Bloomin Tuesday

Dwarf Bearded Irises

October has brought cooler temps to my area along with a couple of bloomers that prefer this time of the year.  These yellow Dwarf Bearded Irises are rebloomers.  They bloom in the Spring and then give me a beautiful encore performance in the Fall.  Talk about more bang for your buck.

Toad Lily

The Toad Lily or Tricyrtis is a shade loving perennial that blooms in the fall once the temps have cooled off a bit.  I have another one called ‘Purple Beauty’ that is full of buds.  To see more Bloomin’ Tuesday posts or to join in this week please visit  our host Jean by clicking on the link below:

23 responses to this post.

  1. What a pretty re-blooming iris Racquel. I don’t have any of those but I’d love to ~ mine seem like they’re over in no time during spring. For some reason, I cannot grow Toad lilies either. I’ve planted them several times ~ if I’m lucky they come back one year then disappear altogether. :-( I’ll just have to enjoy yours.
    I ordered bulbs this year and hope they come soon. Our weather is great right now so I’d like to be planting them ~ you never know how long that will last!

    Reply

    • Posted by Racquel on October 4, 2011 at 2:14 pm

      Thanks Kathleen. :) I love these, such a great no-fuss plant. I’m pretty sure Toadlillies like a nice moist spot so mine vary from year to year. I know what you mean, the weather is perfect for planting bulbs right now. Not too warm, not too cold.

      Reply

  2. Posted by skeeter on October 4, 2011 at 10:40 am

    In our neck of the woods we have Encore Azaleas but I have never heard of iris that bloom twice! That is the new thing I have learned today….

    Reply

  3. Posted by Darla on October 4, 2011 at 10:54 am

    How blessed to have beautiful yellow irises for fall!

    Reply

  4. Love love love the toad lilies!

    Reply

  5. Hi there I am visiting your site as another Bloomin Tuesday participant. Your irises look lovely i am impressed they flower twice.

    Reply

  6. How lucky to hve Iris again! Beautiful! I love the speckled toad lily. I have to look for that one. Jean

    Reply

  7. Awesome toad lily color!! And what a nice month for a reblooming of your iris. I’ve been AWOL from Bloomin’ Tuesday for a couple of months but sure enjoyed my visit back on your blog today.

    Reply

  8. Irises in fall and my favorite color too? How great is that!

    Reply

  9. Your blooms are beautiful. I love Irises but they don’t do well in Savannah. The University research center is working on a project to develop Irises that will perform will in our area. I have always loved the Toad Lily but have never tried it. I don’t have a lot of shade. Yours is beautiful. Thanks for sharing. Ginger

    Reply

    • Posted by Racquel on October 6, 2011 at 4:26 pm

      Thanks Ginger. Sorry to hear that about the Irises. Yep the Toadlily needs at least afternoon shade to do well. Your welcome, thanks for stopping by today. :)

      Reply

  10. Your little yellow irises are very pretty. Next year I am going to add to my collection of irises and I must make a mental note to remember that some varieties rebloom in fall. Fall bloomers are always great to have when other perennials are fading.

    Reply

    • Posted by Racquel on October 6, 2011 at 4:31 pm

      Thansk Jennifer. I agree, it’s always nice to have some rebloomers as well as stuff that only blooms in the fall to stretch the season of interest. :)

      Reply

  11. Gardening has become my personal passion for so very long and even I\’m certainly taken aback that I can still uncover this interesting advice! Appreciate it Racquel a whole lot for taking the time to post this, There\\\\\\\’s no doubt that it\’ll assist any garden enthusiast, regardless they are a rookie or even a pro

    Reply

  12. Posted by Racquel on October 8, 2011 at 7:26 pm

    I’m glad you enjoyed my post today WGG. Thanks for stopping by. :)

    Reply

  13. How pretty! I have some yellow irises that are supposed to be rebloomers, but are not nearly so spectacular. Maybe I need to move them to a more sunny spot?
    Enjoy your October blooms!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

