After the rain…

We finally got some rain in Virginia. It’s been a dry and hot couple of weeks. The rain barrels are all full now. Have you ever noticed after a good rainstorm that everything seems to bloom faster and get bigger almost overnight? For example, my daylillies were all buds for the past 2 days and this morning I had 2 large blooms. I love this particular plant. I don’t know the name, it was a pass-a-long plant 10 years ago. I started with 1 small piece and now I have 3 large specimens. I could probably divide this particular one in the fall and get 3 more plants out of it easily. I like large full plants so I only divide when I know that a plant will really benefit from the division. Some plants such as daisies and irises will literally kill themselves out in the center of the plant unless you divide them every 2 years. Anyways, as I was saying, some plants really seem to jump after a rainstorm. While some plants seem to just flop after the rain.I can’t stand a floppy plant. I have found that those grid supports work really well to keep certain plants from falling over when they reach a certain height. I just put it over them while they are dormant and they will grow right up through the support. It can be adjusted higher as the plant grows taller. This Soapwort is a prime example of being floppy, especially after a good rain. I have a grid support in the center of this plant. Doesn’t it look so sloppy just flopping over the landscape timber? So this morning I went out and I adjusted the grid support which required the strength of “Hercules on the one leg. My husband actually had to come give me a hand with it. It didn’t want to budge one centimeter. I should of adjusted the height about a month ago. But like most gardeners I don’t always get around to doing things when I’m suppose to. I find these supports look much better than trying to stake things after the fact. So in the photo to the left you can see what an improvement it made just adjusting the height of the support did for the appearance of this plant. Now doesn’t that look better? I think so. I also had some other chores to tend to while the ground is nice and soft from all that rain. I find weeding is much easier to accomplish while the soil is wet. Which is another thing. Doesn’t it seem like the weeds grow as fast (maybe even faster) as the plants in our gardens after a good rain? The important thing is that it rained which means I don’t have to run around randomly watering things with the watering can from my rain barrels and I don’t have to drag any hoses out either. That is the only chore in the garden that is not fun. I would rather weed the garden than water it. Isn’t that a shame?

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by beckie on June 18, 2008 at 2:22 am

    Try # 3. Blogger doesn’t seem to want my comment! So glad you got some much needed rain. A good soaking rain is worth 10 hose waterings. And you are right about flowers(and weeds)getting a growth spurt. I, too, dislike watering-and about the 1st of Aug. REALLY dislike it. So far this year we have had lots of rain and I’ve only watered once in a while. I saw those plants supports somewhere and thought they looked like a good idea. But wondered how they would really do in the garden. Now I know. Thanks!

    Reply

  2. Posted by OhioMom on June 18, 2008 at 10:34 am

    Weeding after rain makes the chore go quickly, love the supports and of course the blooms 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 18, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    Beckie- I know what you mean. By August I will be drained from the heat and just want to escape inside to the A/C. I try to make my plants learn to live with just getting either one good soaking a week with the hose or if we get a good rain during that week. The supports do work well. I’m getting more in the fall, I have some other plants that could benefit from support such as my Phlox and Verbenas. Thanks for visiting.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 18, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    Thanks Mom.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Lucy on June 18, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    I rather water, we can take of care of each others gardens… doing what we like to best LOL!!

    Your flowers are looking lovely!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 18, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    Thanks Lucy. That sounds like a plan to me! 🙂

    Reply

  7. Posted by plantgirl on June 18, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    Having a dry spell here again – after a few weeks of constant rain and cold temps however it finally feels like summer has arrived – nice blog!
    ~plantgirl of
    Plantgirl’s Square Foot Garden

    Reply

  8. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 18, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    Plantgirl-
    We’ve been dry too, but it has also been very hot. Summer came here like a rocket! Thanks, I’m glad you visited.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

