Who needs blooms?

Now don’t get me wrong I love flowers as much as the next gardener. But let’s face it some perennials have such a short bloom cycle or the flower is just an afterthought. For example this Heucera “Plum Pudding” has burgundy foliage with a silver marbled finish. The flower themselves are delicate and nothing special. I’m just more interested in the foliage itself.

How about this Lirope Muscari “Variegata”. I prefer this to the common Lirope, because it isn’t invasive. The leaf edges are lined with cream. Now the flowers on this plant are a lovely lilac shade, but the rest of the season you still have something interesting in your garden.

I’ve had this burgundy Canna in my yard for years. This was a pass-a-long plant from my Grandmother’s neighbor. Unfortunately I don’t know the name, but I find the foliage striking. When they first open the inner part of the leaves are green with burgundy veining. It is a nice contrast to many plants. The flowers are spikes of red. This plant is very prolific in my garden and I don’t dig it up in the fall. It comes back every year.

Solomon’s Seal “Variegatum” is another favorite of mine for the shady parts of my garden. The stems are a bright red and the leaves have a cream margin. It bears tiny white bell-shaped flowers in the spring. The foliage lasts throughout the summer and looks great in floral arrangements. I bought this particular plant 5 yrs ago and it multiplies each year.

Last but not least is the Calla Lily (name unknown) that my neighbor gave me a piece of a few years ago. This plant has white and yellow speckles on the leaves. The flowers are white and bloom for quite a long time. I’ve planted this in part sun and full sun and it does well.

14 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Northern Shade on June 26, 2008 at 3:29 am

    These plants have some beautiful foliage. I like them all, from the more subtle patterned to the ‘look at me’ canna. The leaves all look healthy too.

    Reply

  2. Posted by ChrisND on June 26, 2008 at 3:44 am

    I like the plants with interesting foliage and it seems to be longer lasting and more reliable than a lot of blooms. It’s great how some of the Heuchera leaves make such dramatic changes though the seasons.

    Reply

  3. Posted by theysaywordscanbleed on June 26, 2008 at 5:39 am

    nice plants!

    arlene,
    East Bremerton florist

    Reply

  4. Posted by beckie on June 26, 2008 at 6:48 am

    I’ve noticed in gardens I especially like the flowers are interspersed with foilage plants. The different colors and textures add a pleasing element. Yours are lovely and I really like the Soomon’s Seal. I have a couple of shady area it would look good in.

    Reply

  5. Posted by OhioMom on June 26, 2008 at 10:53 am

    Lovely, I especially like the plum pudding … foliage does add a lot of texture and color to the garden.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Karen on June 26, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    I love foilage plants!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 26, 2008 at 1:51 pm

    Northern Shade- Thank you. I like your name for the Canna “Look at me”. That is a fitting title.

    Chris- I find that buying not just for the bloom but picking plants that have interesting foliage keeps the garden looking nice even when it is not blooming. Heucheras are one of my favorite plants. Their foliage is always unique.

    Arlene- Thank you for visiting! I’m glad you liked the plants.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 26, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    Ohiomom- I agree completely. Foliage keeps thinks interesting throughout the season. Plum Pudding is my newest Heuchera. I put this in last Spring. I love the foliage on this one.

    Karen – I love foliage plants too! Whether they be grasses or cannas or elephants ears. They are all unique in their own right.

    Beckie- Texture & Color make the garden. The Solomon’s Seal is easy to find. I purchased mine from Brent & Becky’s Bulbs (mailorder). They are actually a local company for me. Their bulbs are outstanding! You can find them online too.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Becky on June 26, 2008 at 6:45 pm

    Before I began gardening, I reviled “pretty leaves.” Now that I actually know a little bit about gardening, I know how important they are. Thank you for sharing yours. I will be looking for more to add to my garden, especially that Calla Lily. I’m not a fan of the flowers, but who cares when you have leaves like those!

    Reply

  10. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 26, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    I think every gardener starts out like that. I know when I first started out, I was looking for blooms only and then it became about texture, shape, and color. You are very welcome. Thank you for visiting. I think the Calla Lily flowers are pretty when they first open but as they fade they lose their appeal. The foliage is striking though.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Eve on June 28, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    Those are all so healthy and beautiuful. And the color is there without flowers. I am in love with Calla Lilies,,

    Reply

  12. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 28, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    Thank you Eve. I like Calla Lillies too. I love the foliage on this one though.

    Reply

  13. Posted by shirl on July 1, 2008 at 8:55 am

    Hi again – I completely agree ๐Ÿ˜€

    Fantastic foliage photos – say that fast ๐Ÿ˜€ I love the Solomon’s Seal “Variegatum” I have never seen that before. It almost looks like a bamboo and I love them ๐Ÿ˜€

    Have a great week ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply

  14. I reaally love your blog. Check out my website

    Reply

Leave a Reply

