Color for the winter garden…

Viola x wittrockiana 'Matrix Orange'

I have to say my new favorite color this season has to be orange.  It is the perfect shade for the fall & winter garden.  And this ‘Matrix Orange’ Pansy which I added to several containers is at the top of my list.  These cold loving annuals are always on my list of plants to add every October, since they will keep going strong right up till the following May when the heat sets in.  At that point I replace them with summer annuals therefore keeping my containers looking good year round.  Here’s some info on this new selection for my garden:

  • Under 6″ in height and 6-9″ in width
  • Prefers full sun – partial shade
  • Orange to a yellow-orange color
  • Blooms repeatedly all season
  • Average water needs (don’t overwater)
  • Propagate by seed, division or stem cuttings
  • Tender perennial with herbaceous foliage
  • Hardy in zones 7a-10b
12 responses to this post.

  1. I love orange and your viola is such a soft hue.

    Reply

  2. Oh yes! I love pansies! I bought some planrs a few weeks ago for $1.68 a six-pack and when I was back at the store today, they were reduced to 75 cents a six-pack! So, of course, I bought some more! I have two favorite colors – dark purple with or without some white petals and the yellow ones with brown accents. But I also buy mixed plants that haven’t bloomed yet as a surprise. Everything you say about them is absolutely true. We had an 8 inch snow here in zone 7 last winter, and they just kept on blooming! Wonderful plants.

    Reply

    • That’s what happened to me too, I just bought two 6 packs for 75 cents the other day. Purple to go with these orange beauties. Thanks for stopping by Lea. :)

      Reply

  3. Posted by 7aces/Darla on November 7, 2011 at 6:45 am

    Putting our fall/winter color myself. I hadn’t consider propagating pansies by cuttings….hmmm. Have you tried it?

    Reply

  4. I have to agree…there is something so satisfying about Orange in the autumn :-)

    Reply

  5. How bright and cheery a colour for the winter months…..

    Reply

  6. I’m finding that I like orange more and more. What a pretty pansy.Your list sounds like mine. Hope we take time to enjoy this beautiful weather before old man winter comes knocking at our doors.
    Balisha

    Reply

    • Posted by Racquel on November 10, 2011 at 7:21 pm

      Thanks Balisha, it’s been a favorite of mine for some time now. I love it in the summer combined with purple. And I adore it in the Fall mixed with yellow, white, and even red. :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

