I’m seeing orange…

I do like the color orange, but I just realized that I have alot of orange flowers blooming right now. In fact, I have more orange flowers blooming than any other color at the moment. Here is a glimpse of the blooms. Look my Tiger Lillies are finally open! I went out this morning and I had 3 blooms! I love their brown speckled faces. I wish they didn’t face towards the ground. This is actually in my Grandma’s Garden. She loves Gerber Daisies. It’s bright and cheery!

My neighbor gave me these, he said their Double Daylillies. Grandma called them Ditch Lillies. I personally think they are prettier than the common old Ditch Lillies. They look like a sunset.
Now this the brightest orange Daylilly. It actually looks salmon colored in the evening light. I don’t know the names for any of these blooms. They were all pass-a-long plants other than the Gerber Daisy in Grandma’s Garden.

16 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by OhioMom on June 26, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    I love orange in the garden, but then I like bright colors in the garden πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Posted by ChrisND on June 27, 2008 at 12:18 am

    Well, they do look nice though. It’s funny how the garden can sometimes switch color pallets as the seasons turn.

    We’ve got just some orange I think. Some lilies and wallflowers. Really they just pop out at you.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 27, 2008 at 12:35 am

    Ohiomom- I like orange in the garden too. There is some purple back there too. πŸ™‚

    Chris- Thank you. I think they look pretty nice too. You’re right, as the seasons change so does the color palette. We see the pastels in spring and as the season progresses so does the intensity of the color. Wallflowers are pretty. I don’t have any of those in my garden.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Susie on June 27, 2008 at 1:29 am

    Those pass-along plants are the best!! I love all your orange’s. Sometimes I like to put purples with orange.

    The coral vine is not a perennial, sorry. I wish it was. I don’t really now how tall it is but it covered a lot of the fence at work. It does produce lots of seed(I think).

    Reply

  5. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 27, 2008 at 2:05 am

    Susie- I agree, free is always a good thing. πŸ™‚ I like to put purple with orange or yellow. They complement each other well. That’s okay. I figured it was probably an annual. I will have to look into that one. Can’t wait to see your blooms.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Meadowview Thymes on June 27, 2008 at 2:12 am

    I love your orange! My favorite colors in the garden are red and yellow, but my orange cosmos are growing in almost all the beds along with the yellows and reds. So pretty!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Karen on June 27, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    LOL, I too have noticed I have a wee bit more of orange or a variation of in my garden. I really like your daylily!

    Reply

  8. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 27, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    Meadowview Thymes- I love orange, red, purple and yellow in the garden especially in the summer. They really show up in the bright summer sunlight. Pastels are nicer in the Springtime. Thanks for visiting!

    Reply

  9. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 27, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    Karen- πŸ™‚ I guess it happens to everyone. Thank you.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Jean on June 27, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    Thank you for stopping by and for your birthday wishes. Love the orange in your garden. You should come by on Tuesday and join us for Bloomin’ Tuesday.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 27, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    Thanks Jean. I will keep that in mind. You are very welcome.

    Reply

  12. Posted by emmat on June 27, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    It’s funny how taking photos helps you notice something like that – I found I didn’t know how many of my plants were pink until I did a Bloom Day post…

    Reply

  13. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 27, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    That is so true Emmat. I was out there just looking at my blooms and taking some pics and I realized how many orange blooms there were. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  14. Posted by Susie on June 27, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    You are not going to believe it but today at work we noticed the coral vine coming back along the picket fence. I talked to our manager and he said with a mild winter it can come back. Also it can grow up to 30 feet. Pretty big huh?

    Reply

  15. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 27, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    Susie, That is huge! I don’t want anything that large. That would be great for a big structure like a gazebo or something though.

    Reply

  16. Posted by Anonymous on August 22, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    Susie, my coral vine in SC sure acts like a perennial. It comes back every spring, not from seed but from the root. Coral vine is classed as a “tender perennial” on this website: http://kazulaplants.com/Projects/Vertical%20Garden/table.htm#Table%20of%20Climbing%20Vines

    Reply

Leave a Reply

