Project Update

I haven’t forgotten about my new project for the summer. I’ve just been busy. I have this trellis to put between the two wall planters. I have a brand new clematis to plant on it named “Snow Queen”. It has star-shaped white flowers. It should be spectacular in a couple of years when it matures. I can’t wait to see it leap over the next few years.

As you can see I still am adding some soil amendments such as garden soil, peat moss, and some compost from my bin. But the soil is looking so much better already. It was lifeless looking when we removed the grass. I will need to till this stuff in before I can start planting.

Here are a few new plants I purchased for the new bed. I bought a “Snow Queen” Clematis,
three “Forever & Ever” Red Hydrangeas, two “Jethro Tull” Coreopsis, two “Mystic Spires”
Blue Salvias, and three Purple Fountain Grasses. I will divide some of my existing perennials this fall and move them into this bed.
6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by OhioMom on May 31, 2008 at 10:56 am

    Love the trellis and the new plants, can’t wait to see it all planted up … 🙂

    Love
    Mom

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jyoti Srivastava on May 31, 2008 at 11:14 am

    All the flowers I love- clematis, salvia, coreopsis … I’m sure your garden will look beautiful with these new additions. Love the photo of the blue lacecap hydrangea!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Perennial Gardener on May 31, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    Mom, I can’t wait either. I probably won’t plant until later this evening or tomorrow. It is suppose to get up to 90 degrees today, Yuck!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Perennial Gardener on May 31, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    Jyoti,
    I love these flowers too. I love the vibrant colors and the combination of purple and orange is fantastic in the garden. Clematis is my favorite climber. I have several plants now, all different colors and shapes. Thank you, I hope it will be beautiful. I’m planting 3 of the Endless Summer Hydranges as well. Hydrangeas are my favorite shrubs.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Lucy on June 1, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    Here I am looking at all the fun your having, don’t ya just love creating new flower beds! I can’t imagine where I can put another bed in my yard, I think I’ve got it all covered. Gotta have some grass for DH to mow!! heehee…..

    Reply

  6. Posted by Perennial Gardener on June 2, 2008 at 2:25 am

    I love creating new beds, in fact I already have an idea for a new one along the driveway and sidewalk. It will make mowing easier, or at least that is what I told my husband. lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

