Birds, Blooms, & Bright Ideas

I’ve had a feeding frenzy at my bird feeders lately. The birds are even sitting on the fence waiting for their turn. Some of them are patiently waiting, others are being rather vocal. The variety of birds I’ve seen in the yard lately has increased as well. I’ve seen Cardinals, Blackbirds, Wrens, Yellow Finches, Robins, Blue jays, Morning Doves and other small birds as well. There has also been some obvious Woodpecker sounds coming from the Pecan Tree.

Things are coming into bloom too. On the top my Croscosmia “Lucifer” is starting to open. The striking red color brightens my perennial border. On the bottom my Phlox Paniculata (variety unknown) is blooming. The fragrance of garden phlox is so pleasant. This particular specimen is a division from some babies I found growing along the main plant last fall. It has really filled out nicely this summer. I plan on dividing the main plant again this fall so I can have more of this pretty flower elsewhere in the garden. I’ve found this plant to be fairly maintenance free.

Notice the bronze metal object between the coreopsis in the new garden. This use to be in my woodland garden and it was painted white. It was cemented into the ground so I had my husband cut it down below the surface of the soil this year. The original structure was a TV antennae that was taller than my house. When we bought this house over 11 years ago my husband reduced the height to this size. My house is over 40 years old so it was probably here since the house was built in 1967 or shortly after that. I had the bright idea of reusing it for a trellis that I could grow an annual vine on. Anyone have any ideas? It would have to be something that doesn’t grow too tall. The legs are hollow on the structure so I plan on driving some rebar into the ground to anchor it. That way I don’t lose anymore height.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by beckie on June 20, 2008 at 4:42 am

    As you can tell from my post, I am all for repurposing things. This will be an excellent trellis. I have ‘moon flower’ on my lighning rods, or how about sweet peas? Actually, this site has wonerful suggestions and pictures.
    http://www.gardenguides.com/how-to/tipstechniques/other/annualvines.asp

    Enjoy your new found work d’art!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 20, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    Thanks Becky. I will check this site out. I thought about Sweet Peas or maybe Black Eye Susan Vine.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

