Composting – Recycling for the Garden

Composting is a great way to recycle your yard waste and kitchen scraps. I have a rubbermaid compost bin that I purchased years ago at our local home improvement store. Over the years I’ve come to realize that I one container just wasn’t enough. I would love to have a continuous supply of that rich black gold so I’ve done my research. I contemplated making some after I found some plans on the internet, but even after purchasing the necessary supplies I found that I could purchase a couple of ready made plastic bins at my local home improvement store for a better price. I ordered two of the bins today from Home Depot and I am looking forward to having a greater capacity of compost on hand in the future. Now instead of piling my recent waste and scraps on top of the completed compost I can have a new stuff bin, an in process of decomposing bin, and a completed bin. I am excited about this prospect! Below is a picture of my new bin.A compost bin can really cut down on the trash you put on your curb every week too. This is good for the environment as well. It costs nothing to make which is great for the pocketbook, and it is the best fertilizer you can give your plants. They will love you for it!

What you will need to compost is a pitchfork or garden fork to turn the pile, some type of bin, and a good location that is level and convenient so you won’t forget about it.

The basic ingredients for good compost are green material, brown material, water, air and time.

You can compost the following ingredients:

leaves
straw
woodchips
paperbags
dryer lint
grass clippings
egg shells
coffee grounds
vegetable trimmings
orange rinds

And remember the best ratio is 25 parts brown material to 1 part green.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by OhioMom on May 28, 2008 at 1:32 am

    Apples don’t fall far from the tree, thank you for recycling, saving the environment and enriching your garden … it doesn’t get any better than that.

    I love you
    Mom

    Reply

  2. Posted by janie on May 28, 2008 at 5:28 am

    My DH won’t let me have a compost pile. We get all we need from the County, free, and from the cotton gin, right down the road, also free. And they will load it for you.

    So, I can’t complain there. He just thinks that I would forget it, not turn it, lose interest in it.

    All other junk I am allowed to recycle. LOL

    Janie

    Reply

  3. Posted by Perennial Gardener on May 29, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    Thanks Mom. We all need to do our part in recycling.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Perennial Gardener on May 29, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    Well if you get it for free, same concept. We have to pay the city for ours. I think it costs about $18.00 a truckload which is about one cubic yard. I buy 2 truckloads every other year so I can do all my flower beds.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

