More of the New Project for 2008

As you can see we have the grass all gone now. We did a combination of digging some of it out by hand with a flathead shovel, spray roundup in the difficult areas, and tilling the rest of it up. This was the part I don’t enjoy. Now I need to get some good stuff to amend the soil. My soil is a heavy clay that is just impossible to grow plants in. I will add some peat moss, garden soil, and some precious black gold from my compost bin to aerate the soil. Then I will till all of these things into the soil along with some Weed Preventer with fertilizer.

As you can see below I included a shot of the new bed and how it connects to the corner arbor bed that exists in the opposite corner. I have been monitoring the new bed for a few months to determine what kinds of plants I can plant based on the sun exposure during different times of day and year. I am getting excited to be done with the prep work so I can start planting which is my favorite part of the whole process.

Stay tuned…there will be more to see soon.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lucy on May 25, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    Yesterday you had it outlined and now look at it! Wonderful….. WOW!!! You work fast!!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Perennial Gardener on May 26, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    Thanks Lucy. I am eager to get to planting…:)

    Reply

  3. Posted by OhioMom on May 26, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    Are you done yet ? LOL … nice job sweetie, I know it will be beautiful when it is completed.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Perennial Gardener on May 26, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    Not yet. We added some peat moss and garden soil today and started tilling it in. Looks like I will need a few more bags. I’m eager to start planting…my favorite part of the process!

    Reply

  5. Posted by janie on May 28, 2008 at 5:33 am

    We also have clay soil, black gumbo we call it.

    I have found that compost is by far the best amendment to add, as it loosens it up fast. Clay soil is among the richest, most nutritous, if you can get some air in it.

    Janie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

