Weeding and Watering…

It’s been so hot here in Virginia for the past few days. This is not my favorite type of weather for gardening. Usually I don’t have to deal with days like this until July and August. I meant to get up early this morning so I could give my plants a cool drink. Unfortunately I didn’t wake up until 9 am. That is sleeping in for me! So I waited till this evening to go out and do some weeding and watering. I had some major weeds creeping up in my front flower beds. They snuck up on me while I was enjoying the a/c. While I was out there weeding and watering all the garden beds, I did stop and notice some plants that seemed to be thriving in spite of the heat wave. My yarrow is just coming into bloom and it is a beautiful shade of pink. It won’t be long and the entire plant will be covered in these hot pink rosettes.

I also tended to my compost pile in my new bin. I had some green stuff from the grass I pulled out of my front flower bed as well as a stock pile of leaves that were hiding behind the rhododendron. I tossed it some with my pitchfork and added a little water from the rain barrel. It seems to be heating up nicely. The container is black and I put it in a nice sunny spot. I will have three containers now so I should be rolling in the black gold by next spring. I have one bin right now that is actually finished compost that I just need to sift. (as soon as I can get my hubby to make me a sifter that fits over the wheelbarrel) The second bin is about 3/4 of the way full and the 3rd bin should be here tomorrow. It got delayed in the shipping. Here’s a shot of my 2nd bin that is in the works.

So hopefully we get a break from this heat soon. I could use some rainy days or at least some cooler days even if they are brief. There will be plenty of work ahead in the garden over the next five months. I just don’t want to melt in the process. I also got some pictures of some plants that will soon be coming into their blooming time.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by OhioMom on June 9, 2008 at 11:48 am

    Fantastic blooms you have going on there .. love the compost bins!

    It will be HOT today, and then we are getting a cool front and RAIN …. yeah, more seasonal temps.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 9, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    Wow, someone was up early. Thanks Mom. I will be hot here too. We might be getting rain Tues or Wed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

