Did I wait too long?

I normally plant some veggies in containers every year since I don’t have a designated vegetable plot in my garden. This year I kind of procrastinated and waited too long. I could of planted some tomatoes and other various veggies as early as April 15th. The last frost date in my area if I remember right is April 10th. I’ve even planted tomatoes as early as March 30th in the past and had no problems. While visiting my local garden centers I did gaze at the vegetable plants for sale but for some reason I just never bought any. Well yesterday I was shopping for some plants and I came upon this tomato (Husky Cherry Red to the left) and the cucumber plant below (no tag-name unknown) and they were marked down 75%. For that price I said what the heck. I have nothing to lose. Since I already had the pots and cages at home, my investment was just these plants and some good potting soil. So for under $10.00 I took a chance and brought them home. Yesterday evening I potted them up, caged them, watered and placed them in the garden. I figure I can move the pots around since they are pretty light weight until I find a place they are happy. I doubled up the cage on the cucumber plant and ziptied them together to give it more room to vine. I think I do the same for the tomato. I also staked the cage as extra reinforcement for the cherry tomato. What the heck I might not get any of these tasty veggies until late August or September but that isn’t necessarily a bad thing. Our season of growing can extend into October. Our temperatures in the fall can be either extremely mild or “Indian Summer” like, it varies from year to year. In 2004 we had Hurricane Isabel destroy our gardens, trees, homes etc.. in September. You just can never tell with Virginia.
3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by OhioMom on June 24, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    Grow maters grow … and will you be making your own sauce ?

    Reply

  2. Posted by Laurie & Chris on June 24, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    I always wait to long to plant stuff. It never fails. Good luck!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 24, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    Ohiomom-I wouldn’t go that far! lol I’m a gardener not a cook! 🙂

    Laurie & Chris- Thanks I might need the luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

