Flying Flowers…


I caught this beauty taking a breather in the dirt.


The same butterfly sunbathing on my hosta leaf.


This orange & brown beauty is tasting the nectar on my butterfly bush.


Here you can see his tiny legs resting on the blossoms


I caught this white one drinking from my salvia.

13 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by OhioMom on June 16, 2008 at 9:07 pm

    OMG .. I just love your butterfly pics! Fantastic job!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 16, 2008 at 10:35 pm

    Thank you. I got really lucky today! I love the blue and black one. I came upon it by accident. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by ChrisND on June 17, 2008 at 1:41 am

    A great title. We garden not just for the “grounded” flowers.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 17, 2008 at 4:20 am

    Thank you. I can’t imagine a garden without these beautiful creatures.

    Reply

  5. Posted by beckie on June 17, 2008 at 5:30 am

    You were abe to get several good shots fo those butterflies. A couple I don’t think I have seen. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 17, 2008 at 12:56 pm

    Thank you Beckie. I got really lucky yesterday, it was meant to be I guess. Thanks for visiting.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Mary Ann Archibald on June 17, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    It was a treat to see these photos of the butterflies in your garden. Aren’t they great to have flitting about. Have a great day!

    Reply

  8. Posted by Mr. McGregor's Daughter on June 17, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    Love the black butterfly. (Black Swallowtail?) They must be loving your Phlox, Salvia & Butterfly Bush. They are just like flying flowers.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 17, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    MaryAnn- I’m glad you enjoyed the butterfly pics. I love seeing them floating around the garden. It’s always a good sign when you attract a variety of critters.

    Mr. McGregor’s Daughter – I don’t know what kind of butterflies these are other than the white one. That is a Cabbage White. Thank you for visiting.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Jyoti on June 17, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    Lovely shots!!!

    Indeed flying flowers … love your caption!

    I think the first two are Spicebusg Swallowtail, next two are American painted Lady and the last one is Clouded Sulphur.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 17, 2008 at 7:38 pm

    Thank you Jyoti. You are the butterfly expert! I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. I found the caption fitting. They are as pretty as flowers.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Liquid Crayons on June 18, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    Your pics are so cool I love butterflies!

    Reply

  13. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 18, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    Thanks Sis! I love butterflies too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

