Garden Helper or Not?

Yesterday I sifted all that beautiful black gold with my new garden sifter (made especially for me by my wonderful hubby). I had the lid off and my dog Spaz (who is part Jack Russell and part ???) jumped into the container and started digging like crazy.

It made me laugh, so I had to get a picture of her inside the bin. I told my son to run in and get the camera. He couldn’t believe she jumped into the bin. So, I pulled her back out and she jumped in again. What I didn’t realize at the time was that a mouse had made a nest behind my bin and that the babies were running around inside. But Spaz did! She was going crazy. And here I thought she was trying to be helpful by loosening up some of the compacted compost for me. Silly me! I should of known she had her own agenda.

Then today I’m out watering the new hydrangeas and I guess Spaz thought she could be of service again. So she starts digging a huge hole right in the middle of my new flower bed. If I could just train her to dig holes on command I could plant my perennials much quicker. Unfortunately, Spaz only digs holes where you don’t want her to dig. She has been known to dig up an entire rose bush. Grandma wasn’t happy about that. Oops! She’s lucky she is so cute.

Does anyone else have a special Garden Helper like Spaz? A better question would be “Does anyone want a special Garden Helper like Spaz?” Just kidding Spaz. You know we love you!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by janie on June 16, 2008 at 4:17 am

    I have 5 four-legged garden helpers. Three are dogs, 2 cats. And for anyone who thinks that cats don’t help in the garden, these two are constant companions when I am in the garden. I don’t worry so much about snakes with them around. They just like to be with me.

    The dogs are different. The two old ones are 14 years old, and they don’t dig at all. Sleeping is more their style. The young one is a 4 year old boxer dog, named Dixie. She doesn’t dig either, but she loves to help me. She gets rid of the pots, if I will let her. She takes the black pots in her mouth once they are empty, and throws them; chases them, then throws them again. She usually winds up ripping the pots to pieces, and I have to throw it away, but she has so much fun, I can’t fuss at her.

    Dogs are such a comfort.

    LOL

    Janie

    Reply

  2. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 16, 2008 at 11:28 am

    I have 2 dogs and 1 cat. The youngest dog is shown here. She is 3. My other dog is a beagle and she is 10. She doesn’t do much anymore except lay in my garden and enjoy the sun. The cat will follow me around throughout the day and keep me company. I love my animals. They are a comfort.

    Reply

  3. Posted by I likE plants! on July 18, 2008 at 2:07 am

    Free compost tiller! Too funny.

    ~=)
    Eric

    Reply

Leave a Reply

