have been a breeze to take care of. Low maintenance all the way. They had them in white too.

    Reply

  9. Posted by beckie on June 28, 2008 at 4:20 am

    PG, we just can’t help ourselves can we!:} I have been staying away from any plants sales as I don’t trust myself. Your choices sound great and I think they will go well with the blackeyed susan vine. Take pictures when it blooms.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 28, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    I know I can’t help myself. I went to the Native Plant Sale at our local museum today and I didn’t come home empty handed. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Thank you Becky. I promise to post pictures as soon as I get some blooms!

    Reply

  11. Posted by Eve on June 28, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    Everythng looks really pretty. I reconize the orange pots..LOL…I just purchased an African Daisy and some lantana in those the other day.
    You know what I like,,thoe half baskets on the wall of your shed..I have got to find some of those. I have a bare wall on my shed,,,just begging for somethng like that. Nice blog..

    Reply

  12. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 28, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    Thank you Eve. LOL, I figured somebody might notice the orange pots. I bought those half baskets at Big Lots years ago. They are plastic believe it or not. They do dress up the shed nicely. I didn’t want a big white wall. Thanks for visiting. I’m glad you enjoyed my blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

