For the birds….

I get up early each morning so I can enjoy my garden before it gets too hot and I have to escape inside to the air condiditioning. Over the past week as I was sitting enjoying the view and my coffee I was able to get a few good shots of the birds. Like most gardeners I do enjoy attracting birds to my garden. In order to attract a variety of birds to my yard each year, I provide the three basics; food, shelter and water. I have several feeders that I fill with different types of seeds. Unfortunately the seed attracts squirrels too, but my dogs keep them at a minimum. I’ve had to move a couple of my feeders to areas where there is just grass because the seed that falls does sprout some weeds. And I don’t want weeds in my flowerbeds. I’ve found the wildbird seed blends seems to be the worse for germinating. Yesterday morning I got this amazing shot of a yellow finch balancing gracefully on my Verbena Bonariensis. I was in awe that it didn’t even seem to bend the hollow stems of my plant. I’ve seen the finches sitting on the Black-eye Susan flowers many times but this was a first! Last year I had 3 of these plants. But this was the only one that survived this year. Three years ago this plant was a volunteer in my garden which I assumed germinated from a seed dropped by a bird. I have planted Verbena Bonariensis in the past, but with little luck. I guess Mother Nature is a better gardener.

I also provide plenty of nesting possibilities in my garden for the birds. I have wren houses, bluejay houses as other assorted decorative birdhouses which they seem to prefer over the real deal. But it never fails that instead of using the shelters provided, I get a nest in one of my wall planters. A robin has built a nest in my wall planter for the past two years. I found the nest the other day while I was watering my potted plants. And there it was all nestled amongst the vinca vine. Oops! Well I was alittle surprised when I not only spotted the nest but a little blue egg in it.
In addition, I also provide several options throughout my garden for water for the birds, insects, butterflies, dogs etc… In the photos below you can see the blackbird on my bronze birdbath in the new flowerbed. Their is also a ceramic birdbath next to the lacecap hydrangea bush. I had to put a plastic saucer in this one to hold water. The ceramic has a crack that I have mended over the years but needless to say it still leaks water. This was an easy solution to the water seeping out the crack. Plus less costly than replacing the dish portion of the birdbath. It works amazingly well and makes cleanup a breeze. I have spotted many yellow finches sipping from the upper portion of my new water fountain. The dogs enjoy drinking from the bottom basin so I guess it is a multi-functional addition to the garden. I caught a pigeon drinking from my metal birdbath in the arbor garden. I find the ceramic birdbaths are much easier to keep clean.
4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by OhioMom on June 8, 2008 at 1:49 am

    Great bird shots … 🙂 Hope you get one of the baby bird in the nest.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 8, 2008 at 2:14 am

    That would be a great shot!

    Reply

  3. Posted by sandists on June 8, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    I found your blog when researching decorative birdhouses. I enjoyed your post, and love the photos you have taken.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 8, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    Sandists- I’m glad you enjoyed my post. I have really had a good time taking the pictures. Hope you return again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

