Grandma’s Garden…

Growing up my Grandma always had a garden. She had her flowerbeds and she always had a vegetable garden as well. Except for the four years when we lived in Arizona, it was too hot and dry to grow anything she was accustomed to planting. So gardening was something I grew up with. I guess I assumed everyone had a garden, because when I moved into my first house I started planning the flowerbeds. Three years ago my husband and I added this addition to our home for my grandparents. We added the flower bed that wraps around the deck and house. I guess Grandma planted the garden bug in me at an early age. It is the one interest that we have always had in common.

There she is watering the garden. (This was taken in early spring). You’ll notice in the next few pictures how much her garden has grown since then.

Her Purple Wave Petunias that I potted up for her yesterday.

I gave her this Knockout Rose 2 years ago for Mother’s day. She’s always had hybrids so she was really amazed by a rose that didn’t get blackspot or other problems.

She loves the old fashioned annuals that she grew up with and plants them every year. Such as petunias, snap dragons and marigolds. I gave her a few perennials such as Black-eye Susans, Purple Coneflower, Daylillies, and Shasta Daisies. As well as some bulbs such as Liatris and Calla Lily.

Here is some of her potted plants that she keeps on the deck. I painted her patio furniture and replaced her cushions and umbrella for Mother’s Day this year.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by OhioMom on June 6, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    You are the sweetest granddaughter, I know your grandma loves her garden but not as much as she loves you 🙂

    Love
    Mom

    Reply

  2. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 6, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    Thanks Mom.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

