Here we go again…


Spaz my little terrier mix is at it again. While I was sitting enjoying my ice tea in the garden last evening, she started running through my Hostas like a crazy woman. I went to see what the commotion was all about. I saw a mouse scurrying through my Hostas with Spaz in hot pursuit. She was determined to catch the poor little creature. Nothing would distract her from the situation at hand, not even a dog bisquit. And believe me, I tried.


Initially I was convinced she was going to destroy the poor Hostas in her determination to catch that mouse. Then I realized she was weaving in and out between the plants, crawling under the huge leaves very carefully. I was impressed that she didn’t totally demolish my plants during the chase. She checked between each plant over and over again. The mouse got away.

Of course, Spaz didn’t give up that easily. She checked behind the Nandinas and in between the Cannas as well. She even peaked under the fountain. The mouse was a goner. Spaz is the black thing behind the fountain in the picture. Just in case you didn’t see her.

She even looked under the dwarf barberry just in case. That dog has alot of determination. I didn’t think she would ever give up that hunt. I don’t know what she thought she was going to do if she caught the poor little creature. Hopefully I wasn’t going to be getting any presents. I get enough of those from the cat. Just kidding.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Karen on June 18, 2008 at 9:36 pm

    Your little Spaz is too funny! My dog does the same thing .. just won’t give it up frantically searching, lol.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 19, 2008 at 1:53 am

    That is a good description of my Spaz. TOO FUNNY! She makes life interesting around here. Thanks for visiting Karen, I’m glad I could give you a good chuckle. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by beckie on June 19, 2008 at 2:43 am

    “Well Mom, you gotta keep after these things or they will take over!” At least she was careful around the plants What more could you ask for? 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by OhioMom on June 19, 2008 at 11:44 am

    Go Spaz, get the little critter 🙂

    Reply

  5. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 19, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    Beckie-
    That sounds just like Spaz. LOL You’re right, she was careful so I should give her a gold star for that!

    Mom- I know why you are rooting for Spaz. LOL

    Reply

  6. Posted by Sarah on June 20, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    That is such a great story.

    My dogs probably would have trampled the hostas!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 22, 2008 at 4:58 pm

    Thank you Sarah. Thanks for visiting too! She is a graceful little thing. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

