Rain Rain Go Away…

Arbor Garden Sept. 2011

Days of rain this week have left my yard and garden a muddy mess.  Plants are flopping and the lawn is getting a bit overgrown.  I’m sure by the time it dries out enough for me to work out there I will have lots to catch up on.  Don’t get me wrong I appreciate Mother Nature watering the garden for me, but it has gotten a bit excessive at this point. 

Shed Garden Sept. 2011

My grass hasn’t been this green and lush since last Spring and things that survived the horrendous days of July are bouncing back with a vengeance.  I have lots of things that I need to divide, cut back, plant and generally just clean up in the weeks to come.  Fall is my second favorite season.  Usually I’m out there redoing and improving the garden after hibernating indoors during the brunt of summer.  The rain has delayed me a bit.  Hope everyone is having a nice weekend so far.  Hubby is taking me out to lunch today to celebrate my b-day since he had to work Friday.  :)

16 responses to this post.

  1. I just saw the seven day forecast, and it looks like more rain until mid week and then some clearing. I am way overdue for some work in the garden too.

    Reply

    • Posted by Racquel on September 25, 2011 at 7:29 am

      Really? Ugh! I’m sick of the rain, need some sunshine for me & the garden. Hope we both get to do some of that much needed garden work soon Les…

      Reply

  2. You could send some rain our way. The lake is down 2 feet because of the drought. I know it isn’t as bad as some lakes, but still is low.
    Your arbor garden area is filling so nicely.

    Reply

  3. Rain, rain, please head my way! It seems like every one I know has either too much rain or too little. Too bad we can’t all have a happy medium for awhile. Hope you had a wonderful birthday lunch.

    Reply

    • Posted by Racquel on September 26, 2011 at 6:55 am

      I’ll tell it to head your way next Rose. Isn’t that the truth, it would be nice if we could all have a happy medium for once. Thanks! :)

      Reply

  4. Posted by 7aces/Darla on September 26, 2011 at 6:10 am

    I like Janet will take some of the rain! Happy Belated Birthday!!

    Reply

  5. We’ve had three inches of rain already today and more on the way. I guess Mother Nature is helping me out, by watering the forgotten Hostas that I planted. I hope that you had a nice birthday lunch. Best wishes on Friday…Balisha

    Reply

  6. Posted by skeeter on September 27, 2011 at 10:28 am

    Happy belated Birthday! Hope you enjoyed your meal…

    Your grass and everything look so lush! I know the feeling though. We have gone from no rain to over 4 inches in less then one week! The weeds are running rampant. But no rain near the lake, it is still 7 feet below normal pool. Sigh….

    Reply

    • Thank you Skeeter, had a nice dinner with the family. :) I’ve enjoyed having a couple of days of sunshine after so much gloom that’s for sure. Wish the rain was evenly dispursed throughout the country instead of the way it’s been this year.

      Reply

  7. Happy Birthday to you….. hoping the rain leaves soon so all those chores get done….. it is very green tho.

    Reply

  8. Hope you had a great birthday lunch. Rain is so awesome! Love the green. Limelight is looking fantastic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

