Bloomin’ Tuesday – Blooms and Berries

(From upper L-R across & down: Beautyberry, Sedum 'Autumn Joy', Viburnum 'Winterthur', 'Black-seeded Simpson' lettuce seedlings, Variegated Lirope, Violas and Hydrangea 'Pinky Winky')

September has brought some cooler morning & evening temperatures.  Along with that comes some of my favorite fall blooms & berries.   Violas, Sedums and Lirope bring color and add interest to the garden.  The purple berries on Beautyberry or Callicarpa americana make a striking combo against the lime green foliage of this native ornamental shrub.  Viburnum ‘Winterthur’ is another native shrub that produces berries that start out a off white color and fade to pink and eventually to a deep blue tone.  This has been a bountiful season for these two shrubs, both are loaded with berries for the birds.  My Hydrangea paniculata ‘Pinky Winky’ is in it’s 3rd season and full of blooms that are maturing to a dusty rose color.  And it wouldn’t be fall without some fall veggies like this great loose-leaf lettuce ‘Black-seeded Simpson’ which I planted with some of those pretty purple Violas.  To see more Bloomin’ Tuesday posts or to join in this week, please visit our gracious host Jean by clicking on the link below:

22 responses to this post.

  1. Love the Beautyberry, isn’t it great? Your Viburnum is wonderful….will have to look into a Winterthur.

    Reply

    • Posted by Racquel on September 14, 2011 at 2:58 pm

      Yep, can’t believe I didn’t add this sooner. I love Winterthur, bought two a couple of years ago and they bloom & produce berries beautifully even though I don’t have a male polinator.

      Reply

  2. Lots of colour in your garden…….Nice to have the cooler temps isn’t it?

    Reply

  3. Love your mosaic! I love the beautyberry and the liriope and viburnum.

    Reply

  4. ‘Winterthur’ is SO pretty. I just planted one a few months ago so hope it gets berries like yours next year. Very nice!

    Reply

    • Posted by Racquel on September 14, 2011 at 3:00 pm

      I planted two of these 2 years ago and they seem to be getting better every year even though I don’t have a male polinator in my yard. Thanks! :)

      Reply

  5. Racquel,

    Your garden mosaic is gorgeous and I love your Autumn Joy Sedum! Fall is my favorite time of year. Thank you for stopping to visit me.

    Reply

  6. This is the first year for my new beautyberry, and I have to say I love this plant! My new viburnum is not looking nearly so good, however; yours looks like it’s bursting with berries. The birds are going to love it. I’m certainly enjoying these cooler mornings and evenings, too.

    Reply

    • Posted by Racquel on September 14, 2011 at 3:03 pm

      Beautyberry is such a no-fuss plant, wish I had bought more than one of these now. Give the Viburnum some time. Mine are more established and just keep getting better every year. :)

      Reply

  7. Posted by Darla on September 14, 2011 at 11:12 am

    Everytime I see someone else’s Autumn Joy Sedum I cringe at how mine looks right now….I’m stalking your blog, still working on my new one…sigh

    Reply

  8. Love the Beautyberry! You do have a nice selection of plants going strong. Your yard must still be lovely. Jean

    Reply

  9. Posted by Darla on September 15, 2011 at 6:15 am

    Thanks for your willingness to help me navigate wordpress. I can’t figure out how to follow blogs or post in my blogroll so it will show up with bloggers latest post???

    Reply

    • Posted by Racquel on September 15, 2011 at 10:43 am

      YW Darla. WordPress is different, it doesn’t do the follow blogs from other formats, there is a like feature at the top for wordpress blogs. The latest posts is a feature that is exclusive to blogger as well. You could subscribe to the blogger blogs and that way you know when they have a new post. Hope that helps.

      Reply

  10. Nice assortment of fall blooms & berries Racquel. I have several viburnums in my garden that are well established but produce zero berries. I am thinking I should have planted more than one of them?? They bloom profusely so I think they need cross pollination?? I may have to go out there next spring & do it myself!!
    Happy (belated) bloom day.

    Reply

    • Posted by Racquel on September 20, 2011 at 8:53 am

      Thanks Kathleen, I’m thinking the same thing. I’ve gotten lucky with the berry production this year but I do need some cross polination. :)

      Reply

  11. Posted by Racquel on September 25, 2011 at 7:06 am

    Thank you Kathleen, it was a nice day! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

