New Garden Project for Summer 2008

This is my new garden project for the summer. I have been planning this in my head for the past 6 months. Everytime I come up with a new idea or plan my husbands says “Here we go again!” lol He keeps asking me why we need so many flowerbeds, I told him that in the long run I am making less work for him. There will be less grass to mow. He doesn’t seem reassured by that. Grass is more work than a perennial border. Plus not as pretty.

As you can see the flower bed above is nothing grand. It is just a small area where a bradford pear tree use to exist. I moved these azaleas from a bed that use to exist before we put an addition on our house. I intend to create a curved bed that begins at the corner of the front of the shed and follows around back by the fence in the background and connects with the flowerbed that comes off the other corner. This is the before shot.

Here is another angle of the new project with the line drawn out in marking paint so you can see where the start of the process. It should be a nice addition to the garden. My husband marked this out for me because he is better with this part of the process. Next I will be digging it out…the fun part. lol Oh, the birdbath will definitely stay as well. This was my Mother’s Day present from my husband. It is a beautiful birdbath that was made in Italy. I love it!

Here you can the front of the future project which will give you a better idea of the shape. I already have figured it out on paper what I intend to plant here. I plan on planting purple coneflowers, blackeye susans, shasta daisies, cannas, some spring/summer flowering bulbs, as well as a trellis clematis that will be mounted on the shed wall between the two wall mounted pots. I either will plant a clematis (which I love) or some other type of flowering vine. Along the fence (which gets mostly shade/partial shade I intend to plant some Endless Summer Hydrangeas, hostas, and other shade loving perennials. I don’t want it to look too busy. Stay tuned as I take you a long in the process of creating a new perennial bed.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by OhioMom on May 23, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    Oh I can’t wait to see your work in progress on this bed, is it done yet ?

    πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Posted by Perennial Gardener on May 23, 2008 at 11:32 pm

    I will keep you up to date on the progress. We are in the process of killing the grass and digging it up.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Lucy on May 24, 2008 at 11:06 am

    Funny….I had the same response to my DH when I was adding flower beds to my yard. Wish you were nearby because I have so many plantings I could help you fill up the area πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  4. Posted by Perennial Gardener on May 24, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    Lucy,

    I keep trying to explain to my husband that gardening for me is a passion not a chore. He says I make alot of work for myself. πŸ™‚
    I appreciate the offer, fortunately I have tons of stuff that can be divided this fall or if we can a few wet days in a row.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Lucy on May 24, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    Racquel,
    My DH once asked me if he should hire landscapers to help me.. NO way! but did tell him that he could get me a housekeeper instead… heehee! I rather be outdoors in my gardens. So now, not only do I have my yard, but my son’s as well…. Just loving it!!

    Have fun, lot’s of fun!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Perennial Gardener on May 25, 2008 at 11:08 pm

    Thank you Lucy. I am looking forward to completing the project because I have more ideas already. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

