Pollinators and Predators

I was out in my garden yesterday and saw this butterfly on my Verbena Bonariensis. Part of his lower wing was missing. I guess maybe a bird or some other predator got a nibble. This was the first butterfly I had seen in my yard for the season. Soon my butterfly bush will be in full bloom and it will be covered in Butterflies and Bees. My Verbena seems to be a big hit this year with the Yellow Finches, Bees and Butterflies. The butterfly is one of the main pollinators. They belong to the family Lepidoptera because of their unique life cycle.

The bumblebees seem to love this Coreopsis I planted in the new flower bed. But then again they seem to love all the flowers in my garden. Bees are the major source of pollination in flowering plants. They are found on every continent except Antarctica. They are related to wasps and ants and belong to the Apoidea family of insects.

I caught this dragonfly napping on the landscape timber in my border bed. I’ve never seen one this plain in color. When I was a child I remember the blueish-green ones that lingered near the water. Did you know that the dragonfly is a natural predator and that eats not only mosquitoes and flies but also bees and butterflies?

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by OhioMom on June 13, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    Oh cool shots … The butterfly has gorgeous colors.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 14, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    Thank you. I’m really enjoying taking pictures.

    Reply

  3. Posted by emmat on June 16, 2008 at 7:41 am

    lovely wildlife!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 16, 2008 at 11:26 am

    Thank you Emmat.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

