Give me shelter…

I created a new garden bed this summer and planted several of the Forever & Always Hydrangeas. At the time of planting I figured this would be a good location because a large tree is in this area. According to the planting instructions if you live in zone 7 & 8 they need part sun. I am zone 7b. I guess they are getting more sunlight (afternoon sun to be exact) than they desire. Plus we had three or four scorching days earlier this week. The poor little things got a touch of sun damage. So I put my thinking cap on and came up with a temporary solution to the problem. With the help of my clever and handy husband I created these shade structures for them to hide under during the hottest part of the day and so far so good. As you can see from the second photo they are just slapped together using wood trellis pieces, 4 2×2’s cut down for legs and a leftover window screen I had hanging around in the shed collecting dust.

Now I realize it might not be the prettiest structure I ever put in my garden, but it seems to do the trick. And it was a simple project that my husband could knock out in 10 minutes flat. I’ve had some ideas on how I could make them look better. Like instead of the 2×2’s for legs I could use the trellis on all 3 sides and staple some of that sunblock plastic screening to the trellis. That might look nicer. Anyone else have any ideas? I know there is a strong probability that I will have to move the hydrangeas this fall into a location that makes them happier. But for the moment this seems to keep the plants from scorching in our hot afternoon sunlight. I’m happier, the plants are happier and my husband is oblivious to my future modifications to his “completed” project. But I’ll save that for another day…

Now I was out inspecting the garden this morning and stumbled upon my Grandmother’s pink rosebush that was in full bloom. It was looking kind of scrawny earlier this week until I moved a Black-eye Susan that was too close for comfort. Hybrid roses are picky about their personal space. The rosebush seems to be happy and showing off by blooming it’s heart out. She’s happier too. (Grandma) I’m not a big fan of hybrid roses because they are needy plants. I don’t do needy. They get black spot and constantly need to be deadheaded etc… But I have to admit this is one pretty pink rose. Here is a closeup of a single bloom.

As I was saying I prefer plants that are not so needy. However, my grandma has always loved Roses and annuals in her garden beds. I like perennials especially native perennials that can adapt to our changing climate. The rainy winters and springs, the dry summers and falls etc…

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by OhioMom on June 14, 2008 at 9:38 pm

    Cool shade…..just one suggestion for hubby … RUN & HIDE

    (I know what labor she has planned … LOL)

    Reply

  2. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 15, 2008 at 2:54 am

    Shh…it’s a secret. Who’s side are you on? lol

    Reply

  3. Posted by OhioMom on June 15, 2008 at 9:12 am

    Who me ? I’m just saying, now might be a good time for him to plan a fishin trip 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 15, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    Too bad he doesn’t fish…lol

    Reply

  5. Posted by Northern Shade on June 16, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    It’ great to have a connection to others through your garden. Having your Grandmother’s rose, gives you memories every time you garden.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 16, 2008 at 3:34 pm

    Yes it is. She was my gardening mentor growing up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

