Anticipation…

Anticipation, Is makin’ me late, Is keepin’ me waitin (as the Carly Simon song goes)

I’ve been waiting for a couple weeks now for these Tiger Lillies to bloom.

Is this egg ever going to hatch? Is mama bird coming back?

Spaz waiting for the squirrel to come down from the tree.

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Laurie & Chris on June 24, 2008 at 10:39 am

    Waiting is always the hardest part!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by OhioMom on June 24, 2008 at 11:13 am

    I think I hear the squirrel laughing … πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. Posted by Roses and Lilacs on June 24, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    Good morning. I’m enjoying wandering thru your web site.

    Agree about the tiger lilies. Very exotic and graceful.

    Love the photos of your garden. Surrounded by fence it looks so secluded and private. I can see myself with a glass of ice tea and a good book or garden magazine.
    Marnie (from Illinois)

    Reply

  4. Posted by Lets Plant on June 24, 2008 at 3:34 pm

    Waiting makes it better. Makes you want it more. Then it is so much better when it happens! Let’s just hope you are not out of town when it happens, that is the worst!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 24, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    Laurie & Chris- I agree completely! Patience isn’t one of my virtues. lol πŸ™‚

    Ohiomom- That’s just mean! πŸ™‚

    Roses & Lilacs- Thanks so much for visiting. I’m glad you have enjoyed browsing my blog. My garden is an enjoyable place to sit back with a book and a glass or cup of your choice of beverage.

    Lets Plant – Logically I agree with you. But like I told Laurie & Chris, patience isn’t one of my virtues. πŸ™‚ I should be home to see the blooms though so that is comforting! lol

    Reply

  6. Posted by beckie on June 24, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    Why is it that those lilies take so long to open!:) I too waited what seemed like forever for my first blooms on them. But once they come out, they don’t disappoint. Spaz just says he’s waiting for that squirrel, actuallly he resting and enjoying your beautiful garden.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 24, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    Beckie-
    I don’t know why they take so long to finally open. But every year I wait, wait and wait some more for the first few blooms to open. They are spectacular once they open. Too bad they face towards the ground. She does enjoy the garden, but she only is single-minded when it comes to squirrels, mice etc…lol

    Reply

  8. Posted by Susie on June 25, 2008 at 2:21 am

    Is that a Robin’s egg? At first I thought it might be a blue bird but they nest in boxes.

    You never know where those eggs are going to show up. Last year we had 5 eggs show up in our boston fern basket. All five turned out to be Mocking birds. We couldn’t walk out into our back yard without being attacked by the mom.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Bek on June 25, 2008 at 11:02 am

    Waiting seems to be a part of gardening. I am also checking my daylilies every day if they are already started to bloom. I wouldn’t want to miss one.
    Great picture with your dog. Makes me laugh.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 25, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    Susie- I think it is a robin’s egg. I had a robin’s nest in that same planter last year. The egg has been there for awhile now, I hope it’s not a dud. Bluejays can be mean like that too. We have one in the front that divebombs my cat. Must be a nest near by. πŸ™‚

    Bek- I’m keeping a close eye on them. No blooms yet. I thought the picture of Spaz was cute too. She is a funny little dog. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

