It’s getting hot out here…

Every year I start out with such enthusiam for the new season of gardening ahead. But then summer hits and it gets so hot and humid I am not able to enjoy my garden like I do in the spring when the temperatures are mild. Fortunately in the early part of June we are still having cool mornings and evenings so I can work in and enjoy my garden on a daily basis.
This morning I was looking at some empty pots that I had stacked up next to the compost bin and I decided it would be nice to plant something that I could use to fill an empty spot in one of my flower beds. I used the second one as a sort of plant stand so I could get some height. Would you believe these pots are just a styrofoam type of material that I faux painted to look like a bronze with a patina.

In addition I have been adding more plantings to the new bed I created in May. I bought some annuals called “Angelina” for their purple blooms. I thought they would look good together in a mass. I’ve decided to plant this bed in yellows, purples, dark pinks and white. So far I am liking the effect. I still haven’t decided if I want to keep the azaleas that are planted around the birdbath. Maybe I could get some of those “Encore” Azaleas as a replacement.

Below is a closeup of the “Angelina” plants I planted this evening. They get about 12-14″ wide and 12-18″ tall. They add some much needed color at the moment.

Here is a good picture of the Coreopsis I planted in the new bed. I love their tubular shaped petals and their bright yellow blooms are cheerful. They complement the purple flowers nicely.

I was really excited this morning when I went out to my existing Arbor bed and noticed my new plant (Baptisma?) that I purchased last year at the Native Plant Sale at one of our local museums. I love the lavender blooms. I forgot all about this plant until it bloomed.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by OhioMom on June 4, 2008 at 6:20 pm

    Look I just told Janie to CLOSE HER DOORS … now I am asking (sweetly, cause ya know I am sweet LOL) … do not send that southern heat up here.

    Your mama gets whiney when it is hot:)

    Love the blooms !

    Reply

  2. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 4, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    lol, the heat is coming whether you want it or not Mom! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

